We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel II Castillas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel II Castillas
Ranked #103 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Firstly the hotel, I notice it has been described as old-fashioned but that's just the exterior, being city centre it's an old building. Inside, the rooms have had a complete makeover in the recent past and are clean and comfortable, average-sized not large but certainly well adequate. No tea-making facility but even on Ryanair we manage to fit in a travel kettle and teabags. Hairdryer and free room safe. Mini-bar fridge which you can use for your own drinks if you wish. Shower was fine once we worked out how to turn it on (2 knobs) - a note of instruction would help. We had a front room but it's a quiet street and the window is a modern UK-style UPVC double glazed well-sealed unit so we didn't hear any noise. Breakfast was comprehensive with usual continental items (rolls, croissants, muffins, etc) plus hot items - bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs. Only slight downside the hot items were only "lukewarm" the servery did not maintain their temperature. NOTE TO MANAGEMENT no point trying to improve the servery this problem is widespread - please spend Eur50 on a microwave for guest use and solve the problem entirely. On the weekend the waitress struggled to keep up with demand but this was just a minor inconvenience, everything arrived eventually we didn't miss out on anything. Staff were generally helpful and polite. One exception, on the first night we asked the gentleman at reception how to turn on the shower - his response was "ask the chambermaid (impossible of course at that hour), I can't help you, these 5 square metres (the reception area) are my domain, the only part of the hotel I know anything about" !!! Overall I would be very happy to recommend this hotel.

Secondly the location. Absolutely perfect, between Callao (on the Gran Via) and Puerta Del Sol, three mins walk from either, right in the heart of Madrid. For sightseeing would recommend the hop on city bus tour, for extra Eur4 buy the two-day unlimited ticket and make sure you take the extended tours (no extra charge), and also go after dark if possible. After this just soak up the atmosphere of this lively city in the evening. If on a budget there are a number of establishments offering fixed price menus or all-u-can-eat for Eur10 usually including a soft drink. A trip between the airport and Callao metro costs Eur5 on the metro (standard + supplementary ticket) and takes about a half-hour plus a long walk at Barajas airport depending which terminal you need.

Enjoy Madrid whilst cheap(ish) airfares are still available, I suspect prices are rising.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0LIDAYMAKERSC0TLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    319
    69
    11
    3
See reviews for
112
320
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

It is situated near Plaza del Sol, in the heart of Madrid. The rooms are quite small, but they are clean and you have almost all you need in a hotel. The breakfast is not very rich, but you have enough options. I choose this hotel because I found a very good deal and because of its location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurelian77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
645 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Il Castillas Madrid

I spent two nights at the Il Castillas Madrid and chose this hotel because of its epicenter location near the museums, (20 minute walk) Puerta del Sol (5 minute walk) and the metro station Callao to return back to the train station. From Callao, it was an easy 5 minute walk to Castillas Madrid. Check in was fast and efficient. Room clean???, found an eyeliner under the bed that was left by the previous person. Our room was disappointing; strange smell, a shower with a renegade, unruly, uncontrollable shower handle that soaked everything in sight and no Wi-Fi because of its unsecure status and the firewall settings on my computer. Spoke with the Receptionist who stated they were aware of firewall issues with computers, and someone would fix the shower in the morning. No English TV channels. The bed linens were
very nice with a soft, comfortable bed and pillows. A/C worked well/mini bar provided. That evening we requested some departure information from the Receptionist; his response was boarding on rude and condescending; we were astonished that such a simple request would bring such a negative response from someone in the hospitality industry! We also had to take my computer up to Starbucks where I was able to use the internet without problems.

Breakfast was decimated upon our arrival at 9am and all tables were dirty! There seemed to be only one person working, so food items didn’t get replenished until tables were cleaned. Eventually we had an acceptable breakfast with fruit, yogurt, hot eggs, meats, cheese and pastries. Day two, we were there when it opened and everything was fine. Check out was easy and they we happy to call a taxi for us. Overall this was a very uneven stay; staff were not very friendly or helpful. The room was OK although we were supposed to be on a non-smoking floor, but if smelled of smoke every time we exited the elevator. Good location depending on your interests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed for 5 nights while flat hunting with our Spanish speaking daughter. The best thing about this Hotel is the location which is relatively quiet whilst very central, being on a small road just south of Gran Via and just north of Plaza del Sol. Large parts of the surrounding area is pedistrianised and there are many shops, cafes and other historic sights such as Plaza Mayor all within an easy walk. Also 2 subway stations closeby (clean, cool and quick) with connections to Prada Museum etc. There is also a full size train staion UNDER Plaza del Sol, allowing you to travel right out of the city without using the Metro.
The Hotel itself is modern and clean and just about lives up to its 3 stars. Our room was very small for a twin/double and the beds were hard. The shower room was 'one at a time' size, but well fitted and clean. Staff were all friendly and the buffet breaffast was as good as you get in Spain. At the right price this is an excellent hotel. We paid the prebooked rate of only 56 Euros incl breakfast and you can't argue with that for the centre of a capital city - but I noted the rack rate in reception was 167 euros per night, which is way over what this standard of accomodation is worth. Essentailly it is a 'Premier Inn' in a great location in the city centre. Recommended, if you don't mind hard beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhythmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Well, this is my most satisfied hotel during my two weeks' trip in Spain. It' a small charming old-fashioned hotel: centrally located (2 min walk to metro station Sol and Callao), very friendly staff, clean& comfortable room, breakfast with wide selections, and it's only 56 Euros per night for a twins room including breakfast (My friend and I stayed for 4 nights)! What can I cay!

I highly recommend II Castillas , it's of super great value! Next time I visit Madrid, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Location: This hotel is in a great location, just off Gran Via and about a 5-7 min walk from Puerta Del Sol, which is a great open area where you can people watch and sit and enjoy the atmosphere.

Staff: The staff was excellent, extremely helpful, and friendly. They gave a great alternate suggestion for seeing a flamenco show at a place called Las Tablas, rather than send us to a typical overpriced tourist tour for a flamenco show. It was a great show and we thanked them for it.

Food: A wide variety of breakfast foods ( we had included breakfast), toast, pastries, fruit, juice, coffee,tea, cheeses, sliced meats, cereal, yogurt, many choices for most people.

Price: THe hotel was reasonably priced for the season. Not over priced and you got what you paid for.

Room: Clean, 2 single beds, mirrored closet and safe. The bathroom was very clean and basic toiletries were provided. Towel service is there to change towels every day if you like, or you can save water and re-use them. Same idea pertains to the bed linens. Rubbish was emptied out every day and anything that you needed for the room was provided.

Over all I would rate this hotel a 9/10. Coming from the "western" world, i feel that for the amount we paid we got a grea deal. As a European hotel, well seasoned travellers as myself, expect things to be different than what we are used to at home, however this hotel lived up to the things we needed to enjoy our trip in Madrid.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want a super quiet room, although there isn't muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plavaseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

You can't find a hotel in Madrid that is more centrally located.

Clean old-fashioned and charming, VERY Spanish hotel.

A very friendly staff, with a good solid Spanish breakfast at a very reasonable rate.

Third time I've stayed here with friends, and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#88 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel II Castillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel II Castillas

Property: Hotel II Castillas
Address: Calle Abada 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#119 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel II Castillas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel II Castillas is located in the heart of Madrid, exactly between Gran Via Street and Preciados Street.Recently opened. It´s the perfect hotel if you want to visit the center of the city. Ideal either for business or leisure. Main museums 12 minutes away! Right next to metro and bus stations. All of our rates have breakfast included. FREE WIFI!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel II Castillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ii Castillas Hotel
Ii Castillas Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing