We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall experience, minus noise issue”
Review of Hostal Barrera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Barrera
Ranked #202 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We have just returned from a week at hostal Barrera. The place is exactly what we expected after looking at the hostal website and TA reviews. The location is great, close to Atocha station, Reina Sofia and Prado museums the great area of Barrio de las Lettras and plaza Santa Ana. Our two rooms were newly refurbished: nicely decorated and very clean; I appreciate particularly the nice personal touch regarding bed sheets and pillowcases. The staff is very nice, Nieves is very welcoming and friendly (we did not need much help though as we visited our son who currently studies in Madrid).

The hostal does not offer breakfast but there are a lot of cafés in the neighborhood and we enjoyed great breakfasts, every day at a different place, from trendy café to small local taverna.

The only weak point to be mentionned is a noise issue. Curious that most recent reviews point this out whereas previous reviews did not (therefore we were not prepared to this inconvenience). We have not been disturbed by the street noise (the double glazing is efficient for most noises except horns), but by the inside noises from other rooms and from the corridor: early birds being really noisy one day, people coming back in the middle of the night... The walls seems to be paperthin as you can hear the water noises, not only the shower one but also the drops falling when the shower is done. I think the noises are amplified because the tiled floor is resounding. It was not too disturbing for us though, except one night, as we are not light sleepers.

Overall a very good experience, Hostal Barrera is definitively great value for the money and we would stay there again, but light sleepers should be aware of the noise issue.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank only-lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2008

I found Hostal Barrera on this site & decided to try it after reading all the reviews. The approach to the hostal is slightly odd: it's a flat in an appartment building, which has been converted to a hotel. There is 24hours coverage at reception and even though 2 of the 3 staff didn't speak english, they were helpful and very pleasant. The hostal is in a great location, 5-10 minutes walk from the 3 big museums and the Atocha station where the trains to Toledo travel from & 2 minutes walk from the nearest underground station. Breakfast is not included but the local cafes were fine. Our room seemed recently decorated and was well appointed and reasonably spacious, and the en suite bathroom was new with a lovely shower. It's good value for money too. The only negative point is that being on the 2nd floor and on a busy road, the room was almost always rather noisy. One can always hear the neighbours above or the blaring cars outside, and even the sound of water being run in other rooms. Honestly, it was worst on day one of our stay & we got used to the noise pretty quickly, but it is a consideration when booking.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

I stayed for a weekend in hostal Barrera. I make a reservation in this hostel after reading all the previous good reviews. I booked the room directly with them, they answered very quickly my email and didn't have problems with reservation.

It's a good hostel with a superb location (really near everything you would like to visit if you are a tourist in Madrid).
Room was very clean, and the people who manage the property are really helpful and nice... (mother and daughter make a special atmosphere but you don't have the feeling of being controlled....).

If I have to say a bad thing, I can only say that in the mornings life start quite early (but this is a problem of all type of hostels -and some hotels- you can always hear everything from your room, so if the people from the rooms near you leave early, and they speak loudly, you would be got up...).

I would return again to Hostal Barrera in my next visits to Madrid.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macavigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

Stayed there for 3 nights in October and was exactly what we needed. Clean comfortable and exceptionally friendly with a fantastic location. If you're looking for 5* star hotel luxury you shouldn't be looking to stay here, but as Hostals go this is pretty much perfect.

Great location for Santa Ana and pretty much all sights.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllieW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We decided to stay at Hostal Barrera as it was highly recommended to us, and we were not disappointed. It's centrally located (5 to 10 min from the train station and 3 museums). All other major sights in the downtown area are within walking distance. We did not need to take public transportation to get around.

Despite being on a busy road, there was minimal noise from the street (windows were very soundproof). It's close to all the major sights and there are a lot of great restaurants in the neighborhood.

When we arrived, we were welcomed by a very nice lady who provided valuable information such as restaurants where locals dined and the various sights (e.g. when to visit the museum for free admission). We learned quite a lot about Spain from our brief chats with her everyday.

Every part of the room was clean and there was free wi-fi. Overall, Hostal Barrera offers great value. As Madrid was our first stop, our experience was a great start to our Spain trip. Thanks for your hospitality, Nieves!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Margiemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

OK, reviews are by their very nature subjective but this small hostal is obviously doing something right as it seems to be always in tripadvisor's top 5 madrid hotels.
although i visit spain regularly, i hadn't been to madrid before so wasn't sure how the barrera would compare against the other-much higher rated-places i have stayed at in iberia, however at the end of my stay i was pleased with my choice.
i shalln't add a great deal to what has already been said;the hostal doesn't do food, it is well situated in a fairly central area, and is on a busyish road.
yes on first sight it looks a little unsalubrious, but almost directly opposite is a 4 star hotel, and just down the road is another 4 star place so the area is actually fine.
i didn't find the traffic noise a problem, although i was on a room that was on a side street there was some little background traffic noise but this didn't interfere with my sleep at all.

what i would point out is that if you are planning on some bedroom action it may be worth giving this hostal a miss as the walls don't stop much in the soundproofing department, so any honeymooners would probably do well to go somewhere else!
i stayed in a twin room-it was with my father-and although the room was fairly small it had been fairly recently decorated and the bathroom, again a little compact was also fairly newly done.
the room was impeccably clean on arrival and was also cleaned well during my stay.
however, what made this such an enjoyable experience was the absolutely delightful Nieves, the young lady on reception and who's family appears to own the hostal. her cheerful disposition and helpful manner was a credit to her and i felt you could ask her anything and not only would she be willing to help you but would have taken you to where you wanted to go if you asked!
so whilst the amenities are a little basic the friendliness and eagerness of this young woman make the hostal barrera an ideal place to spend a few days in spain's capital.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freyas_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

This hostal has to be one of the best finds we've had in a few years, which we booked on the strength of Trip Advisor recommendations.The welcome on arrival was warm and inviting, the best possible welcome to Spain,and the hostal is immaculately clean throughout. Although on a busy road, you really don't notice this at night as the double glazing works very well. The bathroom had a powerful shower with plenty of hot water, something that is not always the case! The hostal is very close to many of the main attractions and in an evening just a couple of minutes walk from Heurtas which is one of the lively tapas bar areas. The Metro is just a couple of minutes away.

Many thanks to all of the family for making our stay pleasant and enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble for them, be it information or the loan of an english adaptor! Should we return to Madrid, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furrybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#203 of 437 in Madrid
355 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#72 of 437 in Madrid
580 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#186 of 437 in Madrid
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mora
Hotel Mora
#220 of 437 in Madrid
363 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#197 of 437 in Madrid
954 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#129 of 437 in Madrid
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Barrera

Address: 2nd Floor Calle Atocha 96, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#70 Family Hotel in Madrid
#85 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £70 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Barrera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Barrera is cozy hostal, offering newly refurbished rooms en-suite, FREE WI-FI,LCD tv, central heating and air conditoning .... And unbeatable rates.Ideal location in the city center of Madrid, just a walking distance of the main museums and attractions in town, and also to the main train station, Atocha Rail Way Station, to get to cities such as Seville,Barcelona, Toledo, Cordoba, Valencia ... We speak english, french, italian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Barrera Madrid
Hostal Barrera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing