We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostal in the heart of Madrid”
Review of Hostal Las Fuentes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Las Fuentes
Ranked #95 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hostal in the heart of Madrid”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What we liked the most about hostal Las fuentes, besides the excellent location, was the friendly & helpful staff. They showed great professionalism by giving us a room even though we arrived at 8.00 am. Apart from that, the rooms were very clean, hair dryer, air conditioning & Flat screen TV were also available. It was a little bit noisy in the morning but, let's face it: the majority of the hotels have to deal with this problem. We would recommend it to anyone interested in a hostal with good correlation between price & quality. & beware! The sign of the hostal is not very visible from the street, so just go to C/ las Fuentes 10, ring the bell & go to the 1st floor. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleannidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    269
    80
    12
    10
See reviews for
65
261
119
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Nice location - close to bars, restaurant and shopping street.
the rooms are small, but quite and clean. Staff is speaking not good english but they are very helpful and friendly. Really great for the money in madrid! would go here again :)
when you go, you must go the the Plaza de S. Miguel - aboslutely loved it! great food, drinks and atmosphere <3

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passion_to_travel_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, we could walk everywhere.

Our room was very basic, but it's a hostel so that's what we expected.

Very clean!
Could do with a bed spread change/wash for a freshen up but linen and bathrooms were very clean.

Not sure it would be good if you had a car, but you don't need a car here!
We got airport shuttle, 20 euros total for two of us to front door. We also took city bus tour, there is a stop at the end of our street. Highly recommend!

Take a walk to Plaza Mayor for dinner too, we found it by accident but went back each night :-)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The location of the Hostal was perfect, literally steps from Plaza de l'Opera with lots of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. The room was exceptionally clean, towels provided & a hairdryer. The beds were comfortable, and although the room was warm it was fine once we opened the window, air-conditioning was also available. I'd recommend Hostal Las Fuentes to anyone - and don't be put off by "Hostal", in Spain this is simply a 2/3 star hotel. The reception staff don't seem to have much English, which is not a criticism, simply a recommendation that if you have no Spanish, bring a phrase book!
Also there is free wifi with details available at reception which is extremely handy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunalishine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in July 12. Place is 3 minutes away from Opera station by foot - very convenient when coming from the airport - and 7 minutes away from Plaza del Sol. Found the staff very helpful since the check-in, didn't have any kind of problems with them. The room was clean, comfortable, but a bit small I must say. Anyhow, this was the only negative thing about the hotel. Air conditioning was working greatly, there was a TV and a mini fridge. A safe was available, but it cost 1 euro each time you open it. Bathroom was also clean, had good lighting and excellent shower. No breakfast at the hotel, but plenty of cafes around offering good food for small money. Sleep quality was awesome! I was afraid that considering the location, there was going to be much noise, but it was increadibly silent at nights. Booked room 8, at the back. Would definitely come back to this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amtettamanzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Great hostel, stayed for two nights. Room was absolutely lovely. Hostel is really easy to find, metro to opera, then a five e walk (if that) to the hostel. Situated in a great part of Madrid, near loads of bars and restaurants. Would definitely return!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for a week at the end of May and thought it excellent. I had a large double room, which was exceptionally clean. AC worked well, and the room also had a fridge and balcony. There was a safe in the room which required a euro to open it each time it was needed. I've not seen this before, but think this may be the norm in Madrid, as both hotels my friends were staying in also had the same.

I found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Location near Opera and the Palace Real was excellent. I loved heading out to the Palace gardens first thing and was only 5 mins from Sol/Plaza Mayor. One tip, once you've been buzzed in and either walked up to the first floor or got the lift, the Hostal entrance is the door on the right hand side of the first floor, as you exit the lift.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#74 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#59 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#160 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#46 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Fuentes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Fuentes

Property: Hostal Las Fuentes
Address: Calle Fuentes 10 1 D | Plaza de la Opera, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#87 Family Hotel in Madrid
#148 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Las Fuentes 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Las Fuentes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Fuentes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing