We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff--comfortable, if spartan, rooms”
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #8 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We selected Artrip because of proximity to the Atocha station, where we returned a rented car after touring northern Spain. It was convenient for walking to many of the plazas in the older part of town and to the City Tour bus stop near Atocha. We used the tour bus as a means of getting around town on two days (we got two day passes). Rooms were comfortable, but simply decorated. Bathrooms are "fit" into the rooms, with shower, basin, and toilet separated from one another. These are functional, but different than other rooms you may have visited. Staff at the front desk were always friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel.

Thanks for your comments about our Location, rooms and the friendliness of our Staff.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The service was wonderful as the staff and owner of the hotel were very friendly and genuine. Right when we walked in we were offered coffee and tea and owner of the hotel mapped out for us all the monuments and main places to see in Madrid (which was all walking distance from the hotel). The rooms were very spacious and clean (which is rare in Europe, especially in big cities like Madrid). Vina P (12 mins walk from the hotel) in Plz Sta. Ana was a wonderful restaurant with equally as great service as the hotel. We loved that it was an authentic Spanish restaurant with quality food that was not so pricey. Walking distance from the hotel was also Mercado San Miguel which was a really cool indoor market with good and inexpensive food and drinks such as fresh sangria (for only 3 euro) and fish and meat. All in all it was a very good stay and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Madrid for future visits!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agatha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you to choose Artrip Hotel for your stay in Madrid and thank you to send this beautiful comments. I am very happy to hear you liked the locations, but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff It is glad to read they provided to you an efficiente service to help you. I always feel this is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel

Your compliments of my father´s restaurant "Viña P" is very much appreciated too.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife & I stayed here recently at the start of our "Spanish tour" and what a great place it is. On arrival, we were greeted by Miquel, the owner who is clearly passionate about his Hotel, as indeed, are all the staff.

With 16 rooms in a single building with a great location about 15 mins from all the main locations; Atocha railway station, the Prado, other galleries and all the famous, city-centre squares, the Hotel manages to combine clean, crisp rooms with warm service and great architecture. The breakfast buffet has everything you could need to start the day, the air-conditioning works and there is free WiFi - all for a very reasonable price, especially if you book ahead.

Don't hesitate to stay at this small "Madrid Marvel" - we certainly look forward to returning at the end of our tour with the rest of our family.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ForestFan1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time to devote some words to our Hotel as this is a gift to us.
And thanks again for your comments about our location, breakfast, free wifi and our Team, but the big win is that you want to come back to us whenever you are in Madrid.

Hope to see you soon at Artrip Hotel.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in the centre of Madrid, very well located a few steps from the Metro Station Lavapies and very close to Atocha train station; very nice rooms, clean, comfortable, good breakfast and the staff is the plus, great service attitude, very helpful and kind; will recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaleSolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for write good comments about the location, value for money, our Team, our modern rooms and service of the Hotel.

We are very happy to know that our work has gained a good stay with us.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Really friendly staff, clean and good rooms equipped with both fans and AC. The only slight drawback for us was the area - next time we would choose to stay a little more central as there was little in the area that we wanted to explore in our first weekend in Madrid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Your compliments of the Artrip Hotel are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Your compliments of our staff and comfortable rooms are very much appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us,

We look forward to your return.

Miguel Ángel Porras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Artrip Hotel for three nights in February 2013. We chose the hotel mainly for its close proximity to the train station as we did day trips to Toledo and Segovia, both of which were fantastic and well worth a day or half day trip from Madrid.
The hotel is nice and modern, with big comfortable beds and excellent shower pressure. We loved our room, with a chaise longue and a waterfall shower, we also had a little balcony that overlooked the street.
The hotel is within easy walking distance to all the main sights, and we liked staying slightly out of the touristy areas.
Our favourite place we visited in Madrid was the Mercado San Miguel market, the amazing indoor food market, we had dinner here twice during our stay and still think about the food!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your positive comments about our Artrip Hotel.Thanks for highlighting our central Location just minutes from main railway Atocha Station, Plaza Mayor and Mercado San Miguel.

Thanks also for writing about our comfort beds and good showers.

We would like to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very modern decor. Large room, quiet, with comfortable twin beds, although furnishings perhaps a bit Spartan. Breakfast good, although choice a bit limited. Staff very cheerful and helpful where they can, but limited knowledge of restaurants.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Torontoseniors-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks for your comments about our modern rooms and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team.
It´s a real shame we couldn´t offer you the best selection of restaurants in Madrid (not only the restaurant´s ranking in Madrid you can find esaly on tripadvisor), starting with my father´s restaurant "Restaurant & Tavern Viña P" (located in Plaza de Santa Ana) and the awesome place for me "Mercado de San Miguel", but also, "Casa Alberto", "El Caldero", "Casa Botín", etc, etc...

Anyway, we apologize didn´t give you this restaurant´s information. Next time I promise you won´t happen.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 442 in Madrid
578 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 442 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Chamberí
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 442 in Madrid
1,205 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#13 of 442 in Madrid
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £73 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing