We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True gem and excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“True gem and excellent value for money”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in, i found it on trip advisor and decided to give it a try and i was very happy to have done that. I am surprised that it is only rated 2 star , it is very modern, clean and extremely comfortable. The owner and staff are very helpful and always answered inquiries and requests gracefully and quickly. The housekeeping was great and the room was always promptly cleaned and sheets changed every day. The rain shower was fantastic and i enjoyed it long showers every morning. Breakfast is simple but more than adequate. I was allowed a late checkout until 5 pm at no extra charge which is exceptional these days.
Lavapies is not touristy but it is a very safe area even late at night and i had no issues walking anywhere, it is less than 10 minutes walk to Sol or plaza St Anna or plaza Mayor. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back when next in Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmadsameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear guest,

I remember you perfectly, and first of all thank you so much for this wonderful review. Thank you for your kind words and consideration. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and liked the hotel and location.
I will share your comments with the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.
We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the location, breakfast, showers, and about the late check-out we could offered to you.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    259
    37
    2
    0
See reviews for
244
647
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

In all hotels i have booked in 6 cities this is my husband's favorite. The room was very nice, clean and spotless. I was at first reluctant because the hotel was fairly new. Upon arrival the hotel staff was very amiable and accomodating. She gave us helpful tips being first timers in Madrid. We've also come across with the owner who was pleasant as his staff. He recommended us to his brother's restaurant and I could really say though it is quite a 10 min walk it was worth it. The hotel is modern with a touch of uniqueness. There are grocery stores and restaurants in the area if you need a quick fix.i just want to suggest taking a cab from atocha renfe if u have lots of luggage because it is quite far from the hotel. We had an overall great experience and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeybunnybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here one night on arrival by train from Madrid Airport. Great location near Atocha Station.Lovely rooms. Superb showerhead! Spotlessly clean. Lovely receptionist with excellent English who advised us where to eat and where to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergeantMajorMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

As a tour guide of my last trip I used this hotel for my tour through Spain.
I have been traveling to a lot of hotels so I think I'm able to give you my honest opinion from myself en from my customers who were American.

I liked this hotel very much, its a rather small hotel but that's what I like, you are not being treited as a number as in the big hotels.
Rooms are spacious, clean, new and have a/c and windmill, although the last one makes some noise.
Reception is very friendly and helpful, no extra charge to make a phone call at reception (try this at Mariott). The owner, Miguel was also very helpful to give advice.
Location: very good, 75m from subway, the station is only 1 stop from the station puerto del sol.
Closeby you also find a big supermarket.
Hotel is close to Atocha station.

The only comment I have is this:
- a refrigerator on the room would be appreciated, that would make the room perfect
- breakfast is enough for me but not for Americans, they use to have a heavy breakfast in the morning. So breakfast could be better and more variation.
They have a very good coffee machine that you can use the whole day long.

I would consider staying in this hotel again. If the breakfast would be bigger then I know my favorite hotel in Madrid

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airwolfke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hotel, near Atocha RR Station, is the perfect hotel to begin a trip to Spain following an international flight. Our room was quiet, the bathroom was spotless and offered a unique and wonderful shower with plenty of hot water. The hotel personnel were so pleasant and helpful. There is a parking garage very near the hotel that offers a discount to patrons of the hotel. There is good parking on the street nearby if you are lucky - don't count on that. Wifi in the room was robust and appreciated. The breakfast is very minimal with just juice, coffee, and rolls. There are plenty of restaurant options outside the door on the street. Real estate in this location is at a premium and the hotel has obviously chosen to dedicate its space to rooms. Some renovations were going on, but there was no noise to disturb us. I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I had two wonderful nights in this gem of a hotel right in the heart of the Madrid art district.
Beautifully appointed clean rooms.
The owner and staff were warm and friendly and helped us out with recommendations in Madrid.
Best hotel in Madrid!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel has everything going for it, great friendly staff, its very modern, very clean and a short walk to Madrid centre or you can use the Metro 50m down the road. The breakfast is nice with good coffee, juice, cereals, ham, cheese and pastries. All kept stocked up by a very nice and friendly breakfast lady. There is some small grocery stores ,a Carrefour , bars and small restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DodgerIrishinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
394 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#4 of 444 in Madrid
225 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Property: Artrip Hotel
Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing