We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cava Baja

Cava Baja
Ranked #40 of 742 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This street has amazing tapas places. I'd highly recommend Casa Lucas. Also, not far from the Mercado San Miguel. A truely Madrilenian experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    542
    103
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
453 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved our tapas "pub crawl" here on a Sunday night. We started at Madronos and worked down. Great fun and food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weekends only?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We went to this street two nights in a row (Monday and Tuesday) based on the reviews. It was almost empty with only a few bars open. Hopefully more people show up on the weekends.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank westernkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
475 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Old Neighborhood and bars..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We happened to book our hotel on Cava Baja. It's a mix of local neighborhood and tapa bars on the street/area. It's great to walk around this neighborhood and take in some tapas with outdoor seating. It is not touristy until you get more towards Plaza Mayor. At night, it might get a little more rowdy as the bar crowd comes out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bcsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
372 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Have fun tasting tapas and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you want to experience night-life, and tapas and wine, this is a fine area. Lots and lots of small tapas-bars are waiting for your visit. It is a funny and lively area, were you can taste food and wine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cava Baja also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Cava Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing