We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location! Stay here, or near here!”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #24 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed for a week at the Urban Hotel Madrid. Rooms are not large, but there is a lot of storage for luggage/clothes and a desk for a laptop. Bathroom is large by european standards! One minor problem once I had checked in, the sheets had some sort of a small stain on them. A bit of trouble communicating with the housekeeping staff that I wanted new sheets, but we figured it out, and from then on I found the hotel very clean.

Internet is very expensive (12 euro per 24 hours) and only works on one device. I believe it is free if you only want 90 minutes.

The rooms were quite dark, which actually ended up being a good thing as it meant I slept excellently.

Rooftop pool is small and very busy, but the bar on the rooftop deck is excellent. Lots of seating, reasonably priced. Very nice to relax with a great glass of wine!

Breakfast was delicious, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries available and eggs prepared on request. I had the poached eggs every day, they were some of the best I've ever had! However, the breakfast was something like 23 euro, and if it hadn't been prepaid with my room, I would probably not have paid for it, excellent eggs or not.

However, the hotel was absolutely a wonderful place to stay, as it was in a fantastic location. Less than a 5 minute walk to Puerta del Sol, the Sevilla metro station or the Plaza de Santa Ana, where we found many excellent restaurants. About a 15 minute walk in either direction to the Retiro Park or the Royal Palace.

If you don't stay here, stay nearby, the area is fantastic!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank maple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,974)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Urban
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel must have been fantastic when it opened, but is now showing its age a bit - the room was pleasant, but very small for the price and quite dark, and furniture starting to look a bit tatty. Wifi was expensive and I agree this should be included free for a hotel like this.
Breakfas was fine, and the staff are very helpful - the location is also great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest:

In the first instance, I want to thank you for expressing us your observations about the services of our Hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us to improve our services continually. I can assure you that we will endeavour to improve matters as quickly as we can.

In any case, since its opening, the hotel is in a constant process of renewal and maintenance for the big use (wear) generated by the high occupancy

I would like to inform you that the hotel has cable connection free in all rooms.

We have also a hospitality desk available free of charge for our customers during 24 hours.

Also you have wifi connection free during 90 minutes per day.


I sincerely hope that your next stay at the our hotel will be extremely pleasant, I will personally take care to ensure it.

I remain at your entire disposal.
Yours sincerely,


Félix García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a cracking hotel,great beds nice sofa to relax when you have done a days work or sight seeing staff really helpful and can not do enough for you.the pool area is a nice place to catch a few rays or just relax,if you want to get round the pool get there early otherwise there are a lot of seating round about the balcony,my only complaint is if your hungry the restaurant is very slow in getting the food out waited nearly an hour for risotto which put me off using the restaurant again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felix Garcia Hernan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Firstly location is great, design is modern and chic, staff are generally very attentive. The niggles are as follows:

1/ The rooftop pool, such as it is, should be a real draw for the hotel particularly in 105 degree heat as it was last week; however, on four visits to the pool in the three days I was never able to get a seat. So this actually becomes an increasing irritation rather than a benefit to me as a guest. Also the pool boy was away with the fairies most of the time and never cleared used towels from loungers when guests left so you were unsure as to whether there was a space or not.

2/ The duplex room was nicely designed but the wooden floor creaked really noisily so woke up my partner if I got up during the night, as did the metal door to the bathroom which didn't fit the frame properly so you had to lift it up to close it.

3/ No free wi-fi. When will hotels of any star rating realise this is not acceptable any more?

Having said all that, I still give it 4 stars and would go back. The Glass Bar was fun and the staff in there are great. The reception team are friendly, efficient and helpful with reservations etc. The bed and pillows are good. There are taxis available outside at all times. It is easily walkable to Sol, Plaza Mayor and Chueca.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtraveller143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

On behalf of all of us at the Hotel Urban, thank you for taking the time to complete the recent Trip Advisor Review. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and we appreciated receiving your feedback.

First of all,. I have shared your comments with the entire team at the Hotel Urban. We have immediately implemented procedures to ensure to improve all the points you mentioned. We are actively pursuing corrective measures so that you will have a better experience, should you give us the chance to earn your future business. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. It is important to us that we use the feedback given to us by our guests as a tool to improve so that we continue to exceed your expectations.

I would also appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay in additional detail. Please call me directly at your earliest convenience and I look forward to speaking to you so this matter can be settled to your satisfaction. I can also be reached via email as well if that is more convenient.

At Hotel Urban hospitality we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your consideration and I look forward to hearing from you.

At your Service,

Felix garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

This is an absolutely lovely modern looking hotel in an amazing location. The service we received here was also excellent. There are however a few things that could have been better for this 5 star hotel. First the room was very small, and we had paid extra for a deluxe room. Second, the hardwood floors in the room crack like you wouln't believe. This meant that you couldn't get out of bed without waking everyone else. All and all this is still a great hotel and great value for Madrid.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is our second visit to Hotel Urban, the first was when it had just opened about 5 years back. It's still a fantastic blend of modern design and style combined with excellent customer service.

The atmosphere is outstanding and just very comfortable and luxurious without the heavy stilted old fashioned atmosphere.

Little niggles: charging for wifi (even with 90mins free) these days is like an extra charge for hot water.

The breakfast wasnt as good as we had hoped and the cooked elements were a Spanish take on an English cooked breakfast which was a mistake, the buffet was ok but stops the hotel short from getting 5 stars from me.

We had a complimentary glass of champagne in the glass bar when we arrived (late) which was a perfect start before going out to look for dinner. There is also a rooftop bar which is very romantic (but very dear) that might not be a problem for you.....

Location is great for us just 5 mins from Prado and the Reina Sofia museums and 5 mins the other way towards Purerto de Sol.

Roof top pool is great for a cool down in the afternoon

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olgiati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felix Garcia Hernan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was our eight consecutive stay at the Urban and it keeps getting better !!! The staff strives to make everyone feel at home with superb, personalized service. It is simply the best choice and OUR HOME AWAY FROM HOME while in Madrid. The Derby Hotels must be recognized for having an efficient staff dedicated to excellence. Kudos to Mr. Jose Corredor and his reception staff. THEY ARE THE BEST IN THE BUSINESS.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remoazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felix Garcia Hernan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 438 in Madrid
1,778 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 438 in Madrid
1,518 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £154 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing