We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great location”
Review of Hotel Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Urban
Ranked #20 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great stay in a great location”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Had a wonderful stay here with my family in August.

Positives:
Centrally located and within walking distance to all major attractions
Quiet rooms even though they face a main street
Connecting rooms which is a big plus for families
Lots of extras included -- free business center in lobby, champagne at the rooftop bar, wine in room and fresh coffee and tea delivered to your room in the morning
Great rooftop bar/pool area to cool off during the day, albeit small

Negatives:
Rooms are on the small side, even the suites
Faint smell of smoke in the room
Signature restaurant is closed in August
Tiny gym
Hard bed and uncomfortable pillows

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Dear Madan.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,228
    516
    140
    48
    16
See reviews for
224
1,006
93
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and I feel quite reluctant to write this review as I have no wish to discuss it with the manager. However I did feel other guests should know that if they book a duplex suite it will be on the 'road' side and they will not get any sleep from the constant wail of police cars all night and motorbikes roaring by. I have absolutely no idea why the police cars need to put their sirens on in the middle of the night when there is virtually no traffic apart from a desire to wake the living dead. The hotel manager should be writing a formal letter to the relevant authorities to have this matter dealt with. It is just not necessary to have this level of noise paid for by the overstretched, over taxed Spanish population to have these buffoons racing around playing cops and robbers. We asked about the levels of crime because of the persistent wailings and aparently Madrid has very low levels of crime in the city so maybe they are just practising every night with the dim hope they can do it for real one day.

The hotel is very stylish, and very suitable for city breaks and shopping trips. However I would really recommend you book and confirm a room away from the road otherwise you will need horse tranquilisers for a night's sleep.

The pool is very small with just a few cramped sunbeds and chairs - with lots of people posing around the pool naval gazing. It is without a doubt a highlight though, as nowhere else in Madrid has one and after a hot day a splash in the pool is very welcome. The staff were very good in the pool bar and very helpful too.

I thought the staff were actually quite warm and welcoming in general. We did feel that they were interested in our experience to some extent.

I did find the room service breakfast waitress let the service down (hence the drop of a star) as she would stalk into our suite in the morning without a smile or a greeting and would literally dump our tray on the table, and would walk out again. We are used to five star hotels and service and expected a linen table cloth to be laid out and the breakfast to be served properly and with good manners as a bare minimum. In better hotels this would include papers and a pleasant experience.

Having said this, I can not leave this note without referencing that the hotel room had style and was very spacious and clean. Clearly lots of thought has been given to the layout and the small details. The hotel is very seductive almost in its atmosphere and you will enjoy the thoughtful design. It is very city slick and if you feel like booking a young, upbeat hotel in an excellent location then dont let this review stop you. Book away from the road and you will have a great time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Hotel Urban is a stylish, comtemporary hotel in the heart of old Madrid. Design is everything here, from public areas to guest rooms nothing has been left to chance. The hotel gives a fantastic impression of space with glass sided elevators which ascend and descend in the open centre of the building. If this hotel hasn't won some deign award or other then I would be very surprised.
Check in was quick and efficient. Staff spoke English and were most welcoming. Maps/guides were provided without having to ask. The hotel is in a perfect location for visiting the tourist highlights of Madrid. we were able to walk to most places and only had to use the Metro to visit Real Madrids ground and the El Rastro street market.
For part of our stay one of the two elevators was out of action. When brought back into service the doors appeared a little creaky at times which could alarm some visitors.
Throughout the hotel are sculptures and artefacts which add to the sense of luxury. Rooms are very clean and well appointed. we had both a standrad double and a Junior Suite and I would certainly recommend the later for its larger size which is particularly noticeable in the bathroom which had a bath and separate shower. Housekeeping was first class and staff were very pleasant, friendly and attentive to detail. If you were looking for improvements an ipod dock would not be unreasonable in a hotel of this standard. We also missed tea and coffee making facilities whichare available in so many hotels.
The rooftop pool is small but this is not surprising considering its location. There are plenty of sunloungers both around the pool and on the adjoining terrace. The terrace bar is well stocked and the service is excellent however it is very expensive.
On balance an excellent hotel which we would certainly revisit the next time we are in Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harryb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed at the Urban Hotel during the quiet month of August for four nights and found it a haven away from the heat and hustle of Madrid. We were greated warmly by the receptionist who made checking in as smooth as possible. As we arrived late we had tapas and drinks in their very chic and glassed bar in the lobby which served fresh mojitos and a good mix of tapas.
The rooms are very modern and sleek though slightly on the small side. We asked for rooms next door to each other which was organised. The lift ride up the room is a journey in itself- you can view the interior of the hotel which is again all glass, well lit and beautifully decorated. Each room has an Egyptian or Indian work of art which added to the design of the room.
The concierge were very helpful and booked a few japanese and local restaurants for us- they did struggle with their English at times but for the most part they were very helpful. We also asked for a late check out which was organised for one of the rooms and having travelled to all corners of the world this is usually a request that hotels tend to resist.
The hotel is very peaceful and the small pool on the rooftop is a slice of heaven. It does get very busy and there's normally not enough space for all the guests but there is an uppper terrace so you can still grab some sun. There's also a lovely bar on the rooftop which turns into one of the hotspots in Madrid at night. The emphasis here is on ambience and service rather than on food but it's still a wonderful place to dine.
I would recommend this hotel if you're after something contemporary without the feel of it being a generic chain hotel (the westin, intercontinental etc) and I cannnot wait to return to the hotel in October for another short break!
The only criticism I have is the second lift which remained broken for my entire stay and the hotel should really offer free Wi-Fi to all it's guests!! Other than that- wonderful and made our stay in Madrid the best so far.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Dear Madam.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralville, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Nice looking hotel. We stayed in a duplex room which had a great layout. Very centrally located - easy walk to museums, Sol, Palazio Real, Retiro, metro stations. Small rooftop pool with bar and restaurant. Reasonable room rates. Looking good - yes? BUT - some problems.

1. The room was way too hot. AC was pathetic. Took 8 hours to get the room to 78 degrees.

2. The room had an energy control slot that required a room key card. So the AC would turn off and the room get hot when we went out. We left a card in it and the cleaning staff removed it every single day!!!! I'm all for green initiatives, but if you are a 5 star hotel you really should at least have robust AC that can cool a room down if you are going to use such a system. Or a fan. And honestly why bother when the WHOLE hotel uses 100-200 watt halogen bulbs throughout? Hello.....ever heard of fluorescent lights? The bedside lights were little heaters in their own right.

3. The restaurant downstairs was closed for August. I know that family owned places do this in Spain, but I expected (a lot) better from a 5 star hotel. The restaurant on the roof was open but was restricted to a tasting menu that cost 90 euros (and was vastly inferior to the 70 euro tasting menus from the michelin starred Comerç 24 and Cinc Sentis restaurants in Barcelona).

4. The front desk kindly arranged a taxi on our departure day, but somehow forgot my single biggest request (that it take a credit cards(). It is not fun to run around an unknown airport trying to find a ATM at 5 am while watching the checkin line get longer and longer.

I should give it 1 star but the location, duplex room and rate offsets some of these concerns.

Note to the hotel - please do NOT post a generic bland reply to this review. I would like specifics.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Dear Sir.

Thank you very much for your comments,
In order to give you a full repport, please be so kind to give us
your name,so we can open a investigation for this matter.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We spent 3 nights in this hotel.
The building is very modern and so the rooms, bars and restaurants.
The staff is friendly and the location couldn't be better.
The only bad thing we found was the small garbage can in the bathroom, which could't fit any size of trash or whatever.
Also, if they wanted to add anything to improve their rooms, that would be a music player.
We reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Dear Madam.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I don't want to write a bad review on Urban hotel because it wasn't a bad hotel, but in my opinion it wasn't a 5 start hotel.

The staff was nice, the hotel was nice. The pool is super small, but it's location was really cool. We did not eat at the hotel so I can not review the food. At night the Sky Bar was packed and we had a great bottle of wine.

The Location of this hotel was perfect!! Very central, close to metro (Sevilla) and close to lots of bars and food.

The bad this about the hotel was the AC. The room was HOT!! The AC worked, but it did not cool the room. The AC vent was located above the bathroom door which faced the window. We complained to the front desk, but not sure if they did anything about it. They said someone took a look at the AC and it was working fine. The lighting in the room did not help either. The room had small spotlighting which only made the room hotter.

It wasn't a bad hotel, but I don't think I would stay there again, we noticed plenty of 5 star hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Urban, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Sir.

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay.

The opinion of our clients is extremely important to us, as it makes us
Improve our services continually.

I am really sorry that you had an AC problem in your room, and I would like to inform you that we have opened an inquiry for this matter, but I understand that this was a specific failure for your room on that date.

I thank you once more for your collaboration. I stay at your disposal.

I would like to have the opportunity to meet you in a future visit. I will
Personally make sure it is pleasant for you.

Yours sincerely,

Felix García Hernán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
987 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
1,035 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 436 in Madrid
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban

Property: Hotel Urban
Address: Carrera de San Jeronimo, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Urban 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand luxury five-star hotel located in the very heart of Madrid, in the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation and just a few minutes away from Paseo del Prado, Puerta del Sol and El Retiro park.Located in a newly constructed building in the heart of the financial, political, commercial and cultural centre of Madrid, the Hotel Urban won't fail to catch your interest.With a marked Art-Deco style and opting for avant-garde architecture, the Hotel Urban is a boutique hotel from the 21st century, urban, design and ideal for exacting lovers of luxury who shy from conventionality. A charming, modern design hotel that has already become a point of reference. It stands out not only in the hotel panorama but also among Madrid's dining establishments and nighttime entertainment venues thanks to Europa Decó and the Glass Bar.Services102 guest rooms: 78 superior rooms, 10 junior suite duplex, 5 junior suites, 8 suites, and 1 duplex loft suiteEuropa Decó gastronomic restaurantGlass Bar oyster barLa Terraza del Urban cocktail barEl Cielo del UrbanBreakfast buffetBreakfast until 1.00 pm24-hour room service and mini-barWi-Fi in all areasBusiness centreFunction rooms and spaces for events: Nagha room, Khemer room, Nefer room, Egyptian Museum, lobby/atrium, terrace-pool and suite 132Outdoor swimming pool and solariumGymEgyptian MuseumCollection of ancient artParkingLaundry and ironing serviceDisabled accessSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Urban Hotel
Hotel Urban Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing