We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #17 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Normally I like to weigh up reviews giving good and bad comments but, to be honest, you'd be hard pushed to say bad things about this place.

The room I stayed in was one of their Superior rooms, which is their basic offering. As I was on business, travelling alone, I didn't really feel the need for any of the suites they offered (even though they were very reasonably priced as well.)

The room was very clean, luxurious, and had a very modern feel, mixing natural materials like leather with glass and metal finishing.... very nice. Big TV which allowed language changes on some programmes so I could watch the odd film or TV programme in English, which was nice. The cable for the internet didn't work but I used the wifi for a small charge (€30 for 3 days) and that was accessible anywhere in the building. Bathroom was clean and the shower was really good having an option of a standard fixed head but also a kind of wand that you could use as well. Plenty of marbel and glass in the bathroom as well.

I only went to the restaurant for breakfast but that was great. A choice of the buffet and a hot selection from the kitchen (egg's, bacon, sausage, etc.) Most of the time, as I was on my own, I used room service to have dinner in my room. The food was spectacular and of a very high quality. A little pricey but then this is a 5 star hotel and €33 for a steak isn't that bad compared to some restaurants I've been to in Europe.

I tried both bars. The one on the ground floor was great with the air-conditioning keeping you at a comfortable temporature and the terrace bar, on the 6th floor, was equally nice with a cool breeze allowing you to relax outside on top of the hotel.

Staff were attentive and very helpful throughout my stay. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron_Galbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felix Garcia Hernan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    507
    135
    47
    16
See reviews for
207
981
93
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I have just checked out of Urban hotel (literally I am writing this review at one of their free apple computers). We have been to Madrid several times this past few years and normally stay on Grand Via at the Best Western, however because August is the hottest time to visit Madrid, I wanted a hotel that had a pool. We have spent 2 wonderful weeks here at the Urban Hotel. The location is great, you are about 3 blocks from Sol Metro and the "metal market". We had a "superior room" which was a nice size. We utlized the space under the bed to store our luggage. We only had breakfast here 1 morning, which was rather pricey at 23.00 euro p.p. If you walk down the street, there is a nice deli tapas place where you can get a nice breakast sandwich for 2.00-3.00 euro. The website advertises soundproof rooms, maybe some of the rooms are but ours "room 244" was not. But the noise was distracting and we were able to sleep quite late each morning. The blackout curtains are wonderful. The pool is quite small, and one trick I learned very early was to take the towels and books up and grab the 1st two lounges before the pool opens which is at 12:00. But you can reserve your lounges with your towels and sunscreen. The sun normally comes over the pool area about 12:30 and you have the perfect layout spot. The specialty drinks at the rooftop restaurant is quite expensive, almost all cocktails are about 15.00 euro. We enjoyed having cocktails each night at the glass bar which is located downstairs. The bartenders are very friendly. Oh did I mention you get complimentary champagne upon arrival. We did not book a shuttle with the hotel to the airport, its very expensive, you can get a better deal online. I know we will be back to Madrid soon and will stay at the Urban Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asianink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed for a week at the Urban Hotel Madrid. Rooms are not large, but there is a lot of storage for luggage/clothes and a desk for a laptop. Bathroom is large by european standards! One minor problem once I had checked in, the sheets had some sort of a small stain on them. A bit of trouble communicating with the housekeeping staff that I wanted new sheets, but we figured it out, and from then on I found the hotel very clean.

Internet is very expensive (12 euro per 24 hours) and only works on one device. I believe it is free if you only want 90 minutes.

The rooms were quite dark, which actually ended up being a good thing as it meant I slept excellently.

Rooftop pool is small and very busy, but the bar on the rooftop deck is excellent. Lots of seating, reasonably priced. Very nice to relax with a great glass of wine!

Breakfast was delicious, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries available and eggs prepared on request. I had the poached eggs every day, they were some of the best I've ever had! However, the breakfast was something like 23 euro, and if it hadn't been prepaid with my room, I would probably not have paid for it, excellent eggs or not.

However, the hotel was absolutely a wonderful place to stay, as it was in a fantastic location. Less than a 5 minute walk to Puerta del Sol, the Sevilla metro station or the Plaza de Santa Ana, where we found many excellent restaurants. About a 15 minute walk in either direction to the Retiro Park or the Royal Palace.

If you don't stay here, stay nearby, the area is fantastic!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank maple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel must have been fantastic when it opened, but is now showing its age a bit - the room was pleasant, but very small for the price and quite dark, and furniture starting to look a bit tatty. Wifi was expensive and I agree this should be included free for a hotel like this.
Breakfas was fine, and the staff are very helpful - the location is also great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest:

In the first instance, I want to thank you for expressing us your observations about the services of our Hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us to improve our services continually. I can assure you that we will endeavour to improve matters as quickly as we can.

In any case, since its opening, the hotel is in a constant process of renewal and maintenance for the big use (wear) generated by the high occupancy

I would like to inform you that the hotel has cable connection free in all rooms.

We have also a hospitality desk available free of charge for our customers during 24 hours.

Also you have wifi connection free during 90 minutes per day.


I sincerely hope that your next stay at the our hotel will be extremely pleasant, I will personally take care to ensure it.

I remain at your entire disposal.
Yours sincerely,


Félix García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a cracking hotel,great beds nice sofa to relax when you have done a days work or sight seeing staff really helpful and can not do enough for you.the pool area is a nice place to catch a few rays or just relax,if you want to get round the pool get there early otherwise there are a lot of seating round about the balcony,my only complaint is if your hungry the restaurant is very slow in getting the food out waited nearly an hour for risotto which put me off using the restaurant again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felix Garcia Hernan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Firstly location is great, design is modern and chic, staff are generally very attentive. The niggles are as follows:

1/ The rooftop pool, such as it is, should be a real draw for the hotel particularly in 105 degree heat as it was last week; however, on four visits to the pool in the three days I was never able to get a seat. So this actually becomes an increasing irritation rather than a benefit to me as a guest. Also the pool boy was away with the fairies most of the time and never cleared used towels from loungers when guests left so you were unsure as to whether there was a space or not.

2/ The duplex room was nicely designed but the wooden floor creaked really noisily so woke up my partner if I got up during the night, as did the metal door to the bathroom which didn't fit the frame properly so you had to lift it up to close it.

3/ No free wi-fi. When will hotels of any star rating realise this is not acceptable any more?

Having said all that, I still give it 4 stars and would go back. The Glass Bar was fun and the staff in there are great. The reception team are friendly, efficient and helpful with reservations etc. The bed and pillows are good. There are taxis available outside at all times. It is easily walkable to Sol, Plaza Mayor and Chueca.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
On behalf of all of us at the Hotel Urban, thank you for taking the time to complete the recent Trip Advisor Review. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and we appreciated receiving your feedback.

First of all,. I have shared your comments with the entire team at the Hotel Urban. We have immediately implemented procedures to ensure to improve all the points you mentioned. We are actively pursuing corrective measures so that you will have a better experience, should you give us the chance to earn your future business. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. It is important to us that we use the feedback given to us by our guests as a tool to improve so that we continue to exceed your expectations.

I would also appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay in additional detail. Please call me directly at your earliest convenience and I look forward to speaking to you so this matter can be settled to your satisfaction. I can also be reached via email as well if that is more convenient.

At Hotel Urban hospitality we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your consideration and I look forward to hearing from you.

At your Service,

Felix garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

This is an absolutely lovely modern looking hotel in an amazing location. The service we received here was also excellent. There are however a few things that could have been better for this 5 star hotel. First the room was very small, and we had paid extra for a deluxe room. Second, the hardwood floors in the room crack like you wouln't believe. This meant that you couldn't get out of bed without waking everyone else. All and all this is still a great hotel and great value for Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#36 of 435 in Madrid
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
991 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
938 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#13 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing