We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great position but very tired decoration !”
Review of Hostal Laris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Laris
Ranked #406 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great position but very tired decoration !”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

the reception was rather dull but the staff were very pleasant. when i go to my room it is VERY tired and TV didnt work the stool in the bathroom had died and gone to heaven i think ! it wasnt dirty but not great ! The location is wonderful right next to the grand vie and some good shops! The dining area is in the almost basement so a bit dark . The Breakfast was unmemorable sadly- Its three star but only just !!!! not my best hotel experience !!!

Room Tip: i only saw one !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hostal Laris, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Lynda W,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for having shared your comments about your stay al the Hostel Laris at TripAdvisor site.

We would like to explain you that the Laris is a HOSTEL not a Hotel So, this is the reason why you could be a little confused about the rating and also regarding your expectations.

We have taken into account your suggestions related to decoration and also about the inconvenience caused with TV. We have transmitted it to the maintenance department in order to solve it.

On the other hand, we are glad to hear that the location of the Hostel was great for you.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and be able to show you our improvements.

Regards,

Almudena Salas
Sales Manager
Dormicum Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    56
    22
    42
See reviews for
19
51
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed four nights at the Laris over Christmas. Very professional and friendly staff, nice, large room, and everything was clean and functional. The location was perfect for me (it's two minutes from Gran Via metro station, right between the hip cafes of Malasana and the crowds of the large avenues). I had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XavierB499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_Commerce_11, Director Comercial at Hostal Laris, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hell Xavier,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hostel through TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you had a good stay and the location of the Laris was great. All of them help us to keep improving the service and work hard for our guests.

We hope to see you soon in a near future.

Thanks a lot.

Almudena Salas
Sales Manager
Dormicum Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Good breakfast, clean rooms and excellent location near Gran Via metro - many eateries and coffee shops near - the hostal is in a downtown city sidestreet but the general location makes up for this - supermarket near the hostal - carpets are clean but old and need to be replaced. The breakfast is very good compared to other hostals.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dekoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I've stayed in many hotels across the world but this was by far the worst that I have experienced. Didn't have our booking so put us in the last remaining rooms, no air conditioning, bed bugs!, mattress which sunk in the middle, no toiletries. I ended up staying in my friends room as we had nowhere else to stay on a busy weekend - no refund. Receptionists are rude - always say "need to speak to our leader!" LOL! Jobs worths - feel really sorry for them as they obviously don't want to work in customer service. Another excuse is "come back in 3 hours". It's a joke. Owner would be better of throwing a load of bunk beds in every room and charge people £10 a night or have as a brothel. Could not even borrow a bottle opener - had to buy from the corner shop.
Avoid, avoid, avoid!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 46col_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

great location 1 block to bus and metro routes. elevator and private bath for hostal rates
staff not 100% english speaking, but enough to get points across and very helpful

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We were 1 minute away from the Gran Via and 2 minutes from the metro station. A lot of shops and restaurants around, especially cafe la Luz was a favorite! The rooms are quite noisy though...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhollandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I travelled as Single to Madrid mainly for party and Nightlife.
I always book a double room for two person in order to avoid discussion in case I take someone to my room and I expect from a hotel privacy.
In this hotel, it was not possible. They would start a process of registration and ask my gust an ID.
Second: Internet not only worked poorly, but was censored and blocked not only for adult content websites, but also for chatting/dating websites. I felt like I was in the former Soviet Union or the Poeples Republic of China.
Besides these very personal dislikes, the hotel is not very clean, old, not very good maintained and for the price you can get much better places in Madrid. From the booked 4 nights, I left to another hotel after one and still wait for the refund of the other three nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francesco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#120 of 435 in Madrid
3,477 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#143 of 435 in Madrid
599 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Pereda Hs
Hostal Pereda Hs
#322 of 435 in Madrid
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#174 of 435 in Madrid
1,067 reviews
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#69 of 435 in Madrid
745 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#87 of 435 in Madrid
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Laris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Laris

Property: Hostal Laris
Address: Calle Barco 3, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #406 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Laris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Laris Madrid
Hostal Laris Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing