We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hostal Alhambra

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Alhambra
Ranked #281 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed at this Hostal for 4 nights and overall it was very pleasant.
The best about the hotel I would say is the location, since its close to pretty much everything we wanted to see and we barely used public transportation. Also the rooms are modern and very clean.
The things we disliked were mostly the noise, in the morning we could hear the showers of the rooms closer to ours and hear people in the hall with theis suitcases leaving the hotel. We also didn't enjoy the breakfast too much. It was served it a restaurant very close by but it wasn't continetal style, we had to ask for coffee and toast. The staff was helpfull except when we tried to get a recomendation for a good restaurant to eat a good spanish meal. They would only recomend the restaurant where we had breakfast, even knowing it wasnt even spanish. Guess they must have a deal with them. So even after we told them we had already dinned there, they would keep saying to go there again.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

Amazing location and amazing accommodations. We had a room we three double beds and the toilet and shower were in separated and still in our room which really helps when traveling with friends. Mini fridge really helped keep our baby milk cold as well. We really liked this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksigpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

What a great find!!!
Really enjoyed this hotel. It's really steps away from Plaza del Sol and even closer to great food and fun places.
We booked this hotel two days before we arrived in Madrid for the last two nights of our two week vacation to Spain.
The hotel was very clean and kept in nice condition. The room was very spacious, bathroom modern. The balcony great for people watching. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was included in the hotel rate and was off site at an restaurant just around the corner. A choice of a large sandwich and selection of fruit and cheese as well as Coffee and fresh OJ was plenty for a good start to the day.
Next time you are in Madrid and want to stay at a great place steps away from all of the action, stay here. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjua543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

The location is perfect, with nearly everything in walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable. modern furniture, modern bathroom, nice thick towels.
This was a very modern clean and friendly hotel. I was very pleasantly surprise that it was such a nice room for a great price.

Liked — Location, modern bathroom, and furniture, towels
Disliked — bad tv reception, and no non-spanish channels.
Tips - use the entry at no 8. the one at number 6, although there is a sign it is inconvenient to enter.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank majmaj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

My second stay in this Hostal. First visit with the family and kids, second with with a best friend. All round accomodation. situated in the centre, but not over-looking street so peaceful to sleep at night. good clean and friendly hotel. Breakfast included in the cafe/bar 30 second walk away. This restaurant also does a great evening meal. Reasonable prices. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pocoloco68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Went to Madrid last June on a fast 4-day trip to see all that I could.
Searched previously for places to stay on the net and this one came up.
The staff is great and very patient with the guests, the rooms are very clean and the staff always cleans them in the morning.
I was searching for a single room but instead ended up on a double bed room. Didn't mind because I got the most quiet room on the hostal!
Overall it was good, everything smelled clean, and though the hostal needs a little "facelift" could you get a great clean bedroom with breakfast included in Madrid for less than 38€??
Loved it, if I go to Madrid again definitely booking a room there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaoVarandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

The location is perfect, with nearly everything in walking distance, the room was clean and comfortable, and the owner and staff are friendly and pacient with non-native speakers. If I come back to Madrid, this is the only establishment that I will consider.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank studnttravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Alhambra Suites
Hotel Alhambra Suites
#214 of 441 in Madrid
194 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Persal
Hotel Persal
#115 of 441 in Madrid
833 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#54 of 441 in Madrid
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#74 of 441 in Madrid
675 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#143 of 441 in Madrid
1,950 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#85 of 441 in Madrid
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alhambra

Address: Espoz y Mina, 8 | Second Floor, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £46 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Hostal Alhambra Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing