We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable hotel with great style!”
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Adorable hotel with great style!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is small and friendly, with excellent interior design and amenities. Reception was always willing to help out with anything we needed, and it was in a good location. The rooms were modern and well thought out, with cute Spanish style windows and barrandas. Breakfast was good too, and there is free coffee, tea, and water. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Mary,
We appreciate a lot your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks so much for your comments about our privileged Location, modern rooms, good coffee and the friendliness of our Staff. We will transfer their positive comments to all our Team and we love knowing that you would visit the Hotel again when you return to Madrid.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    263
    37
    2
    0
See reviews for
246
660
64
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is lovely - our room was not large but well appointed, had all the amenities, and extremely comfortable beds. Breakfast was also not elaborate but very good with delicious pastries, coffee and fruit. The real differentiator here is the level of service provided. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and when we had a problem, they went above and beyond the call of duty to help! Our teenage daughter left her iPhone in a cab and they helped us get it back the next day from the young guy who found it, which was nothing short of miraculous. My thanks again to the owner and to Sarah for your excellent customer service!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Carole K,
I remember you perfectly !. First of all thank you for this wonderful review. Thank you for your kind words and consideration. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and liked the hotel and location.

I will share your comments with the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. And we are very glad to hear that you could get back your daughter´s iPhone.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

OMG. First of all Trip advisor reviewers are the best - thank you for finding this gem and recommending it!
Where do I start? First of all, the staff: I had written to them before my trip to Spain and they were very responsive and helpful.
When we got to the hotel, Miguel (the owner/manager) opened the front door for us and helped us with our luggage. The room was ready, even though we were early. He then took the time to visit with us, pull out a map of the area, patiently circle points of interest on the map, give great recommendations and in general we just loved to talk to him. And just in case we thought we just lucked out because he was the manager/owner, we got to meet the rest of the staff and they were just as nice and friendly! Sarah, Kari, John (and I am probably forgetting some staff members' names) were just the nicest, friendliest, most service oriented people I have ever met in my life!
One evening, after walking forever in the Reina Sofia museum, we called (exhausted) to John and asked him to find us a Paella restaurant near the museum, within walking distance and he immediately did. It was great!
The breakfast was wonderful and really cheap - for just 5 euros you got delicious pastries and coffee.
I could write a whole page just about this wonderful staff that Miguel managed to staff this delightful hotel with...

Here's more about the hotel and my trip in general:

The rooms are exactly what we wanted (clean, well kept, new with modern features like automatic lights when someone is in the room, or in the stairs) and are an excellent value for the price.
The shower - I could stay there all day... the bed was comfortable and although our room faced the street, we slept just fine. We opened the window and enjoyed the street noises...
It's a residential neighborhood, and we felt very safe.
A supermarket is just a short walk to your right (we needed it to get conditioner - ladies, bring your own. The hotel provides shampoo and a hair dryer).
Whatever you do, don't eat at the Turkish restaurant across the street, it's disgusting. If you go out of the hotel and make a left, in one of the side streets to your left there is a small neighborhood bistro/tapas bar. Not the greatest, don't waste your time or money.
Miguel's brother runs a restaurant that is actually quite close and quite good, and again - the price is not outrageous. Highly recommend it!
Don't miss Mercado de San Miguel, it is a culinary delight for foodies! If it were up to me, I'd eat there every day, breakfast lunch and dinner.
Don't waste your time or money on the churros in San Gines, the hot chocolate tasted commercial...
The hotel is conveniently located close to the Atocha train station (but do yourself a favor and if you are coming from the airport with luggage and you are an American (hate to walk) take a cab...You'll thank me - Spanish people for the most part don't speak a WORD of English, street signs are not common :) and the very sweet cab driver nicely argued with my sister that there is no hotel on Valencia street... he was truly shocked when they pulled up at the Artrip... The cops at the Atocha station didn't know where Valencia street was, but they did give us a great tip - don't take a cab at the Atocha station, it's very expensive. Better to stop one in the street...
We did.
Americans - if you buy any T-Shirts for yourselves or loved ones at home, buy at least two sizes bigger. I am a L in American sizes. I bought two beautiful Madrid shirts in XL and they are so incredibly tight that I can only wear them around the house :)

Room Tip: We stayed at the triple room that faced the street and everything was great. Wasn't noisy or any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loves2travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guests,
What can I say?
Thank you so much to choose Artrip Hotel for your stay in Madrid, and thank you so much to send this beautiful comments. I am very happy to hear you liked the locations but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff It is glad to read they provided to you an efficiente service to help you. I always feel this is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

Your compliments of our clean rooms and good showers and are very much appreciated too.

It would be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Unforgettable holiday in a beautiful city and a hotel that deserves its 4 stars for great service, a welcome priceless and a room with all the amenities. The hotel staff made ​​us feel completely at ease. We were recommended this hotel and really the quality

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torres F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Torres F,
We appreciate a lot your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks so much for your nice comments about our comfortable hotel and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team and we love knowing that visit the Hotel again when you return to Madrid.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a fairly new hotel in a fairly colourful area (not unsafe, just need to keep your wits about you, and if you want a break from tapas it is close to what seems to be the principal cluster of south asian restaurants in the city). I actually found the neighbourhood interesting, real, alive. Compared to the crass touristy nonsense only a 15-minute walk away in Plaza Mayor, this is absolutely preferable. Everyone is here, from young to old. You can walk everywhere in the city if your pins are up to scratch, and it's an easy hop to Atocha station.

The hotel itself is great, a real gem of a place. I want only simple things from a hotel: cleanliness, quiet, a good mattress, a good shower, free wi-fi, and a breakfast that won't kill me. This has it all, and the breakfast, though simple, is almost charming. Free coffee all day, and it's not shabby either. Slept like a log.

Our stay was for two nights, but a week apart. On our return for the second night, we arrived to find a half bottle of rioja and some jamon iberico in our room with a 'welcome back' note. You don't really get that kind of attention anywhere any more, and it makes such a huge difference to the feel of the stay. Staff were all smiles and courtesy throughout, and as helpful as could be.

Would recommend to anyone and am looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the vibrant street, with a little balcony and french doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boddice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you so much for your wonderful comments but also for your useful remarks about the location of the hotel.
We are very happy that you liked the comfortable beds, free wifi, good breakfast and our customer service, that it is the best compliments for a Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We only stayed one night, but the hotel was excellent.

The rainforest shower is fantastic. The rooms are decorated in a modern, minimalist style.

It was great value for money.

The owner really cares about the place - he came up and talked to us to find out what we thought of our stay.

The only negative is that the area just north of the metro station is not the greatest. You are best travelling to and from the hotel by metro unless you are confident in grimier parts of a city. One guy tried to sell me drugs and then when I ignored him he started saying that I was meant to reply. The metro is really close to the hotel so it shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sceptre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for write such a good comment about the confortable-modern rooms, value for money and our excellent Team. We rally think your feedback it is important to improve every day.

We are very happy to know that our work has gained a good stay with us.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 5 nights stay with my family. The hotel is very clean , the room was big enough for the 4 of us. The staff is very nice, free wifi and very good coffee 24/7. 2 min walk from metro, one metro stop from center of Madrid.

Recommend this hotel!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank erans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you to choose Artrip Hotel for your stay in Madrid and thank you to send this good review. I am very happy to hear you liked the location, but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. I always feel this is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

Your compliments of our coffee and wifi are very much appreciated too.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 438 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#8 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Property: Artrip Hotel
Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing