We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very nicely done out hotel in a convenient location for public transport and local sights. We stayed for a weekend trip focused around an Atletico Madrid game. We decided to walk to the ground and this was a bit of a walk but not a problem.

We had the loft room, and the bed was a bit small, but I'm used to a king at home! So not really a complaint.

We did struggle with local restaurants due to my husband having picky tastes and us not speaking any Spanish, more ignorance on our part really.

Very easy to get around on the Metro though.

I would definitely recommend the Dominio de Antargu restaurant within the wine shop around the corner on Ronda de Atocha. Absolutely beautiful food and amazing wine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacmr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your good and positive comments about our Artrip Hotel.Thanks for highlighting our strategic location in Madrid Town Center.

So glad you had a good stay and had fun in the football match at Athletico de Madrid Stadium near our hotel.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
There are newer reviews for Artrip Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Last year during six weeks travelling from Istanbul to Lisbon we stayed in hotels ranging from 2 star to 5 star. This one was a stand out.
Artrip is a slick minimalist fit out in an old building, high quality modern and beautifully detailed interior, great bed, railhead shower, etc.

Owner operated, the personnel were all friendly and very helpful, nice continental breakfast with great coffee included.

Walking distance to Prado and centre of Madrid. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with french doors overlooking the street.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Tim,
I remember you perfectly. Thanks a lot for this marvelous review on trip advisor.
Thanks for highlighting the building restored, comfortable beds, good showers and the top quality coffee we have.

I´d like you´ll come back some day. Perhaps one day I´ll travel to Australia to meet you at Sidney.

Thanks a lot for choosing us and also for your honest kindness !

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It is a great little hotel for two stars but I kept feeling that the rate was not quite justified. Anyway: very nice and helpful people at the reception, room adequate but the shower is really a matter of taste. Great thing that the toilet is separate though! Brekfast buffet could have been better, therefore "only" 4 stars from me. Location though, is great!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the location and helpful Staff.
Thanks for your feedback about the breakfast, we are thinking to do some changes in it this year to have more variety, because the quality it is top.

Thanks again for choosing us for your travel to Madrid. And hope to see you soon.

Best regards,


Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We shared a triple room for 2 nights. The shower and toilet are separate from each other and the shower opens into the room directly. The shower itself is awesome, but water seemed to leak into the room. Privacy is limited awkward with the share arrangement. High comfort level, beds, ac, fan tv etc. breakfast is fine & cheap. The area is colourful and you can buy anything on the street outside the hotel. It's a really short walk to the Plaza de sol, Mayor, Prado, Reine Sophia etc and Lavapies metro is very close if you don't want to walk. Good value, location and great staff.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Skimum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments.
Very happy that you liked the shower, modern rooms, our location near the Atocha Railway Station and our friendly staff, that we think it is the best compliments for a Hotel.

Thanks also for your feedback of the water seemed leak into the room from the shower, we´ll check it to repair it.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hello everyone! We chose this hotel because it's number 1 on Tripadvisor but don't forget it's a 2 star hotel. The stay there was great. We liked the staff and the location - close to the main museums and metro. We had breakfast every morning and enjoyed it. 24 hour coffee machine was a huge plus and the shower was just wonderful after a long day. What about negative points? Some people have already mentioned that the hotel is a little worn in some places, the wc has no an extractor fan, the decoration is really minimalistic, the neighbourhood is not very pleasant (lots of Indian restaurants), lots of dog owners who don't bother to clean up after their pets AT ALL !!! So watch your step. We would like to thank Miguel for his recommendations, the restaurant-taberna Viña P was great, the food there was just exquisite. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Natasha,
I remember you perfectly, you´ve visited us with your sister and mother.
Thank so much for such a good comments about the Artrip Hotel, our friendly service from my teammates, comfortable rooms and the good relation price-quality.

We are very happy to know that our work has gained a good stay with us.

We hope to see you again. You are very kind and friendly guests !

Best regards, (and also regards from my brother Roberto in "Viña P" Restaurant).

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent hotel - amazing staff, service, cleanliness and central location. The perfect base for a city break in Madrid. The owner (name has slipped my mind) is only too willing to point you in the right direction for food / tapas and wine.
Incredibly modern - I recommend staying there before it gets too popular. Only opened a year and already #1 hotel in Madrid, tells all really.
I'll be back

Room Tip: A room with a balcony over the street is a nice treat, as long as you can handle a little noise
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruairi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Yes we are a 2 stars hotel and your wonderful compliments of the Artrip are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Your compliments of our team and location are a big motivation to continue on the way, improving everyday.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, for your recommendations and for taking time to write such a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards, and a Happy New Year 2014 !

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is really a nice hotel-- clean, well kept, and very centrally located. The staff is kind and very helpful. They helped us find food, and made calls to help us locate an obscure museum. We would absolutely choose this hotel again when we return to Madrid. And the 24 hour coffee was a really nice plus for us, as was the original artwork on display.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your good and positive comments about our friendly service in Artrip Hotel.
Thanks for highlighting our good coffee, strategic location in Madrid Town Center and clean modern rooms of this small and familiar boutique hotel.

So glad you had a good stay with us and to know that you would like to come back again.

Best regards and Happy new year 2014 !

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 438 in Madrid
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,676 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 438 in Madrid
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £94 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing