We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money, helpful and friendly staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value for money, helpful and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Have just stayed in Artrip Hotel for a brief, two-night visit to Madrid. The location could scarcely be better as it is within walking distance of lots of central sights, such as Plaza Mayor and the Reina Sofia gallery. We got some great information from the manager (owner?) when we arrived who was concerned to help us spend our money wisely in Madrid. We loved the 24 hr free coffee and the breakfast. We were able to use the breakfast room to eat our picnic lunch from the supermarket and thus save some pennies. Our room was an attic one - which I think are the cheaper of the rooms - and the space was ingeniously used to fit in all the mod-cons that you need (e,g, hairdryer, flat-screen TV and fridge). We could have done with an extra waste bin in the room as the only one was the tiny one in the loo! But apart from that - hard to fault at the price.

Room Tip: If you want more space, avoid the attic rooms. But they are fine if you are looking for the best ban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Carla,
We would like to thank you very much for your good review, with the comment about the good relation price-quality of the hotel.
We are very happy that you liked the breakfast, modern attic-room, our location near the Atocha Railway Station and our staff giving you the useful information of Madrid, that it is the best compliments for a Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    254
    36
    2
    0
See reviews for
240
641
63
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our room was lovely - airy and large with tea making equipment, hairdryer and a small basket of fruit. Breakfast was basic but perfectly adequate (cereals, juices, croissants, ham, cheese, bread, pastries). Coffee (including decaff) was available 24 hours in the breakfast / sitting area. Wifi was weak in the bedroom but OK if you came down to the reception area. The hotel manager / owner and the girl who was often on duty could not have been more helpful with directions, hop on hop off bus tickets and suggestions as to where to eat etc. Location was good - just over a five minute walk to Reina Sofia gallery where you can pick up the hop on hop off bus and another 10 to the station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Guest,
This is a small and familiar hotel and we appreciate a lot your positive comments about our Artrip Hotel. Thanks for highlighting our central Location, comfortable rooms, good quality breakfast and friendly staff. We really try to do our best everyday.

So glad you had a good stay and would like to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Both the receptionist and the owner, Miguel, were incredibly helpful and started our stay with a good impression. On first glance, the room was clean, reasonably sized, clean and very modern in design. However, during our stay, the modern design of the tap made water splash onto the walls. The shower also leaked water into the surrounding carpet. Location-wise, it's a good 5 minute walk from the nearest train station, but it's situated on a small street which can be rather intimidating at night.

Overall, very good for price, but has room for improvement!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel. And thanks a lot for writing about the friendly of our staff.
The neighborhood of Lavapies is bohemian and multi ethnical area (many art galleries around) into de town centre of Madrid, there are young people (some of them are artists) living mixture with working class spanish people, but it is a real safe area.
About the flaws you are right, in your room we had to repair somethings ear the shower because the water was going out.

Hope to see you soon and best regards.

Miguel Ángel Porras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We stay one week in this Hotel July 9 to July 15 and we were please with the Hotel staff they were very helpful and give us a great services.Miguel the owner of this little piece of gem was very helpful and provided us with the most important information that we needed to walk around without any problem.The.Hotel is locate in El Barrio Lavapies conveniently we found a laundromat few Restaurants and few supermarket.Our room in the first floor was big enough for our party of three.The bed were comfortable and the air condition was great. The room were very clean and always we were supply with clean towels and soap,body gel etc.The breakfast was awesome good enough to keep us full until lunch time.The coffee was the best was free and delicious.My kids love it we are planning our next vacation and our first option will be Madrid we will stay in Artrip again no doubt.Thank you Miguel And all your staff you guys were wonderful.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Sylvia,
Thank you to choose Artrip Hotel for your stay in Madrid and thank you to send this beautiful comments. I am very happy to hear you liked the location, but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. It is glad to read they provided to you an efficiente service to help you. I always feel this is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

Your compliments of our rooms and breakfast are very much appreciated too.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel based on the reviews on T.A and wasn't disappointed. We has a suite and it was very spacious. The hotel and room was spotless, and still felt new. The room was minimalist and white, comfortable bed and a great bathroom with double sinks and a fantastic shower. Our room didn't have a view and looked into an internal light well area, so if you need a view out ask for a room at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was basic but the quality of what was there was excellent, and with so much great food in Madrid who needs a huge breakfast!! The coffee machine was a real bonus and did great coffee. Location of hotel is fine if you are happy to walk a bit or use the metro. We felt safe in the area - there are lots of people around. Supermarket a couple of blocks away was handy. The staff at the hotel are fantastic - everyone is friendly and always willing to help. You would never guess this is only a 2 star hotel - it seriously should be more! Thanks team, we had a great 3 nights!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rooleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you enjoyed your stay of three days with us. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the location, comfortable room, helpful Staff and breakfast.

Thanks again. Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel, with my 3 teenage sons, and loved it. Every single staff member that we dealt with was great. Very friendly and incredibly helpful. There was a lovely girl on the Front Desk (I am sorry I didn't ask her name) during the day and she marked everything on a map that was within walking distance and instructions on how to get there. One of my sons was catching a train from Atocha Station to another part of Spain, (which I had mentioned to her on the previous day) and she took it upon herself to phone the station to see if there were any delays after the terrible train accident in the Northern part of Spain. The accomodation itself was great. Fantastic shower, comfortable beds, efficient airconditioning and it was very clean. There is free Wifi and breakfast is good for a reasonable price with a great coffee machine that is available 24 hours. The area was fine. We felt safe and enjoyed the local feel. There are good restaurants and a Carrefour nearby which is very convenient. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Madrid who wants a comfortable hotel that is great value and within walking distance of many attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieinBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for this wonderful review.
Thank you for your kind words and consideration. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and liked the hotel and location.
I will share your comments with the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.

We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our shower, comfortable beds, good breakfast and free Wifi complementary.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I can see why this rates highly on tripadvisor- the staff are excellent, they truly go above and beyond, and their restaurant recommendations were spot on and some of the best food we've had in Spain. However, location.... Not the best, not very close to the attractions . As a woman walking home at night I did not feel safe. 15 min walk from the Main train station. Again though, staff made the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisgreg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate a lot your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks for your comments about the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team.
About the location, into the district centre of Madrid, 10´ to 15´walking to everywhere. It´s a bohemian and multicultural neighborhood, and we know it´s not the most luxury (the same in every big city) area in Madrid, but it is 100% safe, and many people like to feel the "real" and different ambient of Lavapiés.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#3 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Property: Artrip Hotel
Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing