We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale neighborhood and nice bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Hotel Velazquez
Ranked #302 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Upscale neighborhood and nice bar”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is a bit dated, but not without charm. My room was fairly standard, rather small, no desk to work at, hard mattresses, but a decent bathroom. Internet is unreliable. The staff both friendly and helpful, if in broken English. Breakfast was really good and the bar is nice. The hotel is located in an upscale part of central Madrid (Salamanca), within walking distance to the Retiro. A great number of expensive shops in the area, and some good restaurants, but you will want to move to other parts of town for the fun and the nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    204
    139
    77
    51
See reviews for
134
151
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights with my wife on a weekend getaway. When we arrived, the hotel staff were very short with us and rude. We then went up to our room and noticed that we were given a much smaller room than the executive suite we had booked. We brought it to their attention and they acted annoyed and were hesitant to believe me until i showed them my booking. They finally gave us our new room but it was smaller than advertised and wasn't the same room we saw advertised online at the site we booked the room. I was quite upset because we don't really have the money to book executive suites very often but this time i wanted it to be special.

Normally my wife brings her hairdryer with us but since the room advertised a hairdryer, we saved the extra room. Of course it was broken in our room. We mentioned it immediately and 3 other times during our stay. After our 2 night stay, it still had not been fixed.

I would definitely not recommend staying at this place. The only thing i liked was the location was in a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grepthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

San Diego
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Have stayed here for a month on business. Most of the "complaint" observations are right on the money...no irons in the room and nearly impossible to get one from housekeeping ..many of the staff are friendly but most look pretty annoyed when you ask for help. The Internet is like a miracle in that you never can rely on it actually work and when it does, it's Divine intervention!

If you like charming and surly then this is your place and the location is reasonable. Lighting in the room is fine for interrogations (very bright ceiling spot lights) but crap if you want to read a book using a bedside light. Oh well, fire up the kindle or the iPad.

The people that do breakfast are mostly nice and they have decided, after three weeks of seeing me every morning that I'm ok to smile at. The rooms are modern for the 1960s but that was the last time the rooms ever saw a makeover.

Somebody mentioned the VIPs down the street and that's a good place for a late night meal and some wifi with your food. The staff there as well as in the attached mini market are always very kind and act like they are happy to see you. Great place to find those oversized coffee table art books you always wanted for less money.

Over on Serano (two block walk iris the Pizza Emporio (next to a VIPs and Starbucks ). They make a killer thin crust pizza. Also is a cortex ingles that has a supermercado (grocery store) in the basement ...great for picking up some food for the room.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can...the interior rooms are like being in a coffin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fceexp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Had scheduled at Maria Elena Palace Hotel, but upon arrival learned they were remodeling and had arranged for us to stay at the Gran Hotel Velazquez. The hotel was a very nice older hotel with large rooms, great breakfasts and cordial staff at the front desk. Our stay was very pleasant in an upscale neighborhood, but fairly close to the Metro system. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The garden rooms at the back of the hotel are superb.... the main hotel is a bit dated. Book online and skip the breakfast option and you have a good $100 US hotel in a fantastic location. Wifi is free and strong. Nice bar for watching football.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is totally superb but the wi-fi connection is too costly, even an hour cost is 6 euro and too much formalities just to get an bording card print, you have to pay via credit card etc.
Location is not sa far to Prado Museum, Retiro Park and other specific palaces, Historical building, large rooms, perfect bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akseliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

This classic hotel Has one the best locations in Madrid, in the upscale Salamanca neighborhood with the Retiro Park a few blocks away, Serrano street just 2 blocks away and many excellent places to eat just around the corner. The hotel is vey old fashioned but the rooms were very clean, spacious, the bathroom is also confortable and new. Internet is very expensive so you have to go down to the lobby to use it for free. Overall its an excellent option for the price you pay. Totally recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Charles_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#177 of 436 in Madrid
495 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#130 of 436 in Madrid
727 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace President Castellana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Vincci Soma
Vincci Soma
#171 of 436 in Madrid
972 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Barrio de Salamanca
Hostal Residencia Don Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Velazquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Velazquez

Property: Gran Hotel Velazquez
Address: Calle Velazquez 62 | Barrio Salamanca, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Velazquez 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Velazquez is a 4 star classic-design Hotel ,located in exclusive Salamanca District in the exclusive heart of the famous "Milla de Oro" known as a unique shoopping area. It offers 142 spacious and full-equipped rooms, many of them Junior Suites.Facilities: Bussines Center, Gin Club, Hairdressing and RestaurantFree Wi-Fi is available in all areas.Well connected to city center and airport by public transportOur Motto: Innovation and Distinction Our Aim : The satisfaction of our clientele Our Reward: The loyalty of our customers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Velazquez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing