We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty yet a little overpriced”

Taberna de La Daniela Medinaceli
Ranked #1,970 of 10,909 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Huertas
Description: "With its traditional zinc-top bar and wall tiles, this much-loved Castizo taberna is among the very best Madrileño eating spots for enjoying cocido. The chef even includes a junior version (cocido pequeño) on his menú infantil. The great seafood specialties here are bacalao pil pil (Basque cod in a spicy green sauce) and besugo la madrileño besugo (or sea bream), being the most highly esteemed fish in the capital due to its exquisite flavor. Other homemade dishes include sopa de fideos (noodle soup) and huesos de tuétano (marrow bone). The dining area, set back beside pillars from the tapas bar, is quiet and relaxing, and the service is friendly." -Zagat
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty yet a little overpriced”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We came as this restaurant was recommended to us. The staff were friendly and attentive. I had the steak which came quite rare yet they adjusted this quickly and it was delicious. My partner had a selection of starters, all very tasty. Our only issue was the price, not comparable to other similar restaurants. Yet the food was good. The menu could do with a few more non seafood options.

Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cocido Español”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great cocido, excellent service, you feel like you are being served by the owner (although he may be, we didn't ask). Remember that cocido is all you can eat hehe!

Visited June 2014
Thank fariasjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Have the cocido madrileno but Don't eat for a week”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Before coming to Madrid I knew that one of the "things " to do was to partake in the feast known as cocido madrileno. My wife and I use a number of forums and books to help us choose sites and eateries but we tend to lean on Rick Steves a lot. Taberna de la Daniela (the one on pl de Jesus, there are four of them) is one of two he mentions. We were in the neighborhood so this was our opportunity.

The place is really nice and was bustling. I know one of the earlier reviewers felt the place was packed with English speaking tourists. Perhaps that day or where they sat. We were there for the cocido so we sat in a specific table section. We were surrounded by Spanish speakers and at least two of the neighboring tables were obvious madrilenos here for a celebratory meal. Our servers were lovely, interested in making our meal pleasant and fun. English was not spoken but we got by with rudimentary Spanish and gestures. All went well.

The cocido is HUGE. You start with a Large terrine of noodle soup followed by plates of chickpeas,potatoes, cabbage and carrots. Another plate of meats with sausage, chicken, pork belly, dumplings, pigs knuckles and bone narrow is brought. Bread and condiments are also on the table. I am sure I have left out some stuff. It was all delicious. This feast was Supposed to be for two. Could feed an army. Supposed to be a hangover cure. Never want to be so drunk that I would attempt to eat all of that. It was all very tasty but the soup was slightly more salty than my personal liking.

Dessert was offered to us but my wife and I politely declined (we saw people eating dessert after the cocido... No idea how they do that). We had coffee and a couple of complimentary glasses of a digestive ( really nice touch and needed after that heavy, tasty stuff).

A very pleasant, long lunch. Recommended.

1 Thank yournamehereCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Not good for dinner.”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Looked good so we stopped in for dinner, unfortunately it wasn't good. Should have been suspicious and left when we heard most of the other diners sitting around us speaking English but we were tired and hungry so we stayed. Unfortunately when we did leave we were still hungry, more tired and quite a few Euros worse off. Menu was unimaginative and uninspiring, food bland and overpriced and the service poor. Strangely for Spain there was a lot of hovering by waitresses who seemed to be very interested in turning tables and who insisted to try and speak in English that was worse than my Spanish. Despite being advertised as such there seemed to be few Madrilenan specialities and the one I chose was not available. Having to choose an alternative, the waitress suggested an omelette in a typical local sauce which I ordered after having been assured there was no potato involved. When it arrived and there was we just gave up, paid, and left. The dishes we did get were unremarkable, unimpressive and not particularly good value. Not a great experience.
On reading the reviews of this place subsequently it is interesting that most of the good ones are by tourists and most of the bad ones are by Spanish people. Speaks volumes really.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank felipehavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TabernaDeLaDaniela, Manager at Taberna de La Daniela Medinaceli, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hello Felipe,

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your dinner at our Taberna de la Daniela. We can't say why the waitress told you that the omelette didn't involve potato, as all Spanish omelettes (or tortillas) do, but we're convinced this must have been a communication error. We'll make sure to speak with our staff and let them know that at times it's better to simply speak Spanish or ask another staff member in order to avoid mistakes and misunderstandings.

Though we do tend to receive many tourists due to the area which we are in, we pride ourselves in being a well known destination for Spanish and Madrilenian food for locals as well. We believe this is reflected in our reviews, with Spaniard writing most of our Very Good ratings, and less than half of our Poor or Terrible ratings.

Again, we apologize for your negative experience and hope it didn´t affect your stay in Madrid.

Kind regards,

Taberna de la Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Add To Your Tapas Tour”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a wonderful spot. Very friendly, great service and endless food (tapas) choices. The staff is glad to explain the menu and walk you through it

Visited September 2013
Thank deltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna de La Daniela Medinaceli also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid

Been to Taberna de La Daniela Medinaceli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing