We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged me and have ignored my communications since”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #17 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overcharged me and have ignored my communications since”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

At check in they charged my card 3 times instead of once. Once I worked this out they gave me refunds on the other 2 times but because of international bank charges I am still out of pocket. They have since ignored all attempts I have made to contact them. If that isn't poor service I don't know what is!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmelieDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Amelie,

First of all, thank you for sending us this information about your stay at Urban Hotel.

We have initiated an inquiry to find out what has happened, however I could advance you that the Hotel has made the usual protocol in a matter of deposits and charges to your credit card and we understand that in the event of delay, it will be a bank problem, so I suggest that you contact the bank directly.

Likewise I will stay at your entire disposal if you want to contact me on the hotel telephone number.

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    506
    135
    47
    16
See reviews for
207
981
93
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Urban for a short city trip and found it to be the perfect hotel for us.
It is located very centrally and it was easy to come back once in a while to the hotel to drop off something or just to relax a little.
The design of the hotel is very stylish. Especially the glass bar.
The atrium rooms are extremely quiet and therefore we slept like in heaven.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliee1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for these kind comments posted in this website about us.
We are pleased to know that you loved our hotel and the service provided by our personal. We always do our best to provide our guests a great stay with us.
We hope welcoming you in Madrid again.

Kindest regards

Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best. Great staff, great service, great location. It would be hard to stay anywhere else. It's cool and sophisticated but friendly. The terrace in the evening with champagne is a must and take your camera for the best night shots in Madrid.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beekay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for writing these kind comments about us.
We are very glad about knowing that you loved our facilities, location, and the service provided by our personal.
We hope welcoming you in Madrid again.

Best regards
Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

There's a lot of real positives about the hotel. The property is physically beautiful and very modern. There are art artifacts in the rooms and the hotel has a very modern vibe with glass elevators and artwork. The rooms are quite large with large beds. Get a room with a shower; mine was huge. There's a rooftop bar with small pool and nice downstairs bar. The amenities were good, as was the wifi. The location is great - no more than 5 minutes walk to the Prado and Plaza del Sol. The problems were that the bed was not all that comfortable and, while the rooms were clean, there were some inconsistencies with housekeeping (running out of toilet paper because there's no spare role and no one checked on it). the rooms got quite noisy - I think all the bare wood carries sound. I heard way too much of a screaming baby from next door and noise in the hall. Most of the staff wasn't especially friendly or welcoming. The hotel has this super-cool vibe, that translates into a kind of overall coldness. But the location and surroundings make it a good choice for a place to stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memphis_piranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdiretor at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for writing these kind comments about us.
We are very glad about knowing that you loved our facilities, location, and the service provided by our personal.
We hope welcoming you in Madrid again.

Best regards
Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have zero complaints about the location, the facility, the service, the rooftop pool and bar. What a fantastic boutique hotel. The best sleep I had on a three week trip through several countries. I would stay in this hotel again and again. We were occupying two rooms/suites. We took advantage of the free candies when you walk in, who wouldn't they are ridiculous. The coffee in the downstairs bar was the best I had in Spain. The pool is small but it is a dipping pool and it is a lazy afternoon sorta place to hang. The bar can come alive with parties at night but even on the floor below there were no real sound issues. We were traveling with my daughter, age five and she enjoyed the hotel though it is not built for kids, it accomodates them and does not make you feel poorly for having them. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyAbundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subntotal at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for writing these kind comments about us.
We are very glad about knowing that you loved our facilities, location, and the service provided by our personal.
We hope welcoming you in Madrid again.

Best regards
Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is one of the best inner city hotels that I know! It is well located for tourism and business; the rooms are very comfortable and spacious; excellent bathrooms with showers that work and indulge!
The common areas are the highlight however. The bar / pool on the roof are wonderful. The prices are not outrageous and the location offers great views of the city roofline.
The breakfast is worth paying for. They offer you typically a discounted rate when you check in - take them up on this!

Room Tip: I have stayed on the first floor and the fourth floor. Both are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotinLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subtotal at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for these kind comments posted in this website about us.
We are pleased to know that you loved our hotel, our breakfast and the service provided by our personal. We always do our best to provide our guests a great stay with us.
We hope welcoming you in Madrid again.

Kindest regards

Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batam Center, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location was great near plaza mayor, the quality and condition of the hotel was superb and the staff were very helpful. hotel interior very unique.
Really enjoyable and will definitely be staying at the hotel again as very good for exploring Madrid and experiencing the city

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verbian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for writing these kind comments about us.
We are very glad about knowing that you loved our facilities, location, and the service provided by our personal.
We hope welcoming you in Madrid again.

Best regards

Antonio Martín
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 436 in Madrid
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
985 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
932 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#13 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing