We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ILUNION Alcala Norte
Ranked #111 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Currently staying in this hotel in Madrid. The service is excellent, the beds very comfortable, rooms very nice size with very good housekeeping staff. Everyone at the front desk is very nice, their english is very good and they do go out of their way to assist you.
I needed to find a phone store to put money on my account and the young lady behind the desk was more than happy to look it up online and provide excellent directions on how to get there, either by metro or by walking. It is a bit far from the center, but with summer rates in force I chose a very nice hotel, with great rates and close to the metro. The Madrid Metro will take you anywhere for a couple of euros and if you travel in the off hours, meaning not rush hours for people going and coming from work, it is very pleasant.

Room Tip: This is in an industrial/office/residential area, not a lot of party places near here, and traffic i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulr147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Alcala Norte, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Paul,

we are more than gratefull to read such a nice review from you.

It is a pleasure to know our staff have been helpfull in every moment for you. This is our main goal.

Hope you had a nice flight back.

Mariola Valladares, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    304
    110
    21
    12
See reviews for
120
260
42
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is located in the suburbs. There are very few - if any - stores and eating places in the area and it is a good 15-20 minute walk up a moderate incline to the nearest Metro station. That is the downside to staying at this hotel. In all other respects it is an option well worth considering. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable as was the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was good. The hotel provided free WiFi in all areas. I have suggested that management consider providing a shuttle service to and from the Metro station at fixed times, charging guests for the service provided, if necessary.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandp_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Alcala Norte, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Client,

thank you very for taking the time to share this review.

As you say, the nearest metro station is 15 minutes walk from the hotel but we have a bus stop right in front of the hotel which gets you down town.

We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel and facilities and we would like to thank you for mentioning the kindness of our staff.

It would be a pleasure you could stay with us again in the future.

Tamara Agudo, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had a short stay at this hotel during May, Good basic hotel, no frills, no fuss, breakfast is good quality with a wide variety of food, the only down side is 80% cold with little hot to choose from. Bar is welcoming and friendly, food is quite good but limited during the evenings. I ordered a 100% x 100% burger from room service and was very disappointed, barely warm with mushy onions and dried bun, few fries, food in the bar area during the evenings was much better
I would stay here again on business

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karamar2439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Alcala Norte, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments with us. We always welcome feedback from our Guests and we were delighted to read the positive comments from you. We are most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information and help us monitor the service we provide.
We have reported your comment to our chef in order to keep on improving.

Kind regards,
Tamara Agudo, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our room was in good and clean condition. There were 3 of us in the room - 2 single beds and 1 extra bed were provided. The breakfast buffet is okay but during our last day, we had no choice but to sit by the bar due to the number of people in the restaurant that day. Their restaurant is not that big. The staff were accommodating although not all of them spoke English very well. The hotel location is far from the city center. The nearest metro is Suanzes station which would be about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel but you also have the option to take the bus which stops across the hotel. There are banks nearby since the hotel is located in a neighborhood. There's a restaurant/bar just across but no convenience stores or supermarkets nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Alcala Norte, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Irene,

Thank you so much for your kind and considerate review. We always welcome feedback from our Guests and we were delighted to read the positive comments from you.

Yours sincerely,
Tamara Agudo, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have been in this hotel quite a number of times and this time around it was a sweet surprise as they have made some good changes. the restaurant now serves excellent variety of delicious food.
The only thing is there are a lot of groups staying in the hotel which occupy the area in the lobby most of the time once they are back from sight seeing.
The rooms have always been comfortable and the staff was always friendly with a smile to greet you. Wi-fi works great.I like this hotel and would continue to stay in it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe-Trotter-Sach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at ILUNION Alcala Norte, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Client,

we really appreciate your nice coments about our hotel and our hotel.

For sure, it would be a pleasure to wellcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Tamara Agudo, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a good stay at this hotel. It is bit far from the City Center but not far away from transport that can take you to the City Center. Hotel was good value for money, very clean and in a quite part of Madrid close to very nice park where you can just sit to relax. Some of the staff was not very friendly though but still had a good stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a hotel that is in the middle of a redevloped annex of Madrid. There are only a few local cafes if you head in the direction of central Madrid for about a 5-10 minute walk, while they do really nice Pincho Tortilla (ideal breakfeast for about 2-3 EUR all inc) if you're more the type that wants things 'now' and easy, then I'd advise to take the Hotel breakfast for ease.

The hotel is not in the centre of town by any means - but living in Startford London, it's perfectly close enough and worth saving on the reduced price and getting the increased quality. The bus is regular and dead easy, takes you direct to the base of the Gran Via (ie one edge of Central Madrid) and then you walk to where ever in Madrid you want to go. Also drops you off right on the Madrid City bus route - so if you have the two-day pass (25EUR) it's a good 'free' interchange if you want to use the pass as a free bus.

The Metro (Suanzes) is nearest, and is a short walk away (10mins at a steady pace) and is not a hike at all, unless you're infirm. For any normally fit person under the age of 60 it should be a perfectly fine short walk with just one change of road. Personally though, I preferred the bus (same price, same ticket [if you get the bus/metro combo] and you get views!). Bus'es come every 8mins or so, and there is shade at the stop. The night bus too is decent. not as good as london, but every 30mins, and from the same point as where the day route ends. Numbers 5 & 6 i think are the best, dropping you off a short walk from the hotel - do check with reception though for details, they're very helpful in this. Failing that a cab ride is under 30EUR.

The Hotel is clean, cool, well eqiped. It's no five star mansion, but as a four star it's perfectly adequate. It's a little dated in it's design in the rooms, but not to the extent of affecting my stay. I've had comfier beds in most other hotels, but again, for any normal person without a bad back, they will not cause an issue, and I was able to sleep long!

Tip: do remeber to put out 'do not disturb signs' if you plan on sleeping beyond 8am, as the room cleaners are very eager to clean, and won't always wait for an answer before they barge in (nicely) and clean the room ... once when I was still fast alseep!! lol They exited as soon as they realised I was still in, but not before they'd cleaned half the room.

In all, a great place to base if you're on a budget, and more interested about seeing Madrid then staying in your room the whole time. You get a feel also of the 'real' madrid people as you travel to and from. Would be happy to stay again.

Oh, and the reception ladies are lovely!

Room Tip: I think smoking rooms get the balconies ... not sure, but not all have balconies, and they might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#104 of 435 in Madrid
828 reviews
ILUNION Atrium
#93 of 435 in Madrid
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#136 of 435 in Madrid
1,459 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#168 of 435 in Madrid
1,038 reviews
San Blas
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
#254 of 435 in Madrid
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Alcala Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Alcala Norte

Property: ILUNION Alcala Norte
Address: Calle San Romualdo 30, 28037 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Alcala Norte 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ILUNION Alcala Norte is located in an expanding business area, next to the Juan Carlos I trade fair centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ILUNION Alcala Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Alcala Norte Madrid
Confortel Alcala Norte Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing