We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to madrid”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #23 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location was great near plaza mayor, the quality and condition of the hotel was superb and the staff were very helpful. hotel interior very unique.
Really enjoyable and will definitely be staying at the hotel again as very good for exploring Madrid and experiencing the city

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verbian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for writing these kind comments about us.
We are very glad about knowing that you loved our facilities, location, and the service provided by our personal.
We hope welcoming you in Madrid again.

Best regards

Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,971)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Urban
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had to book somewhere last minute for work in Madrid and needed to keep on an appropriate work budget. This ticked all the boxes! Clean, swanky, pool, bar, great rooms, exceptional service ... The list goes on. Will actively stay there again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ozhassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards
Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked a Superior room at the Urban Hotel after reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor.

The hotel is located near the Congreso de los Diputados (Plaza de las Cortes) and is within walking distance of all the attractions in the city centre. A metrostop (Sevilla) is a block away and Plaza Santa Anna is a 3 minute walk.

The hotel architecture is a mix of modern art where light and darkness play a game of catch, really unique. Always a welcome at the entrance, day and night. Adds to the luxury, but also gives a feeling of security.
Take a drink at the ground floor bar, which at night is a gathering for high end Madrileos, great atmosphere!

Check-in was smooth with friendly staff, a voucher for a glass of champagne was our welcome-gift.

The room (333) was located to the front (main road). Hesitant at first, the location had no consequence on our sleep whatsoever. The room was perfectly isolated and quite big for a standard room as well as the bathroom which was well equipped.
Only little setback, for tall people, the bed is 2m long. For myself (1,94m) it was slightly too short, but the bed itself is so comfortable, so I didn't mind.

Wifi is free of charge, you get a code for 3 days (can be used for up to 5 devices), just ask for a new code after 3 days.

The rooftop (Cielo) bar is not only an eye-catcher for its architecture, it's a spot for relaxing. With the lounge music, you get indulged into a relaxing atmosphere far away for the busy city.
We enjoyed a lot the great (a bit expensive) cocktails (complimentary popcorn and chips though) and the refreshing pool (quite small, but perfect to just cool down and relax). We had lunch one day, and the club sandwich is delicious.. Very friendly staff as well!

We did not include breakfast in our booking, so I can't comment on that.

Urban Hotel (5* GL) is definitely worth the stay, it's a top rated hotel if you're looking for an unique experience in the middle of Madrid.
Overall it's a perfect city getaway.

Room Tip: We were situated on 3rd floor facing Carrera de San Jeromino. It's a busy street but inside the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedegrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do really appreciate.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Urban hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards
Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

the staff are great
the location is great, really central ....close to museums and puerto del sol and near teatro real
breakfast is really great
bathroom well appointed and good shower

OK now to the bits we didnt like

we stayed in a duplex suite and found the room small ............ the upstairs seated part of the room is sparse
the hotel likes to burn incense in the common parts which is not to our liking
bed OK pillows not to our liking
plunge pool on the roof is just a plunge pool
roof terrace is limited but it does the job

hmm ..........would we return ...... for a weekend ?..............yes ............... but 2 days is the limit

Room Tip: we stayed on the 5th floor ..............it was quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lorrainesfavourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin Ortega
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We recently stayed at Urban Hotel for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon. We chose Urban after reading reviews and because we wanted to stay somewhere special for our last nights in Spain. Upon arrival, the staff were very friendly, checked us in early, and 'upgraded' us to a duplex suite for free. We were instantly impressed. However, we shortly learnt that there were renovations taking place in the suite next door and for the remainder of our stay, we woke to a power drill each morning and for the rest of the day. We felt duped by the upgrade. On top of this, housekeeping had an annoying habit of not knocking and just walking into our suite around 8:30-9:00am or deciding around 5:30-6:00pm it was time to turn down our bed. We received a lovely bottle of cava and card for our honeymoon.

There are a lack of hotels in Madrid with swimming pools and in the heatwave it was a must. However, Urban rooftop pool is more like a tiny children's wading pool in which people have to take turns in and there are only 4 lounges by the actual pool. The rest, which was about 4 or 5 were along the side terrace. The bar was bigger than the bath! Probably the most poorly designed hotel pool/ area we have ever seen which is disappointing because the space itself has so much potential.

The breakfast 'buffet' was more like a semi buffet. My husband who is crazy about his buffets was underwhelmed by the small spread of cold meats and cheeses and pastries. And coffee and tea were not very forthcoming. We would not recommend the breakfast for €50 for two people.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe T, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Alice,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback in Tripadvisor.

First of all i want to explain that we didn't upgrade you because there was something going on the room next to you, we upgrade guests who are on honeymoon if we got rooms available. That is why you had a duplex suite.

Regarding the other issues you make reference on your feedback i have to say we are use to have very good reviews but i understand the pool is not big enough for you because i have been in Australia and you always compare. But i can assure we got one of the best rooftop in Madrid and there are not too many hotels with a pool like us.

Finally i will extend your feedback to our housekeeping department because what you say is unacceptable and i am going to check it as soon as possible in order to improve our future guest experience.

Thank you very much and best regards,

Felipe Turell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was one of the best places we stayed and service was just outstandning.
Hotel Urban is located in the centre of Madrid, close to Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park and all the museums you must visit : Thyssen Bornemisza, Museo del Prado, Reina Sofia.
It's close to Paseo Castellana and Calle Serrano/Velazquez where you will find all the chis restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Calle San Jeronimo are sunny.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Justi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for writing these positives comments about us.
We are pleased to know that our hotel and location reached your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards

Antonio martin

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed for a week in July. This hotel is perfectly located near many of the major museums and galleries that we wanted to visit. Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofia are all within a few minutes walk. We didn't use the metro or take a taxi until our 6th day.

In keeping with the property, the staff are very pleasant, helpful and very well presented. David on the front desk, who gave us two outstanding restaurant referrals, deserves commendation.

We stayed in a standard single level room. They are small, but well appointed with high end finishes and beautiful marble bathrooms, suitable for a gay couple travelling together. Despite being a little cramped we still managed to be comfortable with two large and two small suitcases. The hotel room was equipped with a night light in the bathroom but was lacking a clock, this led to one missed breakfast, as the black-out blinds excelled at their role.

The roof terrace had a great view of the surrounding buildings. The pool was a little cold to swim and the gym facilities basic. However, each was clean and of a high standard, a perfect place to enjoy your complimentary glass of French champagne.

The breakfast buffet had a great selection of breads, cold cuts and cooked to order eggs. The coffee was decent also. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants for any other meals, as there is a wonderful selection in the neighbourhood.

Definitely worth the spend for the position and friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: 3rd floor at end of corridor looking out to small calle was quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Drsmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Satisfying guests’ expectations is the most important task for us, and we are very glad to know that once more, we got it and you loved our facilities, location, and the service provided by our personal.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 438 in Madrid
1,774 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 438 in Madrid
1,516 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £153 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing