We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix feelings”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #24 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just came back from Madrid staying at Urban Hotel. I read the reviews before we booked sounded excellent..but after two nights I now have mix feelings. I liked the location and an artchitectural design very much, staff were very helpful however few things although they may appear minor were enough to irritate and annoye us....
- the way closet doors open and close blocks the way makes it very difficult(in fact impossible) the second person to move around in a already small area..

-wifi use through special daily user name and password as well as 90 min limit....certainly is not 21 century and 5 star GL standard at all !!!

-fitness room is also not 5 star, in fact it is almost a joke...

I am not sure if I would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank echappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,990 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights at the Urban hotel and we absolutely loved it!
From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't do enough to help us.
We weren't sure of where everything was located in Madrid, as it was a last minute trip and we hadn't done our homework!
On mentioning that we needed to get a map, the man at reception (tall, dark hair) provided us with one and went through all the must see places and drew the exact locations on the map for us. He was so lovely and it was great to find out where everything was. (He was also the person that checked us out and couldn't have been more helpful.)
Complimentary glasses of champagne on arrival was such a lovely touch, and a great start to our holiday.
The pool was stunning, and the staff on the rooftop terrace were also great, and served you drinks wherever you were sat, including by the pool.
Our room and bathroom were gorgeous, we found the bed so comfortable and discovered that we had an electronic blackout blind when our beds were turned down - amazing!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and if we go to Madrid again soon, I will definitely be staying there again.
Thanks to all the staff at the Urban for making our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surreygal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in August as we wanted to have a hotel right in the center. The interior of the hotel is modern and nicely decorated, the rooms are well furnished, a bit too dark but refreshing cool in the hot summer, quipped with a well-working aircondition, perfect dark shutters and soundproof windows. The bar in the lobby as well as the pool bar are both very nice, service is excellent. The variety of the breakfast buffet is poor and expensive for what is offered, we would recommend to walk a few meters and sit in on of the many beautiful cafes with terracce outside and have breakfast there, you pay less and have much better quality of food!

We would go back and recommend this hotel due to the location for a city trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryhotelsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felix Garcia Hernan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed three nights in August and it was very hot but fine by us! We upgraded to a junior suite, which was lovely, huge bath and bathroom, comfortable bed too. The rooftop pool is small but great for cooling off, there is a large roof terrace,which has lovely views and great for early evening drinks (waiter service), not cheap but you are on the roof of a five star hotel in wonderful surroundings! The room was quite dark as it faced an internal courtyard, however for us this was good as it was cool and welcoming after a hot and sunny day sightseeing. The hotel is very near bars/restaurants and the main square but we didn't find it too noisy. We had breakfast at the hotel included and it was very nice. All the staff were very helpful and spoke English as our Spanish could be better. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite...go on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLoftysPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felix Garcia Hernan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in this boutique hotel on our honeymoon trip to Madrid and we couldn’t have been more pleased with our choice. First of all, excellent location, right in the heart of the city. The Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen museums are within walking distance, as are a subway station and the famous La Barraca restaurant.

The hotel’s design is just like the name implies: modern urban. A minimalist chic style with touches of modern luxury and a few pieces of modern art in the rooms. The room was not very spacious, but was comfortable enough, with floor-to-ceiling windows that provided an excellent view to the avenue in front of the hotel, a comfortable bed, excellent linens and a very nice bathroom with good quality amenities. Breakfast was excellent with some high-quality choices from the buffet and several on-demand choices of eggs and traditional Spanish sausages. Add accommodating service and a relatively reasonable price for a five-star category and you have one of the best choices for a memorable hotel experience in Madrid.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athens_Traveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felix Garcia Hernan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel at recommendation of guide book. Great design and attention to detail throughout entire hotel. Liked it so much I just booked at the Hotel Claris (another Derby Hotel) tomorrow for a couple of nights while in Barcelona.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good comment about the service and in general about the hotel.

All the staff is happy to read we are doing a good job and we have made you feel comfortable in your stay at hotel .

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felix Garcia Hernan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Positives
Location - really central, makes it easy to walk to most things. check out Marcado San Migeul near Plaza Mayor
Look of hotel - very modern
Pool - although small its really handy having an outdoor pool in this very hot city! Its on the rooftop and turns into a cool bar area at night. Only 4 loungers on the sunny side though and I think it closes in low season
Friendly staff
Negatives
only 90 mins of free wifi. Think it should just be a given that in 4/5 star hotels there is free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLDNGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#14 of 437 in Madrid
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 437 in Madrid
1,802 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £158 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing