We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Plaza D'ort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza D'ort
Ranked #392 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

3 of us were left stranded at the reception at Analina Rooms after bookings were confirmed by Agoda both by email and phone! (more on Analina Rooms and agoda in another review) so we had to literally go back to the streets with all our luggage in search for another accommodation (during the holiday season!) The angels in all the cathedrals we have visited so far must have been smiling on us as we stumbled upon this excellent hostel. The hosts (3 of them, one of the called Alfredo) were extremely helpful, gave the 3 of us a double room for 2 nights and fixed it up with an extra bed; they didn't even charge us extra for the extra bed. Space was really tight but that's the best we could do with such short notice. Furthermore, the guys at the hostel were so nice we just felt that we really had to stay there. Alfredo then helped us write an email to Analina rooms in Spanish as we told him that we wrote to Analina Rooms in English on 3 occasions prior to our flight to Spain to confirm our booking but no reply whatsoever from them. (no reply from Analina Rooms still and we are already back in Singapore now). I would highly recommend this hostel. It's a no frills place but it's clean and very centrally located. Only complain is that there is no lift so not the best place if you have too much luggage but the hosts were oh so willing to help lug our bags up and down for us. Such angels they are.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YSL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    45
    23
    10
    24
See reviews for
7
59
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After the awful experience with Analina Rooms, we managed to find Hostal Plaza D'ort! It is a god-send with EURO65 for ensuite triple sharing! Alfredo is very very helpful and friendly to guests. Wifi at level 2 reception area was wonderful too! As we were extremely tired after all the pushing and lagging our luggage to source for alternative accommodation, we only managed to 'carry' our luggage to the level 2 reception area. We had the last room at level 4, so it was rather quiet for quality sleep. Alfredo was very very kind to help us bring our luggage to our room and set the extra bed in our room, while we went out for our late lunch. Location is centralised with approx 20 to 30 mins walk to Prado Museum / Atocha Madrid Train Station, with great accessibility to lots of eating places / restaurants! Will stay there if back in Madrid!

Room Tip: There are no lifts/elevators within this building, so it is better to do backpack than bringing lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fm_usagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I liked everything about it - position couldn't be better and some excellent bars on the doorstep. I was a woman travelling alone and felt really safe I liked having to ring and be buzzed in as it felt very secure. Very quiet despite the street being busy. The owners were great and nothing too much trouble for them. The only thing is the room I had was a double and for two people might be a bit snug but how much time do you spend in your room when you are in the middle of Madrid. Loved the city and loved the hostal already planning to go back.

Room Tip: If you want quiet go for an internal room. Not so much light but the artificial light was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buislesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hostal Plaza D'ort in Madrid is an excellent hostal, clean, confortable,affordable and very central with lots of bars, restaurants ,cafes and shops within minutes from hotel doorstep. It is a family run business and Esteban and Alfredo are very helpful and friendly to guests. Every time I am in Madrid, I always stay at plaza D'ort, been going there for almost 9 years now. And been introducing my friends to the hotel. Price is vey good, an ensuite single room won't set you back more than 38Euros.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hostal is right in the heart of Madrid within few minute walk to all the main attractions and museums. The rooms are all refurbished with the lastest commodities and very clean. The price is excellent and the service is fantastic they owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrangeC0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had just two nights in Madrid before heading for Toledo so wanted somewhere central, good and low cost. Very friendly welcome, and helpflul; immediate response to difficulty with TV remote. Small room but clean and comformtable with good en-suite. Walking distance from all major sites. Excellent food at restaurants in Plaza outside hostal. Would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was my first trip to Spain. Most of my time was spent in Madrid I wanted a hotel that was in a central location with good transportation options for getting around or for daytrips. For me, Hostal Plaza D'ort was a good choice. I had the metro nearby at Puerto del Sol and could easily get to the train stations for Segovia & Toledo. The hop on/hop off bus stop was just down the street and a lot of attractions are within walking distance. I had a single room that was small but it had everything that I needed. Later (without me asking) they moved me to a bigger room. I surely appreciated that. It's located on a lively plaza and I always felt safe. There are many shops, restaurants and pubs nearby. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I'm very happy with my stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you don't like steps but they also helped me with my bags so that was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j3dnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#281 of 436 in Madrid
110 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Horizonte
Hostal Horizonte
#345 of 436 in Madrid
52 reviews
Centro
RC Miguel Angel
RC Miguel Angel
#326 of 436 in Madrid
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#277 of 436 in Madrid
157 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#383 of 436 in Madrid
37 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#227 of 436 in Madrid
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza D'ort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza D'ort

Property: Plaza D'ort
Address: Plaza Angel 13, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Plaza D'ort 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with TV, telephone, Internet, air conditioning, safe, etc. Enjoy 24 hours with our customized attention in Hostal Plaza D'ort that is situated in the historic Madrid centre, at 200 meters from Puerta del Sol (km 0 of Spain), in "Arts Neighborhood" (“Barrio de las Letras”), area with its famous Calle Huertas and Plaza de Santa Ana, that's practically all was converted in a pedestrian area. In the area most historical, commercial and touristic in central Madrid. Close to the Royal Palace, Almudena's Cathedral, CAixa Forum Center and the museums: Prado, Thyssen-Bornmisza and Reina Sofia Art Center. Likewise, the best cinemas and theaters. Also around, all kind of shops, malls, bars, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza D'ort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing