We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostal Las Fuentes - Great Value, Super Location”
Review of Hostal Las Fuentes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Las Fuentes
Ranked #97 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hostal Las Fuentes - Great Value, Super Location”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hostal Las Fuentes in Oct 2012 for four nights. I will echo everything good said by the reviewer Mario B - we even stayed in the same double room, #8.

However, we had a problem with the VIsa charge made in error by the Hostal which takes the first night's charges at the time of booking. The type of booking we made was fully refundable, given sufficient notice. Due to an error by the hotel's staff member who took the booking, they mistakenly charged the whole stay to my Visa card at the time of booking. Within ten minutes, they realized the mistake and reversed the charges. Unfortunately the exchange rate was different upon reimbursing the amount than it was when the charge was put the card so we lost $7.00 on that exchange due to the hotel's mistake. The English speaking staff person refused to acknowledge that it was due to the Hostal's error that we were out that money but instead blamed it on Visa's differential rates when taking the charge and giving us the refund. Since it was the Hostal's error, we would have hoped that they might have credited our account with the difference but this was not the case. Although not a huge amount, it was still a bit of a downer given the Hostal's attitude towards it.

Having said that, we really enjoyed the stay in this spotless, very quiet hotel. The hotel is surrounded by so many restaurants of various kinds (even McDonald's if you must) that it is relatively easy to grab something to eat.

Our room was big enough for the two of us - and much bigger than the hostal we had in Barcelona. Spotless, newly refurbished, with free WiFi and AC if needed as well as heat. TV only seemed to have Spanish channels. The bonus was a small mini-fridge stocked with cold drinks - but also useable for storing other foods/drinks you might buy. There was also a couple of vending machines in the hall which sold drinks and snacks which can be handy if you are too tired to go out to buy something. The small but adequate bathroom had a shower and hair dryer.

The location was fantastic - as said previously, 1/2 block to the pedestrian street "Arenal" and then steps to the Opera Metro Station. The Hostal was a 10 Euro taxi ride from the Atocha Train station which allowed us and our luggage to get to the Hostal relatively painlessly and then get our bearings. The airport bus (5 Euros per person) is also available from the train station.

A couple of blocks the other direction from the Hostal is Plaza Mayor with the added attraction of the Mercato de San Miquel, a fantastic (but not cheap) great indoor market with everything from wine bars to cheese, ham, fish, fruits, ice cream and tapas of every type which stays open late. A great value there are the crepes at 3 Euros - with either Ham and Cheese fillings or sweet fillings (banana, chocolate, etc.), made fresh on the spot. The same place offers Churros and chocolate for 3 Euros.

Right next door from the market (away from Plaza Mayor) is a great grocery store where you can stock up on everything from cheese, meats, fruit, bread, yogurt, wine, etc.and store it in your mini-fridge in your room for breakfasts.

Bottom line: Very clean, very quiet, newly refurbished hostal in a great location. Card locks on the street door as well as the Hostal door although you to come and go easily. A very small (but new) elevator allows you to take your luggage to the first floor Hostal.

Room Tip: We had an "inside" room which had a window opening into a open area in the back of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdnloon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    270
    80
    12
    10
See reviews for
65
263
119
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed at Hostal las Fuentes, for 3 nights recently.
Yes the room was small, but it was adequate, just right for me, staff were helpful, even the lady who couldn't speak much English.I felt guilty because my Spanish was inadequate.The room was spotless, in fact the hotel was spotless.
Situated in the heart of the city so everywhere was easily accessible from this hotel.
Free wi fi too.
I felt very safe in this hotel, there is someone on reception 24 hours a day.
Definitely would stay there again when I next visit Madrid!

Room Tip: I had a room at the back and was not disturbed by any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

nicely rennovated hostal in very good central location with, unfortunately, very small rooms
nicely rennovated hostal in very good central location with, unfortunately, very small rooms
nicely rennovated hostal in very good central location with, unfortunately, very small rooms

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hostal was right in the middle of a lively area. It was on a side street (single lane, one way) off a pedestrian zone so did not receive much traffic. We where minutes away from literally everything. Subway, train, shopping and eating. The entire area had many different pedestrian zones. Plaza Mayor was minutes away. The ease to get to the hostal involved two transfers by subway, but that was no big deal as everything is very well marked. Once you are off the Opera station, you are under two minutes walk, so very convenient.

A bonus was the Sol station was a 5min walk down a pedestrian zone. This station had the bonus of another line as well as local train station which brought us to El Escorial & Aranjuez, both World Heritage sites. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a very close walk as well. We tied Reina Sofia in with a trip to Alcala De Heneres which leaves from Atocha station. Reina is beside the Atocha. It was a short walk balk to the Hostal from there.

Now you would assume with all the attractions being so close by, it would be noisy. Incredibly quiet. We had an interior room (#8) which was a good size. We did notice there where rooms of various sizes, and that there where a lot of interior rooms.

It was also very clean, and the rooms where in great shape, as well as the furniture.

Room Tip: ask for an interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What we liked the most about hostal Las fuentes, besides the excellent location, was the friendly & helpful staff. They showed great professionalism by giving us a room even though we arrived at 8.00 am. Apart from that, the rooms were very clean, hair dryer, air conditioning & Flat screen TV were also available. It was a little bit noisy in the morning but, let's face it: the majority of the hotels have to deal with this problem. We would recommend it to anyone interested in a hostal with good correlation between price & quality. & beware! The sign of the hostal is not very visible from the street, so just go to C/ las Fuentes 10, ring the bell & go to the 1st floor. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleannidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Nice location - close to bars, restaurant and shopping street.
the rooms are small, but quite and clean. Staff is speaking not good english but they are very helpful and friendly. Really great for the money in madrid! would go here again :)
when you go, you must go the the Plaza de S. Miguel - aboslutely loved it! great food, drinks and atmosphere <3

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passion_to_travel_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, we could walk everywhere.

Our room was very basic, but it's a hostel so that's what we expected.

Very clean!
Could do with a bed spread change/wash for a freshen up but linen and bathrooms were very clean.

Not sure it would be good if you had a car, but you don't need a car here!
We got airport shuttle, 20 euros total for two of us to front door. We also took city bus tour, there is a stop at the end of our street. Highly recommend!

Take a walk to Plaza Mayor for dinner too, we found it by accident but went back each night :-)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#77 of 436 in Madrid
439 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#148 of 436 in Madrid
589 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#63 of 436 in Madrid
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 436 in Madrid
589 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#98 of 436 in Madrid
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Fuentes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Fuentes

Property: Hostal Las Fuentes
Address: Calle Fuentes 10 1 D | Plaza de la Opera, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#87 Family Hotel in Madrid
#148 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Las Fuentes 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Mirai, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Las Fuentes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Fuentes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing