We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here early May and would agree entirely with the positive reviews below. The owner said to us that good coffee, showers and beds were a priority for him, it shows. The staff are very helpful and the hotel is in a great position for visiting both the old part of the city and the museums. Coming from London we found the area very laid back and ok by comparison.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkdiscos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear dkdiscos,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks a lot for your comments about our privileged Location, showers, beds, coffee and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team, and we would love knowing that could visit the Hotel again when you return to Madrid.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    254
    36
    2
    0
See reviews for
240
641
63
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Madrid at the Artrip and we couldn't recommend it highly enough. The area does look a bit scruffy at first but actually felt very safe in the evenings and there were plenty of little restaurants and bars around. Nothing fancy but good value. The hotel is lovely - clean, comfortable and a great location for museums and the Retiro park. The staff on reception were so helpful and friendly. Great breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and free internet. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Sharon F,
We appreciate a lot your good and positive comments about our Artrip Hotel.

Thanks for highlighting our strategic location in Madrid Town Center, near bars and restaurants. But also than you also about our friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms, continental breakfast and about he good value of this small and familiar boutique hotel.

So glad you had a good stay and would like to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 day trip to Madrid and can only add to the plaudits by other trip advisor contributors. The Artrip Hotel is small, friendly and very comfortable hotel, with spacious rooms which are decorated in a modern minimalist style.
The receptionists, James and Sarah, were truly outstanding, kind and helpful, they made us feel very welcome. Miguel who is the owner, introduced himself to us and told us about the history of the building. He gave us little pastries and was utterly charming and his command of English is excellent. Dining area is quite dark, but has been cleverly designed with strategic lighting to ensure it does not look too gloomy. Free tea and coffee is available all day, which is a lovely idea.
It is very close to the Lavapies Metro station which takes you anywhere you want to go in a very efficient way. Within 5 minutes we were in the main shopping area which was buzzing.
Madrid is a fascinating city,
Lavapies is a good choice if you want to be away from the main centre, but it lacks some of the class of other areas and is a little scruffy in parts.If you are not into Museums, I think it may be better to stay closer to the action.

Room Tip: All rooms look good, front ones have views but may be a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Hughes,
I remember you perfectly because I was at the front desk when you arrived at Artrip.

Your compliments of the Artrip Hotel are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Your compliments of our staff, location and are very much appreciated.

Thank so much you for choosing to stay with us, for your recommendations and for taking time to write a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return.

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from a long weekend 1st-5th May. A fantastic hotel, very welcoming. Nothing was to much trouble for the young girl at reception, happy nature! My only gripe was the last night, one of the night staff had the TV sound up very loud, and travelled up into room 302. My fault I should have complained but too lazy to get out of the comfortable bed!
Five fab things: comfy bed, fresh pure white sheets, white towels, and an amazing shower, and a great price. All you need really. Oh and a lovely breakfast!
wendy-London

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Wendy C,
Your compliments of the Artrip Hotel are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Your compliments of our staff, location and are very much appreciated.

And I apologize about the tv´s sound loud one night. It´s happened because the terrace´s door was open at the first floor.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, for your recommendations and for taking time to write a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The reviews here arent lying, we just got back from a 3 night stay in Artrip and it was a simply amazing hotel.

The location is in Lavapies, which is a busy part of the city, you'll walk past lots of locals hanging outside bars showing the latest footie match (we stayed during the Chelsea vs Real Madrid so it was pretty noisy! But in a fun way :) every now and again you heard big cheers as Madrid were obviously winning!) and drinking a beer. Local restaurant touts will ask you if you want to eat but a polite 'No Gracias' is all thats needed to get through them, they mean no harm and were all friendly :)

The walk through Lavapies to the San Miguel Market (outstanding, really fun place for dinner!) took about 8 minutes casual walk, 10 minutes will see you at the plaza. So it's a pretty sweet location!

The hotel itself felt very safe and professional. Like anywhere if youre walking back here at night time just keep an eye on your surroundings, but surely that rule applies to all major cities and didnt bother me at all.

Artrip is clean, tidy, the breakfasts were lovely, you get free coffee all day, lovely juice and pastries with jamon and breads, or mashed tomato and olive oil to top some toasted bread if you like,

The room was luuuuuush!! All white, really beautifully clean, a huge shower! A balcony with cute shutter windows and a nice big closet. The bed was two single beds pushed together which didnt bother us as they were very comfy and meant you had a lot of room to stretch out! You have the choice of an overhead fan, opening the balcony window, or using the air conditioning to cool down. I recommend the air con.

The toilet door simply swings shut with no lock, but for a couple or two close friends sharing a room, this shouldn't really be an issue. The toilet door is heavy misted glass so don't worry, no one can see you! And our bed was on the far end of the room anyway so everything was nicely private.

The shower is amaaaaazing! Great temp controls, and a huge head with lots of room and wooden slats as the floor, if you like you can sit on the other end and put the shower on extra hot for a sauna-like-experience!

When we got there we were greeted by a bottle of rioja, 2 glasses, some jamon, cheese and bread, and a little sign saying 'Happy Anniversary!' Which was unbelievably sweet.

The owner is lovely, really great guy who is happy to help or give any advice, we spoke spanish most of the time in Madrid (Even by knowing very little you can still have a laugh with the locals!) but this guy is fluent in English, he was pretty much the only person we spoke english to the entire trip, as he would always greet us with 'Hello! How are you? Did you have a nice meal?' Etc. The rest of the staff are also very courteous and friendly, I wish i had tipped them more but my pockets were empty from all the tapas!

Seriously if you're a couple, two mates, or on your own then this place is the best. The only thing against it is perhaps for a couple wanting a more stuffier hotel experience this might not be for them - For everyone else that wants a lovely hotel, cheap, city centric, in a bustling fun part of town, this is for you :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADaveee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear AlexDavy,
First of all thank you for this wonderful review. Thank you for your kind words and consideration. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and liked the hotel and location.
I will share your comments with the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.

We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our clean rooms and showers and location in the heart of Madrid.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on reviews and location but were a bit concerned based on some of the comments regarding safety. Not to worry. This hotel is in a great location and close to everything. Upon check-in, we were warmly greeted by the owner, Miguel. The rooms were clean and perfect. The hotel staff were all incredibly friendly, and we all felt very welcome. Do yourself a favor - choose Artrip for your stay in Madrid!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ThysMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Thysman,
I remember you perfectly.Thank you very much for write good comments about the Artrip Hotel.
Thaks for your advice about the "safety" location, and our warmly welcome at the Hotel.

We are very happy to know that our work has gained a good stay with us.

We hope to see you again in Madrid and best regards.


Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in the Artrip Hotel and were very comfortable in this delightful building. Miguel the friendly owner together with Sara and Caridad always made us most welcome and were very helpful. Every member of staff we met during our stay here were polite and professional. Sara has helped us with our daughter's booking in June and Caridad with great patience printed our boarding cards helping us avoid a long queue at the airport.
We slept very well in the comfortable clean room with it's excellent shower and we also enjoyed the good breakfasts with locally produced food and great coffee,
The location suited us as it was short walk to the metro and many of the main sights and when we return to Madrid we won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear LucieBelfast,
Thanks for your time to devote some words to our Hotel as this is a gift to us. We also think that the most important point in a hotel is the service with a big and natural smile.

Thanks so much for your comments about our location, rooms, coffe and our Team, but the big win is that you want to come back to us whenever you are in Madrid.

Hope to see you soon at Artrip Hotel.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#3 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Property: Artrip Hotel
Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing