We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostal in la Latina”
Review of Hostal Horizonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Horizonte
Ranked #345 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Piaseczno
Level Contributor
177 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Hostal in la Latina”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hostel is located outside the downtown in La Latina district. Room costs about 40euros. It is real hostel for travellers, backpackers etc. Here you can opportunity to meet people from around the world. Bathrooms are clean and modern so no risk. Close to the hostel is metro station Anton Martin.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
10
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was the first place we stayed after flying from Australia. It was clean and comfortable, easy to come and go as we pleased. There was just one shared bathroom, but it wasn't too busy so we didn't have any problems with that. We didn't find it too noisy, but that might be due to the season (we were there in May). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fez, Morocco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I have stayed here twice. Both times I had the cheapest single room at the front of the building, facing the street. The manager is a nice guy, but he is rarely around. On my second stay nobody was there when I arrived, and I had to wait around a while. Once you get settled it's a great place though. Location is excellent - very close to shopping, sights, and transport.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMax82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Rooms were very clean. Great location but unfortunately very noisy. Suggest considering purely to rest your head.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here at a small double room facing the street (facing the noisy Santa Ana direction).

Our bed is small for a couple. And we did get annoyed by the noises in the late night. So which room and rate one will get did contribute to the non-uniform ratings people posted here.

I feel the hostal may be understaffed and our room did not get cleaned up even once during the three nights we stayed.

Hostal Horizonte is decorated with a lot of antiques and collections the owner collected from his travel but the lighting is so low that I don't think many guests would be enticed to appreciate them.

Rent is cheap, so I do not complaint. Location is great (for Sol, three museums, airport and train), except if one will be coming from/going to the bus station direction. Taxi will cost 15 euro or more. Then, it'd be better to find something to trade more values off by 15 euro for a stay in Madrid.

It may be also a little too hot for the rooms facing the street during the summer. The shower is on the other side of the hostal so once you get sweaty, you have to think about whether to walk across the hall way just to get some moist.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pppbjisisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel is located a few floors up from the main floor and climbing the staircase leading to the hotel is an experience, with it's oddly spaced and warped wooden stairs. The decor inside the hotel is kind of quirky.
Julio, the man who runs the hotel, is very helpful and informative. He has designed his own map of the area surrounding the hotel with everything you might need: restaurants, museums, bars, shopping, the flea market, etc.
The hotel is located within walking distance of everything: five minutes to the Puerta del Sol, fifteen to the Prado and the Reina Sofia, and there is a subway a couple of blocks away, making access to and from the airport very convenient. We hope to get back to Madrid soon and would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSnellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed in the King Alfonso XII room which had its own bathroom. It was a nice quaint room and was greta for our three nights in Madrid. The hostal is close to del sol and the metro. It had free wifi and the room was of average size. The owner was freindly and gave us a map with some recommendations of places to visit. We would recommend this hostal for your stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crassell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#394 of 436 in Madrid
140 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#383 of 436 in Madrid
37 reviews
Centro
RC Miguel Angel
RC Miguel Angel
#326 of 436 in Madrid
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#277 of 436 in Madrid
157 reviews
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#280 of 436 in Madrid
110 reviews
Malasana
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
#260 of 436 in Madrid
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Horizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Horizonte

Property: Hostal Horizonte
Address: Calle Atocha n028, 20 B, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Horizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Horizonte Madrid
Hostal Horizonte Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing