We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a gem of a small hotel. Very near the train station, Prado and the Reina Sophia Museums. The park next to the Prado Museum is also worth a visit. The metro is a 2min walk away.

Location wise u probably need some getting used to ie depends on how u adapt to" bohemian", as often described of the location. We walked to Plaza Mayor, about a 20 min walk from the hotel and my view is at u just have to be a little weary of the surroundings.

However, the hotel is so nice and comfortable. Rooms were nicely done up, simple but very fashionable. The icing for me was the super friendly and helpful staff. Just ask them anything and they ill try to accommodate, from booking of restaurants to asking for directions. Always with a big smile. The owner of the hotel is often there and is so happy to make recommendations and share his knowledge of his beloved city

Overall, a great place

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBear898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you to choose Artrip Hotel for your stay in Madrid, and thank you so much to send this beautiful comments.
I am very happy to hear you liked the location, near everything in the town center of Madrid, but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. It is glad to read they provided to you an efficiente service to help you. I always feel this is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    267
    37
    2
    0
See reviews for
248
669
66
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in Artrip for 7 nights recently and had a great time. Miguel (the owner) and his reception staff were so friendly and helpful and did their best to answer our queries. They only have 17 rooms, so are able to give guests a personal service that you wouldn't get in a larger hotel. We loved the way the rooms have been tastefully refurbished and modernised. The breakfast was amazing and great value! Artrip is centrally located (near Lavapies metro) and is a short walk to most sites, but is away from the busy central area. There are some good restaurants and tapas bars near bye. On our next trip to Madrid, this will be our number 1 choice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoS123701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for this wonderful review. When we receive a comment like this, it´s means a extraordinary motivation for everybody who work here.
This is a small and familiar hotel, but we want to give to our guests the best attention, like they were friends of us, not guests.

Thanks also for your comment about the "good value" of the hotel. We are doing a big effort to give you the best price.

Hope to see you again as you said.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I’m glad I got to spend my last day in Spain in this little gem. In my opinion there are several things that set this hotel apart from the competition. First and foremost has to be the friendly staff, always willing to help you out, and also the attention to details by Miguel, the owner/manager. It is obvious that this family run hotel is his baby and it is treated as such. As mention by other reviewers, this hotel is very centrally located, within walking distance from Atocha, the Reina Sofia, and the Prado museum. My double room was very clean, spacious, and quiet. The bed was very comfortable so needless to say I had a great night sleep. The modern décor contrast very nicely with the renovated old building. The exposed brickwork and wood beans in the stairway were restored perfectly and look great. In my opinion Airtrip is a great value and prices are very competitive. I have travel several times to Spain in the last few years and from now on this is my Madrid headquarters.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DnaGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks a lot for your good comments about our privileged Location and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team, and we love knowing that visit the Hotel again when you return to Madrid.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a small modern boutique hotel located just a half block from Lavapies metro stop and close to the major art museums and Atoche train station in Madrid. It is away from the loud, busy touristy areas. There is a small frig in each room and a nice local grocery store down the street. The price is a good value. We stayed in the junior suite; it was very large and quiet. Though breakfast is not fancy, it is not expensive either. What makes this place special is the helpful staff. James gave us a warm welcome and good help. Kalie keeps the hotel extremely clean and orderly. Miguel, the owner, makes sure that his guests are treated well. To sum it up, this hotel in Madrid is a great value and provides fine service!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Cathie,
We appreciate a lot your time to review the Artrip Hotel on Tripadvisor.
Thanks so much for your comments about our privileged Location and overall thanks what you say about the friendliness of our Staff. We try to do the best in our work everyday, (you really know it).

We will transfer your positive comments to all our Team.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend. The hotel was in a good location for walking to Madrid city centre. It was clean and tidy and very reasonable. You would need to get the metro to go to Bernabau or any further but we didn't want to do that. The hotel is in an "up and coming" area but dont let that put you off!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgy2881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Edgy,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks so much for your nice comment about our privileged Location and the cleaning of our rooms.

Hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A good experience here. A 10 minute walk from Atocha Station, passing the Reina Sofia Museum, on a fairly quiet side street. Reception staff lovely, showed us how to get to various places, restaurants. Room super clean, white, bright, little balcony overlooking street. Arrangements for toilet and shower, both off room behind glass doors, may not be to everyone's taste. Washbasin in room itself. Good sized hanging rack, but no drawers. We travel budget airline cabin luggage but still had to keep stuff in case.
Position good for Prado and other museums. Too far to walk to Royal Palace and Cathedral but taxi [ rank in square adjacent to hotel] very cheap.
Breakfast - bread, ham, cheese, pastries, juice ok but could get boring if you're staying a while.
Free drinks from machine available all day.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for room with balcony. It was a good sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GINNIELincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you to choose Artrip Hotel for your stay in Madrid and thank you to send this beautiful comments.
I am very happy to hear you liked the locations but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff It is glad to read they provided to you an efficiente service to help you. I always feel this is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Cannot understand how this hotel is top of the Tripadvisor list for Madrid. Disliked some things such as the noise from the road, no mattress protector on the bed, no wall-tiling around the toilet and washbasin to stop splashing, no tiling (just wooden boards) on the shower floor. But at 79E per night (in early December) the price is fair for a modern 2 star hotel in the city centre. And its proximity to Atocha Main Station and the main sites in Madrid is an attraction. Also pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which is not at the front and facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonshireantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks so much for your comments about our good value, privileged Location and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team.
Sorry about the noise from the road, we never had until now a comment about that. And I really know it´s difficult to feeling it, because this is an old building from 1900 with very big walls, and only one year and half from rebuilt in june 2012, and most rooms has got with double thick windows and also doors made of wood, covering the windows-doors of the french balconies in a quite street in a quite neighborhood.

Sorry a lot about not having a mattress protector in your bed, probably was cleaning and the housekeeping service forgot put it another.

Hope to see you soon again to give us another opportunity.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
441 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#11 of 436 in Madrid
349 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Property: Artrip Hotel
Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing