We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and wonderful hospitality”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #17 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic hotel and wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Spain which included a 3 night stay in Madrid. We had originally booked our accommodation there at Villa Real. We arrived to be greeted by the manager telling us the hotel was going to start renovations that would disrupt our stay. They had made alternate arrangements at another Derby Hotel around the corner, the Hotel Urban. Although we found it strange we were not notified in advance we did not have a problem with the change after being assured that the Hotel Urban was a step up from the Villa Real (hence the renovation) and most importantly located right around the corner in the same area we wanted to be in. It is located within walking distance to the Prado, the Royal Palace and a number of Madrid's beautiful gardens and Calle Serrano, an amazing shopping street. We could not have been more satisfied - From the moment of check-in to our departure we were taken very good care of. The hospitality and advice of the concierge desk, the waiters, bar tenders, pool attendants, doormen and housekeeping were without fault. The restaurants and Flamenco evening recommendations were fantastic. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and modern. The rooftop pool is tiny and on the cold side but good for a quick refreshing dip and a poolside drink after a day of hot August walking in the city!
The incredible art and statuary collection even stretches to the guest rooms - a very nice touch. Best of all if you like the pictures on the website it is exactly what you get - not always the case with a few places we have unfortunately booked in the past!
A stay at the Hotel Urban will make your stay in Madrid a very enjoyable one. A special thanks to Concierge Patricia who made our stay in Madrid a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We choose a junior suite - very nicely appointed and spacious. Turn down service included chocolates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    501
    134
    46
    16
See reviews for
204
973
93
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We love this hotel and have been back ever summer for the last 4 years. The rooms are modern, with great bathrooms. We like the Duplex suites best, with your own lounge upstairs. The roof top terrace is great for drinks or just chilling in the sunshine & the glass bar is also great for cocktails before you head out. Only downside is that drinks are a little over priced, although you are paying for a great location I guess, and although the staff are really helpful it lacks the personal touch received at other 5 star hotels i.e we've stayed there 6 times over the last 4 years and always book directly with them but each time we check in they ask if it's our first time staying at the hotel! It's a busy hotel so not a biggie but sometimes it's the little touches that make the difference. That said I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Madrid and would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Schweiz
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Urban Hotel offers you a authentic neighborhood and all the best of Madrid. The Hotel and atmosphere is amazing, with the roof top Pool and Lounge area you do not need anything else. Service is top quality and the fact the that you can enjoy a day in the pool and the evening enjoying the Sweet Life of Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RasmusGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant magager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Brilliant hotel in walking distance of everything but calm at night when peace is needed to sleep. Fantastic staff. TIP! Dubbed tv (films etc on tv dubbed in Spanish) can be reverted back to English using the remote control. Press 'tools' then scroll down to 'idioma de audio' then select number 2, 'sin definir'.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is a perfect combination of a 5 star hotel and a boutique hotel. The service was personalized while the standard of the hotel was 5 star. Breakfast was generous. The room was on the small side but had everything we needed. The room was clean and modern. Great location within walking distance to all the shopping and restaurants.

The only con was the dining options. We ate at both the rooftop and the glass bar and both were disappointing. The food service was very slow. My burger was extremely undercooked and the potato chips were more of a potato salad. The food and drinks were overpriced especially when compared to what was availably within a short walk of the hotel. EAT SOMEWHERE ELSE.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have stayed at the Urban Hotel on both of our trips to Madrid (this past May and May 2011). We absolutely love the hotel and their staff! They all spoke very good English and were extremely helpful with anything we needed! The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect- we walked everywhere from here! We have stayed in both the Deluxe Room and the Suite- both great! The Deluxe room was a bit small but so are most of the other hotel rooms in Europe- we loved the Suite! The only complaint we might have was that the wireless was a tad bit pricey but that is to be expected in Europe...cant wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Choose a Suite for a bit more room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitneyDelavaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hearing you had a fantastic stay and you would stay again Urban hotel.

Thank you very much for your nice comments as it is always interesting for other travellers

We do hope to see you again next time you return to our city

Kind regards,

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Booked this on previous reviews of being a 5 star. Coming from an excellent hotel from Barcelona to this hotel was a big disappointment. Starting with the dismissive Concierge that had poor command of the English language. Not what you would expect from a 5 star. When asked about options for restaurants in the area, all we received was a map with an area circled to walk to.
Rooms are dated and do have artifact but hard to appreciate when you are in much needed up date. No turn down service in a 5 star hotel !
Location has lots of hostels around it.
Pool very cool that turns into a bar at night. So if you want to sit at night to overlook the city by sitting at the roof top pool, you have to order a drink to stay. Only time we were provided service when we were asked every few minutes if we want a drink. the message was evident and we left.
Breakfast included was good and the staff here were attentive.
The concierge and front desk staff make a difference in a visited country. Unfortunate that ours were quite negative. I could print a map but need professional suggestions when looking for restaurants or shopping districts. Sending me an email about your hotel restaurant is not where your skills should end. The Derby hotel collection did not live up to its reputation of having beautiful hip hotels. The vibe was not present and it starts with your staff. A dated hotel can still be fun if you have people that like what they are doing. Not here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rtravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Urban hotel
All kind of comments help us a lot to progress.
Regarding your comment on the Concierge. I would really like to show you our improvements so if you travel back to Madrid and you choose Urban again I kindly ask to contact me in order to be able to assist you personally.

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#13 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing