We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise surprise surprise”
Review of Hostal Alhambra

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Alhambra
Ranked #289 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Good location, with just a few steps from Puerto de Sol, we are surprised with the conditions of the hostal. We took two rooms for 4 of us and both the rooms are spacious with nice black and white decor, clean with amenities including a mini fridge. The rooms and the toilets are clean with towels changed daily. Since we arrived early, we were happy that we were given 1 room to check in immediately. The reception was also helpful, assisting us to book for our flamenco show and to call for a taxi early in the morning for our next destination. Breakfast came together with the room price and served in a neraby cafe. The hostal is centrally located and you can walk through the shopping districts from Puerto de sol to Gran Via and Plaza Mayor, you can walk to most of the tourist attrctions, including Museo del Prado. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

At first it looked like some scary, dodgy, ally way hotel, but when you walk inside it is pretty cool. Good location, quite central, easy to get around. Takes on a vintage yet modern day stylish look. Bedroom was good sized. Interior was pretty nice through out the hostal. The man at the front service desk was really nice and provided very good service, however when we left he was quite anal due to stress. Really horrible view though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

everything was nice, decor, service, breakfast was off at a small restaurant on a street nearby, but it was wonderful breakfast.. one thing i'd do next time is to bring a pair of slipers for the room, it was cold in Madrid ard 0 deg C, floor was cold, and we were bare feet in the room & toilet.. overall, good value for a pleasant stay in a perfect location!

Room Tip: ask for room facing main street if you like to see the actions on the street, but don't if u pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveletsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

The hostal should be called hotel, because it felt like a 3 star hotel. The location is perfect, just a few steps from Puerta de Sol. The room was spacious and clean, towels were changed every day. As we asked for a quiet room, there was no noise coming up from the street in the night. The staff was nice, breakfast is served in a nearby café. It's a perfect hotel for people visiting the city as it is near every sights worth to be seen. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vk_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed at this Hostal for 4 nights and overall it was very pleasant.
The best about the hotel I would say is the location, since its close to pretty much everything we wanted to see and we barely used public transportation. Also the rooms are modern and very clean.
The things we disliked were mostly the noise, in the morning we could hear the showers of the rooms closer to ours and hear people in the hall with theis suitcases leaving the hotel. We also didn't enjoy the breakfast too much. It was served it a restaurant very close by but it wasn't continetal style, we had to ask for coffee and toast. The staff was helpfull except when we tried to get a recomendation for a good restaurant to eat a good spanish meal. They would only recomend the restaurant where we had breakfast, even knowing it wasnt even spanish. Guess they must have a deal with them. So even after we told them we had already dinned there, they would keep saying to go there again.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Amazing location and amazing accommodations. We had a room we three double beds and the toilet and shower were in separated and still in our room which really helps when traveling with friends. Mini fridge really helped keep our baby milk cold as well. We really liked this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksigpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

What a great find!!!
Really enjoyed this hotel. It's really steps away from Plaza del Sol and even closer to great food and fun places.
We booked this hotel two days before we arrived in Madrid for the last two nights of our two week vacation to Spain.
The hotel was very clean and kept in nice condition. The room was very spacious, bathroom modern. The balcony great for people watching. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was included in the hotel rate and was off site at an restaurant just around the corner. A choice of a large sandwich and selection of fruit and cheese as well as Coffee and fresh OJ was plenty for a good start to the day.
Next time you are in Madrid and want to stay at a great place steps away from all of the action, stay here. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjua543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Alhambra Suites
Hotel Alhambra Suites
#220 of 437 in Madrid
178 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#82 of 437 in Madrid
1,157 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal Atelier
Hostal Atelier
#23 of 279 in Madrid
145 reviews
Centro
Hostel Apolo XI
Hostel Apolo XI
#69 of 414 in Madrid
150 reviews
Centro
Hostal Rio Parana
Hostal Rio Parana
#85 of 279 in Madrid
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alhambra

Address: Espoz y Mina, 8 | Second Floor, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Hostal Alhambra Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing