We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but noisy ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #18 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location but noisy ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has everything to be a grand luxury hotel, expect for thicker walls. The service is great. The staff is constantly smiling, they are all very pleasant especially the doormen! They were very attentive to our needs!

The location is very good! We walked almost everywhere. The rooms are a good size and the bed is comfortable.


The only negative about this hotel is how noisy it is! I couldn't believe I had to wake up at 8am every morning because I could hear everything that was going on outside my room!

If you don't mind waking up early then I would definitely recommend this hotel because everything else was great!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    499
    134
    45
    16
See reviews for
200
963
91
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Urban Hotel is listed as a 5 star but it felt more like a 4 star hotel. We booked a junior suite. I did not like this room because it had rounded walls from one of the hotel pillars and the windows overlook into the hotel atrium, meaning there is little natural light. We considered upgrading to a loft suite but this turned out to be a 2 floor suite with the bedroom upstairs and the bathroom downstairs. Who wants to deal with that when you wake up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom?

Room
Junior suite had a living room with a TV connected to the bedroom also with a TV and a bathroom of glass walls. It felt small because of the rounded walls. I disliked the windows looking into the hotel immensely. The bed was 2 beds pushed together (really? at a five star hotel?) and horrible small flat pillows. We had specified we wanted one regular bed and were assured as such, but then when we got there were told they did not have any available. The internet is free but it is really really slow and you cannot use any of your mail applications. You need to pay for an upgrade of $15 a day to be able to do anything beyond very basic internet search. You also needed to enter a new code every 3 days. Soundproofing wasn't great. Could hear our neighbors. Also at one point our fuse blew and all our lights went out.

Bathroom
The best thing about the room was the bathroom. There is a separate stall in the bathroom for the toilet, a shower, and a separate hydromassage bath. The shower had nice water pressure but it was the typical European style stall with glad sliding doors that may leak if you don't close it properly. Nice shampoo conditioner sets and bath salts. Towel rack was in the toilet stall (weird). Curtains cover the glass for the bathroom but you can still see into the bathroom pretty easily.

Housekeeping
Decent housekeeping, but they kept putting back the multiple pillows that we did not want on the bed.

Location
Decent location walking distance to many sites. However I felt that this area was rather by Puerta del Sol. The pedestrian walk area had various clubs trolling for customers and handing out fliers. This area had mostly mediocre tapas bar and we had to take a taxi to other areas with better tapas bars. We ended up staying at NH Palacio de Tepa and enjoyed that area more since it was closer to Market San Miguel. I'd also recommend staying around the La Latina area for a more authentic feel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelInEase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,


First of all, let me thank you, on behalf of all the hotel staff, for you kind observations and comments in relation to your stay in Urban hotel.

I assure you that I will check personally every point that you mention, as our guests opinion is very important for us and it helps us to improve every day.

I am at your disposal, by phone or email, if you would like to clarify any other detail about your stay.

We hope to have a new oportunity to see you again at the Urban l hotel, where I would love to attend you personally.

Best regards,

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

As a frequent business traveller, the importance of a good hotel can't be overstated.

Before you even step inside the hotel you are greeted by a doorman always willing to help, the reception staff flash a warm smile and some welcoming words before swiftly despatching you to your room.

Whilst I have stayed in many hotels, few feel as quirky but polished as the Urban. It has a great balance between the small touches associated with a boutique hotel and the facilities of a much larger venue. Normally by staying boutique you suffer in either room size, dining facilities or some other area of your visit which is not true at the Urban.

The rooms are well equipped, pretty spacious, comfortable beds and most importantly very clean. There are dining options including a very nice hotel restaurant which serves a nice continental breakfast with other options available on request.

There are two, very minor, areas for improvement which is the lack of English speaking TV channels (As a fan of trash TV when travelling) but I can live with out that, slightly more importantly is a relatively poor internet connection which can be vital depending on the amount of work you need to undertake in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and it just gets better. Beautiful boutique hotel, excellent location in the centre of Madrid with exceptional service. The team at the Urban are always ready to help with a smile

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Urban is a very good hotel very close to the center of Madrid. It has a very good breakfast, is clean and comfortable. The decoration is Egyptian and it is interesting. There was some noise this week because of a reform.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CAT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riva Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our 2nd attempt to stay at Urban. A year and a half ago we were relocated to a sister hotel due to some issue with our reserved room and after agreeing on good terms with one of the managers on compensation about this issue he insisted on contacting him directly for a next visit. I wasn't so hopeful he would even remember us after such a long time but much to our surprise he did and he offered us a great deal. The entire staff is exceptionally well trained to address to you and tend to your requests in a way that they always help you, greet you, welcome you without being invasive, treating you in such a delightful way that we are only used to find in South East Asia.
We stayed in a Suite harmoniously decorated in a contemporary style in dark colors and with exceptional pieces of antiques and little sculptures in the living area. The bed was big and was wonderfully comfortable. The glass walled bathroom was spacious and modern.
All around the hotel there are amazing ethnic pieces and wooden sculptures from South East Asia, Africa and the Pacific which contrast with the hotel's minimal and technological design, creating an elegant and unique atmosphere. It feels lush and special to walk in and around the hotel and to your bedroom amidst this environment. Certainly we'll be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josemendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the excellent comment and, above all, for choosing us for your stay in Madrid.

We are delighted to know that you felt welcomed and happy with the staff treatment and that hotel facilities covered your expectations.

It is a real pleasure working with our team and, this kind of comments intensify the idea of rely on such a professional, excellent and motivated group.

We hope to see you again in Madrid.

Kindly,

Antonio Martin

Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

First off the Urban Hotel Madrid is in a great location and offers some very attractive group rates. In addition for the price they provide some unexpected amenities: turn-down service, pool, roof lounge.

However, there are some flaws to be aware of. First, it is noisy. Not from outside noise but interior noise from the hallway and the guest rooms above and to the side of yours. You can hear people walking and toilets flushing at times.

Lastly, on the morning of my departure I woke up to find no water available. No sink, no shower, no toilet. I called the front desk and they remedied the situation within 15 minutes. But upon checkout there was no apology, compensation, or any explanation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear sir,


First of all, let me thank you, on behalf of all the hotel staff, for you kind observations and comments in relation to your stay in Urban hotel.

I assure you that I will check personally every point that you mention, as our guests opinion is very important for us and it helps us to improve every day.

I am at your disposal, by phone or email, if you would like to clarify any other detail about your stay.

We hope to have a new oportunity to see you again at the Urban hotel, where I would love to attend you personally.

Best regards,

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing