We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff great hotel”
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic staff great hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

First time in Madrid hotel Artrip location superb staff excellent especially Dani on reception breakfast good value 5 euro each very clean room would not hesitate to come back again May 2014 the Bernabeu tour is well worth a look even if not a big football fan the bus service is very good to get around all in all a great few days break

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Stephan W,
Thank you so much for this good comment. We try to do as best as we can everyday, and when a guest noticed it , we are very happy.

Our location is pretty good near the "triangle of arts" close to our hotel and the main railway station Atocha.

We´d like to see you again in Madrid. From now this hotel is your home.

Best regards from Dani and the rest of the team,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    264
    37
    2
    0
See reviews for
246
661
65
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
huntington, ny
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very clean. Basic but very pretty with an amazing shower and the little balcony was a big plus. Perfect in many ways and down the block from the metro and waking distance to Plaza de Espana. However, I personally did not love it. I was traveling with my ten year old son (would probably be different if I was with my husband). The immediate area is just okay. It's not "bad" but in no way charming or nice and I did not feel entirely comfortable with the people hanging out by the subway station. The restaurants were not nice right there and I was happy when we moved on. In all fairness to the hotel, I just did not love Madrid to travel with my son. Segovia, Seville and Ronda were much more our speed. The hotel had two little chairs in the lobby but no one hung out there. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. It was just my least favorite part of our trip. The hotel was certainly worth the price and we took the metro everywhere.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Stacey327,
We welcome your positive comments about the good value of the Artrip Hotel.
Certainly we are located in the heart of Madrid, surrounded by good Restaurants, the Museums of the city, as Prado and the most emblematic monuments such as the Royal Palace, Almudena Cathedral and Plaza Mayor.

Our Staff will always help you to find what you need.

We´d be happy to welcome you back at the Hotel.

Thanks and regards.

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, Maine
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked this lovely hotel based on the reviews found in Tripadvisor and was pleased how accurate the reviews were. I was there for only a few nights in mid May, and wished I could have stayed longer. A very special, small hotel with lovely staff. Though some have mentioned that the area where the hotel is found is not very fancy, I loved the area and the location. An area where the people of Madrid live and work. Great streets around the hotel with a wonderful row of tapas bars a couple of short blocks away. Very easy walks to everything and I was able to see many specials sights, plus the famous ones like the Prado. I hope to be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Barry M,
We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments, but also for your useful remarks about the area and neighborhood. I agree with you totally about the area, a bit bohemian but really safe and not touristic, but artistic.

We are very happy that you liked our location (near everything important in Madrid) and our staff, that it is the best compliments for a Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.


Best regards,


Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
842 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Very large, with modern design & a superb room giving us a free bottle of wine with their best tapas, what a treat, Sarah (a very enthusiastic, charming lady) thanks for everything for making our stay very memorable and lovely feeling, the way you explain where to start our walking tour, very accurate and I noticed that we're just walking in a circle, we almost finish to see and enjoy all Madrid's famous attractions- from Calle Olivar further up to Calle Atocha making a little right- Plaza Mayor then continue to Opera - Royale Palace- Jardin Sabatini thru a little square facing Gran Via -the 'Fifth Avenue of Madrid', all fantastic and well arrangement of beautiful building architectures all the way to US Embassy to Prado Museum- we did visit the place free because we reached the Musuem at almost 6pm ( free admission 6-8 pm) then to Reina Sofia to Botanical garden in Atocha Station then heading to your hotel....
Thanks also to Cari.... You made our stay the best part of our day!!!
Everybody must try to stay in your hotel, I am very positive with that..!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Jun J,
First of all thank you for this wonderful review, and from a traveller with a lot of experiences in many hotels as you have had in your life. Thank you so much for your kind words and consideration. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and liked the hotel and location.
I will share your comments with the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.

We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our location and good customer service.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here early May and would agree entirely with the positive reviews below. The owner said to us that good coffee, showers and beds were a priority for him, it shows. The staff are very helpful and the hotel is in a great position for visiting both the old part of the city and the museums. Coming from London we found the area very laid back and ok by comparison.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkdiscos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear dkdiscos,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks a lot for your comments about our privileged Location, showers, beds, coffee and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team, and we would love knowing that could visit the Hotel again when you return to Madrid.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Madrid at the Artrip and we couldn't recommend it highly enough. The area does look a bit scruffy at first but actually felt very safe in the evenings and there were plenty of little restaurants and bars around. Nothing fancy but good value. The hotel is lovely - clean, comfortable and a great location for museums and the Retiro park. The staff on reception were so helpful and friendly. Great breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and free internet. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Sharon F,
We appreciate a lot your good and positive comments about our Artrip Hotel.

Thanks for highlighting our strategic location in Madrid Town Center, near bars and restaurants. But also than you also about our friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms, continental breakfast and about he good value of this small and familiar boutique hotel.

So glad you had a good stay and would like to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 day trip to Madrid and can only add to the plaudits by other trip advisor contributors. The Artrip Hotel is small, friendly and very comfortable hotel, with spacious rooms which are decorated in a modern minimalist style.
The receptionists, James and Sarah, were truly outstanding, kind and helpful, they made us feel very welcome. Miguel who is the owner, introduced himself to us and told us about the history of the building. He gave us little pastries and was utterly charming and his command of English is excellent. Dining area is quite dark, but has been cleverly designed with strategic lighting to ensure it does not look too gloomy. Free tea and coffee is available all day, which is a lovely idea.
It is very close to the Lavapies Metro station which takes you anywhere you want to go in a very efficient way. Within 5 minutes we were in the main shopping area which was buzzing.
Madrid is a fascinating city,
Lavapies is a good choice if you want to be away from the main centre, but it lacks some of the class of other areas and is a little scruffy in parts.If you are not into Museums, I think it may be better to stay closer to the action.

Room Tip: All rooms look good, front ones have views but may be a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Hughes,
I remember you perfectly because I was at the front desk when you arrived at Artrip.

Your compliments of the Artrip Hotel are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Your compliments of our staff, location and are very much appreciated.

Thank so much you for choosing to stay with us, for your recommendations and for taking time to write a wonderful review.

We look forward to your return.

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#10 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Property: Artrip Hotel
Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing