We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing after a good start”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #21 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“disappointing after a good start”
Reviewed 31 October 2008

complete mixed bag for our stay at the urban ,service friendly efficient and attentive from check in through the bar and restaurant ,chic and fun .The location is very good for the major tourist spots .Unfortunately sleeping in the hotel is another matter ,noisy ,small beds and rooms also a little on the small side as to the gym they would have been better of not bothering with it .Overall a disappointment once you left the ground floor .

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dilvangogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    514
    140
    48
    16
See reviews for
220
1,003
93
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We booked a standard double room. Room was a good enough size, quiet and as you can see from all the travellers photo’s looks fantastic with it’s contemporary decor and has been done to a very high standard. Good location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the area on the roof for chilling out after a hard days traipsing around being a tourist. (Pool tiny though) Agree with all other positive reviews on this hotel. It is pricy but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We spent two nights at the Hotel Urban in Madrid to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff throughout the hotel are warm and friendly, with a can do attitude. Nothing is too much trouble, there is always a member of staff on hand to answer your questions.

The reception staff all speak fluent English (although I always make an effort to try and communicate in the native language where possible) and the check in process efficient. There if free internet access with two computers and a printer adjacent to the reception area for guests to use.

The hotel's main restaurant "Europa Deco" is to the left of the main entrance (as you enter the front door of the hotel). Try the "Red Tuna Fish Taster" to start, if you like Sushi. Try the Beef for a main if you are a red meat lover. Delicious.

We booked a standard room which was perfectly adequate for the two of us. It was clean, modern, well equipped and featured a superb rainforest shower in the bathroom leaving you refreshed and ready to hit the town. On the negative side, don't expect to get too much sleep as the rooms are far from soundproof and the noise created by the flow of traffic and people passing the outside the hotel is more or less constant at all hours of the day and night. However, you don't go to Madrid for peace and quiet! If you want the peaceful life, Madrid is not for you.

Take a Madrid Vision sightseeing tour bus (Day Pass is 16 Euros per adult) from stop 12 for the Historical tour or stop 1 for the Modern Tour (see the interactive maps on the Madrid Vision website for details - www.madridvision.es/en/index.php). The Historical tour takes in the Royal Palace. On the modern tour you can get off at stop 7 and take a tour of Real Madrid Football Club's "Estadio Santiago Bernabeu" for 15 Euros per adult. The tour includes the museum and trophy room. You can sit in the seats in the President's Box then walk down the steps and sit on the heated leathers seats on the player's bench pitchside before going down the tunnel into the dressing room (only the visitor's/away team dressing room is open to the public at present).

If it's a particularly hot and sunny day, visit the boating lake at the Parc De Retiro and hire a rowing boat for 4 Euros and 40 cents per boat (not per person). Each boat can sit up to 4 adults. Great value.

For tapas and flamenco in the evening visit Casa Patas (www.casapatas.com). Advanced booking is recommended, however we just turned up at 11pm, ate some Tapas and booked our flamenco tickets (30 Euros per adult - but well worth it) which were delivered to our table. The flamenco show began at midnight (in the auditorium/back room at the rear of the restaurant) and lasted approximately two hours including a short interval. It was fantastic! You ill not be disappointed. Casa Patas a friendly, welcoming establishment and you can order drinks to your table at any time during the show.

There is something for everyone to enjoy in Madrid and we will definitely be returning to this wonderful city.

  • Liked — Efficient Staff, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Noise of traffic and pedestrians passing outside the hotel, rooms need soundproofing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VanDwaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Had a great long weekend at Urban Hotel. Rooftop bar and glass bar are both very cool, really had to motivate to leave the hotel :) Also loved the rooftop pool! And very helpful friendly staff.

  • Liked — pool, bars, location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HeartTravelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

I stayed with my husband and two young kids (ages 4 and 7) at Hotel Urban in Madrid in early July. While it is not what I would typically call a "family hotel," they were incredibly accommodating, especially after Hotels.com messed up and booked 4 of us into 1 room. (Hotel Urban only allows 3 people to a room unless the 4th is in a crib.) The front desk staff was phenomenal and first moved us from the duplex room that we had booked (very cool concept), into a beautiful junior suite, and then borrowed a roll-away bed from another hotel to accommodate the 4th person in our group. So over the course of the 4-5 days we stayed at the hotel, we got a good view of a few different room types and service, and thought it was all outstanding.

I love modern design, so I was very interested in this hotel, but the real reason I chose it was because it is one of only 3 hotels in central Madrid (near the Puerta del Sol, Museo del Prado, etc.) that has a pool. We were warned repeatedly about how hot Madrid would be in July (and had experienced intense heat in Seville and Grenada), so with the kids in tow I thought the pool was important. We ended up having great temperate weather while we were there -- it was in the mid 70s to 80 during our stay, so we didn't need the pool that much, which was good because it is very tiny! (Think two king size beds stacked end to end.) The hotel also attracts a very young male alternative lifestyle crowd, which was totally fine, but we got a more up-close look at that culture by the small pool.

Now to the design -- I love modern but admittedly have been getting sick of the Ian Schrager "dark hotel" model. As a woman who travels alone for work a lot, I actually hated walking up to my room after 10pm at night in some of his hotels b/c I don't feel safe, as hip as they are. Hotel Urban gets around the muted light by putting a center glass-enclosed atrium with natural light in the middle of the hotel. Throughout the hotel there is actual art work ranging from Pacific Islander large-scale wood carvings, to a small Egyptian art museum in the basement. The rooms themselves are efficiently designed. We were first in a duplex standard hotel room -- a first for me. It has a bath, walk in closet and queen size bed with TV on entry level, and then a small staircase to a loft living room with TV and bar area upstairs. It was quite chic and gave a feeling of spaciousness, although the room was a bit hot (b/c the ceiling over the bed was slanted with skylights and automated shades.) The junior suite was a little more logical in design -- and L shaped space with the living area by the entryway, a huge glass enclosed bath suite (with automated privacy shades), and the bed area on the other side of the L. The only issue was that there is no window to the outside (the windows also looked into the atrium).

Overall, we were very impressed with the design, definitely with the service after the web-partner messed up our reservation, the value, and the great central location.

  • Liked — Great service, beautiful design, central location
  • Disliked — pool is small
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I believe this is one of the best Hotels somebody should expect of finding on his way , while traveling. The staff is like a family, helpful and interested to offer their best for the customer. Never had such a service before. Even the porters care to make your day. The Hotel is centrally located , very well designed and with a great atmosphere. Avoid the 5th floor: too loud due to a lounge on the 6th floor.

  • Liked — Great Staff and fantastic design
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

The staff is very efficient and professional. I asked for an ironing board at Check In, it was in my room 5 minutes after I walked in. I ordered RS lunch which was delivered in less than 15 minutes. The hotel is on a main road but the double glazing is so good that the rooms are very quiet. The building and the decor of the public areas is very original.

On the down side, the fine dining restaurant (Cielo) is pricey (€200 set menu excluding drinks).
Rooms are a on the small side.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JCLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
1,034 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
986 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing