We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A SUPER Spanish weekend @ The Urban, Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #18 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A SUPER Spanish weekend @ The Urban, Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Love the Urban in Madrid!!!! Found it by doing a search- typed in Madrid, Hotel with pool & the Urban was 1st on the list- researched it & liked what we saw & booked it up & we were off for a nice long weekend in this FABULOUS city!!!! Check in was fast & easy, greeted with smiles all around & complimentary glasses of good champagne up on the rooftop patio. Hotel is very industrial looking- exposed steel beams, shiny stainless accents & gleaming glass panels lead your eyes up through the center atrium to reveal the sky. I loved their collection of statues and ancient artifacts from all around the world- something different at every turn & they softened the look. Check out the little Egyptian museum as well on the lowest level- its worth a look for sure. We were booked in a "loft suite" & once we were checked in they gave us the option to upgrade to a "suite"- we took a look @ it & it was a great room- fabulous jewel box like bathroom- but it was an interior room & on the 2nd floor- it seemed a bit dark to us- but it was a beautiful room. So we stuck with our room. Up to the 5th floor & right off the elevator & into our 2 story suite- Beautiful!!! Beautiful golds & brown colors. Great bathroom with a double marble slab sink, great shower with great water pressure & shower options, separate toilet/bidet as well. One thing though- the bathrooms door didnt close properly- so they may want to look @ the lock in room 534- a small criticism for sure. Room was decorated beautifully, dark, real wood floors that creaked (we liked that- felt like home) great queen sized bed with high quality linens, total black out curtains/blinds & out the window a view of the Spanish Congress that was right across the street. Flat screen TV on the lower level as well as a JBL Ipod dock to play your own tunes. Up stairs was a living area with leather sofa, large bureau, coffee table & wall mounted flat screen TV- skylights let in plenty of light & could be closed with a remote. Mini bar in the bureau was well stocked with the normal. There was a nice niche on the way up the stairs with an 11th century Buddha figurine that sort of became our friend & good luck charm. A very nice touch to spread the artifacts into the rooms as well. Stairs were steep- so if you have mobility issues- go for a 1 level room for sure. The room has MANY switches for lights, dimmers & blinds- we finally got used to them on our last day. A suggestion would be to include a little cheat sheet on how to use the buttons. It wasnt a big issue & we muddled through it.
We were fortunate to be up on the 5th floor right under the roof top bar & pool area- so we just took the stairs. What a great place to spend in the sun & cool off in their plunge pool. Nice, comfortable lounge chairs (there arent many- so stake your claim) ample towels & sun!!! They dont have umbrellas so choose your spot wisely or you will be in shade & then sun or visa versa. Pool isnt big & its not deep- it is though perfect for a dip to cool off. Great bar up on the roof & its the place to be on the weekends- the bar is open until 3AM Fridays & Saturdays. Swanky, hipster crowd enjoying the view over the city, Great music as well- Ahhhh Madrid!!!! We ordered lunch one day up in the sun & it was great albeit spendy- but we expected that- we didnt want to give up our lounges as people were ready to pounce if we left. Keep your eyes peeled for celebrities- we saw one & got a photo :)
We opted to have breakfast included & it was nice- you can do the continental buffet or get a hot breakfast made to order- we did both & they were fine- I did have some very nicely made scrambled eggs- just perfect. The fresh OJ is so delicious- service was good & friendly. Didnt get a chance to have dinner there as we were more interested in being out & about @ night in this food city that was just steps from the hotel.
Hotel is in a FANTASTIC area of Madrid, walking distance to Plaza del Sol (10 min max), the Prado museum (10 min max the other way) & the Thyssen (5 min same direction as the Prado) Plaza Mayor (15min max). The red hop/on hop off bus stop is @ Plaza del Sol or down the hill in front of the Prado- easily to catch & recommended- do both routes.
Hotel Urban is staffed with a professional, happy, helpful, young, hip staff that greeted us with smiles & sincere greetings. They were more than happy to help when I had dropped my wedding ring in the room, it rolled under the A/C unit & into a hole in the floor where the services go to who knows where...... A staff member came up to try to see it in there, took the whole thing apart & just couldnt see it down there. We went out for the day- kinda bummed about it being gone, came back & was told the maintenance guy would go take a look- so I took him to see & pointed to the hole- he gave me a look like- "uh, dude- its gone"- I knew he was right- he stuck his fingers down the hole & came up & said "is this it??" WOW- I couldnt believe my eyes & couldnt thank him enough!!!! Great way to end the trip- I thanked the maintenance guy with tears in my eyes, thanked our little Buddha & we were on our way home. They could have easily been like- "sorry for your loss, please fill out this form, buh-bye" but they were sincerely concerned & its concern like this that makes or breaks a hotel. We will be back to Madrid & we will stay @ the Urban.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room for better natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    499
    134
    45
    16
See reviews for
200
966
91
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were originally booked at the Hotel Villa Real, a sister property, but the hotel had A/C problems so put us in the Urban. The staff could not have been more professional and helpful and as we checked in they even gave us a few rounds of complimentary champagne vouchers. The hotel itself is quite modern and slick. there's a great bar off the lobby as well as up on the rooftop. The rooftop also has a small pool, great for a refreshing dip after a day around town but not really a lot of room for sunbathing.

I'd absolutely recommend this hotel, the location is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Asasistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here in a large group in August.

The hotel is very modern and well designed. The rooms were a reasonable size for a major city but not large by any means. They were well equipped though and the bathroom had a great shower. All immaculately clean.

The hotel is in a great location just a very short walk from the main sights of Madrid and there are lots of lovely bars and restaurants very near. The hotel was also very helpful with confirming bookings and making recommendations on where to go.

The bars were a bit pricey as you'd expect for a hotel bar, but we really enjoyed our cocktails and the free glass of champagne everyone was given. We ate upstairs in the pool bar one lunchtime and the food was really delicious, but we did not try the main restaurant. The roof terrace is great but the pool itself was a little disappointing as it is smaller than it looks in pictures. Having said that, any pool at all in this kind of location is a bonus so we would still book this hotel again. There was not much space for sunbathing on the roof terrace either.

Overall, this is a great hotel for a city break where you will be out sightseeing and going places. If you want more lounging around/sunbathing space, you'd perhaps do better to book further out of the city centre.

We got a great room price on Expedia and would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edesia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

the hotel was modern and very interesting in design, with convenient location. the room we stayed in was very noisy, we asked to change it, it took some time to do so from the front desk, but later is was solved. some of the front desk staff were friendly some were not unfortunately.
the service was rather slow in general, it was inconvenient to get a new password from the front desk every 24 hr for WIFI access. but over all the location was very good and i would say it was a good stay over all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twomatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
224 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were checked in swiftly. The concierge was very helpful providing a map and information - loved your restaurant recommendation - lateral 5 min walk away. The lifts are prompt and the room, albeit small was nice, decent shower over bath with products. The roof top bar is nice.the cocktails are really good, I had sex on the beach and my husband piña colada. The service is very slow though and forget trying to get a sun lounger. We managed to get seating tho, there's a few comfy chairs and stools. The photo of the pool makes it look bigger than it is, it's very small and by 4 is mostly in the shade. There are only 4 loungers by the pool and 5 on the deck. The hotel is brilliantly located and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast was ok, but not worth 23 euros so we only had it once.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaychicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards


Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I really couldn't be happier having stayed at the Urban in Madrid. The hotel is charmingly decorated in a clean, modern fashion and located with perfect access to all the best parts of Madrid. The Prado is a five minute walk east, Puerta del Sol is a couple minutes west, and Salamanca is 15 minutes north. There easy access to many parks, museums, and store all around. The rooms themselves were wonderfully decorated with very good linens and bathroom towels. Indeed, the bathrooms were quite large and we found the room very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, but I don't know if it's worth the surcharge as opposed to just wandering to the lovely cafes nearby. However, what really sets this hotel apart from most is the staff. Each of them went WELL out of their way to be friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Every day, every night we just felt good walking into the hotel as the doorman, concierge, receptionists, bartenders, waiters, etc always greeted us with smiles and made us feel welcome...almost like being at home, or a regular. To that end, I would definitely urge you to speak with the concierge about restaurant suggestions as their recommendations were excellent.

Some quick pointers, a car is totally unnecessary as it's very easy to get around Madrid on foot or by cab or metro if necessary. Also, while the interior rooms are good, the exterior rooms are much more charming and bright; I'd request them if you can.

Anyway, a wonderful experience and a great time in Madrid. The Urban couldn't have made us happier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an exterior view as the interior rooms are a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at Hotel Urban in Madrid, Spain in August 2013. This has to be one of the coolest looking hotels we've ever stayed in. The decor is inspired by Egyptian artifacts and is done in a tasteful, modern way, not a tacky touristy way. From oversized high-back chairs in the lobby, to two-story hotel rooms with skylights, everything had a hint of wow factor. The bathroom is large and comfortable, the second level seating room was a great addition of space, the remote controlled skylight blinds were so useful and air conditioner was so easy to use. The rooftop pool and bar offer great views of the city and the Glass Bar has a really cool look to it. Perhaps the best part of the hotel though is the staff. Every front desk staffer was more than willing to answer questions and give us suggestions on activities. They gave us suggestions about buying tickets in advance to special museum exhibits and printed tickets & delivered them to our hotel room. They were so knowledgeable and helpful; it's been years since I've gotten that level of concierge treatment. We would absolutely return!

Our only issue we had was with odd noise coming from overhead on our last night. Turns out our room was underneath the rooftop pool bar which was open later that evening. We could hear tables and chairs being moved and general noise. Other than that, fantastic stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing