We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Urban”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #23 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank GKS-London
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,973)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Urban
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

Very nice hotel, perfect located for a sightseeing trip to Madrid and probably also for a business stay. The rooms are small, typical for a Derby Hotel (at least what I saw!), but very clean, modern and stylish. The breakfast is spanish light. The bar is small, but a good place after a soccer game (Real Madrid e.g.) or a shopping tour. Just ask for an extra blanket in autumn and winter!!!
We didn`t try the restaurant. But we got a good recommendation for a lunch nearby, El Rincon de Esteban, Santa Catalina, 3 enjoy (even better in the evening)! We would come back to the Urban, also with our kids!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

THis hotel has a "5 star Grand Luxe" rating so you would expect to pay top $$. However we pre booked it for 5 nights on their internet site and the average for each night was around $250 per room. Imagine what you would pay in London or Paris or Sydney etc. At least double that amount. It is a very modern purpose built hotel. All glass and steel with ancient artifacts for decoration. The service all round was very good. Before venturing out each night for dinner we would have a drink in the glass bar. The staff there could not be friendlier and more helpful if they tried. Great atmosphere. We paid extra for the breakfast but got it discounted because we prepaid on arrival for breakfast each day of the stay. And it was an excellent buffet breakfast. They also did cooked breakfasts to order so no dreaded bain maire. The rooms are great for sleeping. Comfortable and quiet. Good value indeed. Maybe showing wear and tear a little but which hotel isn't. Only criticism is paying for wifi as a guest. You get some time free each day but really......... in the 21st century?

Room Tip: Their standard rooms are very adequate. Good size with all the amentities you need.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Urban hotel is located next to almost everything. It is the perfect place to explore the city center with its culture and night life. The whole hotel is really stylish and hip with a nice rooftop bar. Staff is friendly and likable. The junior suites are nice but a bit too small and you will not use the upstairs part often. All in all a good choice for people how like to stay in a cool downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonasBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I'm sure there was a time when the Hotel Urban was the chic new hotel in the city. The Lobby is still impressive ...the glass bar is enjoyable and the location is....very central and convenient. But what a dissapointment. Upon closer inspection, the chipped wood starts to show, as do the scratched counter tops, dirty paint and even weather stripping...hanging outside the window which had come loose from the floor above. An old noisy AC system didn't help either. Whomever designed the Junior Suite Duplex room had no idea what they were doing. Even our friends smallest room in the hotel had a better floor plan. It was truly the most poorly designed room I have ever stayed in with only the bed to sit on unless you wanted to walk up the difficult noisy wooden stairs. The second night we upgraded to a large suite which was pretty spectacular. But once again.... the electric shades were twisted in knots and wouldn't raise all the way. (and for the price of the suite.....I can't say this is the hotel to splurge at that level) although Madrid is quite expensive on the hotel front in general. The staff were very kind and we had an amazing waitress at the rooftop bar. (which never seemed to be open) Everyone tried very hard and were very friendly. (Derby hotels should provide water at turndown and something other than their generic mint in a foil pac that looks like medicine) Even the mattresses and bedding were tired. Time are tough and you have to work with what you are given but at these prices.....its time for a complete redo to bring the Urban into this decade. I cannot reccommend it.

Room Tip: The soundproofing is quite good no matter what side you are on. Do not book a Junior Suite Duplex...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renztem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I know this is supposed to be chic and trendy and 'cutting edge' and there is much to recommend it - even if the room we had was very dark and looked like the setting for a bad 70s porno. As the designated spouse equivalent of 25+ years said - 'If I was brought back here after a night out I knonw what would be expected'. All that was missing was the whips and leather gimp mask.

That said, the bathroom and amenities are beautiful, the dual shower heads luxurious and the quality of the finish superb. However, only getting 90 minutes free wifi in this class of hotel in this day and age is ridiculous. We stayed in two and three star places through Spain for three weeks prior to this and all had unlimited wifi for free. As well the wooden floors outside the rooms in the corridors and in the rooms above meant you have to either sleep with earplugs or put up with every high heel click clack late into the night. The street noises from the alley below were very evident, despite the 'sound insulation' that is spoken of and we were four floors up. These hotels should not have sound problems at this price. Also the air condiotioning could not be left on at night as it rattled annoyingly.The breakfast was nothing special for 25 euros each either.

For the young and hip who care more about appearance than comfort and value I expect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are muich quieter I expect
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stemar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Good location near the congress, parks etc. Rooms are small but functional and stylish. Had a good night's sleep. Would recommend to friends looking for a place to stay on a weekend getaway. The hotel is quite expensive but still nice and not as expensive as the Westin for example.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmiliaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 438 in Madrid
1,774 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 438 in Madrid
1,517 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £153 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing