We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Urban
Nearby Hotels
US$418
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Agumar(Madrid)
US$192
US$172
Trip.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$101
Melia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$212
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Axor Feria Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Principe Pio Hotel(Madrid)
US$223
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Don Luis(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Internet
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,132)
Filter reviews
2,132 results
Traveller rating
1,376
535
149
52
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,376
535
149
52
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass barduplex roomfree glass of champagnegreat hotelrooftop poolcool hotelstar hotelturn down servicemodern designwalking distanceperfect locationthe ground floorreception staffplaza mayorpuerta del soltapasprado museum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 2,132 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Went for 2 nights with a girlfriend on amazing high speed train from Valencia. We did look at several rooms and they tried to sell us a suite but found our perfect twin bedded room within few minutes without paying more. It is well located - we did not know Madrid at all but the concierge - whoever was on duty 'specially Lydia or Javier - helped us maximise our time there. The bar was great - we had breakfast out. The rooms were cosy, modern and the turning down in the evening is always appreciated! I cannot wait to go back and stay at the Urban as have such a comfort zone there. The museums, trip to Toledo, tapas bars especially my favourite la Mucca - right round the corner from urban, red bus city tour to admire stunning architecture, flea market on Sunday....cherry on the cake ....getting to hear Antonio Serrano on his harmonica!!!!

Room Tip: Take a look at a few rooms before you settle in.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has everything to be a grand luxury hotel, expect for thicker walls. The service is great. The staff is constantly smiling, they are all very pleasant especially the doormen! They were very attentive to our needs!

The location is very good! We walked almost everywhere. The rooms are a good size and the bed is comfortable.


The only negative about this hotel is how noisy it is! I couldn't believe I had to wake up at 8am every morning because I could hear everything that was going on outside my room!

If you don't mind waking up early then I would definitely recommend this hotel because everything else was great!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ariel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Urban Hotel is listed as a 5 star but it felt more like a 4 star hotel. We booked a junior suite. I did not like this room because it had rounded walls from one of the hotel pillars and the windows overlook into the hotel atrium, meaning there is little natural light. We considered upgrading to a loft suite but this turned out to be a 2 floor suite with the bedroom upstairs and the bathroom downstairs. Who wants to deal with that when you wake up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom?

Room
Junior suite had a living room with a TV connected to the bedroom also with a TV and a bathroom of glass walls. It felt small because of the rounded walls. I disliked the windows looking into the hotel immensely. The bed was 2 beds pushed together (really? at a five star hotel?) and horrible small flat pillows. We had specified we wanted one regular bed and were assured as such, but then when we got there were told they did not have any available. The internet is free but it is really really slow and you cannot use any of your mail applications. You need to pay for an upgrade of $15 a day to be able to do anything beyond very basic internet search. You also needed to enter a new code every 3 days. Soundproofing wasn't great. Could hear our neighbors. Also at one point our fuse blew and all our lights went out.

Bathroom
The best thing about the room was the bathroom. There is a separate stall in the bathroom for the toilet, a shower, and a separate hydromassage bath. The shower had nice water pressure but it was the typical European style stall with glad sliding doors that may leak if you don't close it properly. Nice shampoo conditioner sets and bath salts. Towel rack was in the toilet stall (weird). Curtains cover the glass for the bathroom but you can still see into the bathroom pretty easily.

Housekeeping
Decent housekeeping, but they kept putting back the multiple pillows that we did not want on the bed.

Location
Decent location walking distance to many sites. However I felt that this area was rather by Puerta del Sol. The pedestrian walk area had various clubs trolling for customers and handing out fliers. This area had mostly mediocre tapas bar and we had to take a taxi to other areas with better tapas bars. We ended up staying at NH Palacio de Tepa and enjoyed that area more since it was closer to Market San Miguel. I'd also recommend staying around the La Latina area for a more authentic feel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelInEase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,


First of all, let me thank you, on behalf of all the hotel staff, for you kind observations and comments in relation to your stay in Urban hotel.

I assure you that I will check personally every point that you mention, as our guests opinion is very important for us and it helps us to improve every day.

I am at your disposal, by phone or email, if you would like to clarify any other detail about your stay.

We hope to have a new oportunity to see you again at the Urban l hotel, where I would love to attend you personally.

Best regards,

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As a frequent business traveller, the importance of a good hotel can't be overstated.

Before you even step inside the hotel you are greeted by a doorman always willing to help, the reception staff flash a warm smile and some welcoming words before swiftly despatching you to your room.

Whilst I have stayed in many hotels, few feel as quirky but polished as the Urban. It has a great balance between the small touches associated with a boutique hotel and the facilities of a much larger venue. Normally by staying boutique you suffer in either room size, dining facilities or some other area of your visit which is not true at the Urban.

The rooms are well equipped, pretty spacious, comfortable beds and most importantly very clean. There are dining options including a very nice hotel restaurant which serves a nice continental breakfast with other options available on request.

There are two, very minor, areas for improvement which is the lack of English speaking TV channels (As a fan of trash TV when travelling) but I can live with out that, slightly more importantly is a relatively poor internet connection which can be vital depending on the amount of work you need to undertake in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and it just gets better. Beautiful boutique hotel, excellent location in the centre of Madrid with exceptional service. The team at the Urban are always ready to help with a smile

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews