We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A personal touch”
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #5 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A personal touch”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped off in Madrid as part of our honeymoon. We had a terrible time finding our rental car drop off at Atocha station and we walked in tired and a little miserable. Fortunately the staff here help to brighten your day. We were surprised and extremely grateful to find a bottle of red wine and a meat platter with an "enjoy your honeymoon" note. This is above and beyond for a non 5 or 6 star hotel and clearly helps contribute to their high ranking. A special thank you to all the staff that gave great tips and had an infectious enthusiasm. The only downside was our room was never cleaned but I'm sure that was just a small oversight. We'd recommend this on the extremely high level of service and their personal touch.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAU14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear MarkAU14,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you were comfortable with us. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the helpful Staff and personal touch and breakfast. Sorry and thanks for the oversight of the housekeeping service that day.

Thanks a lot for your recommendation.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    267
    37
    2
    0
See reviews for
248
669
66
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We just got back after spending a week in this hotel. The owner and his staff could not have been more helpful. Rooms were efficient and kept clean. It is conveniently located to Atocha station and the three main museums in Madrid. Also convenient for day trips to Toledo, Segovia and El Escorial. Travelling to and from the airport is easy but to save cost, it might be worth considering using the yellow airport express buses from the airport to Atocha. If we go back to Madrid, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank epsomsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear epsomsage,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel.

Thanks for your wonderful comments about our privileged Location and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team and we love knowing that would visit the Hotel again when you return to Madrid.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This small hotel (more like a B&B) deserves its #1 rating. It is beautifully decorated in a very modern style and the rooms are well laid out and efficient. Our modern bathroom worked very well -- with two sinks and a very nice shower. The breakfast room is small, but adequate, and the continental breakfast is quite adequate at this price point. The coffee machine is available at all times for guests and makes very decent coffee. There is no garage and it's difficult to find a place even to stand a car and load or unload it, so this place is best suited to non-car-users.

Located an easy 10 minute walk to Atocha train station and a short step to the Lavapies Metro station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isambard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Isambad40,
Thank you so much for your review. With comments as yours we can still keeping nº1 rating.
We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience. Although this is a new, small and familiar hotel, we like so much to hear such a nice words about the location, comfortable rooms, showers and breakfast.

Thanks again and best regards.


Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Artrip was a great find on trip advisor and I'm grateful for it. Small, very clean and stylish with the best coffee in town. The icing on the cake is the wonderful host and owner Miguel, who was so warm and welcoming. We hope to go back some day.

Though a word of caution about getting to the hotel, unless familiar with the language it is preferable to take a cab from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNarain2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear SNarain2001,
We appreciate your time to review the Artrip Hotel. I remember you because we had a interesting chat. Very pleased to knew you.
Thanks a lot for your comments about our clean and stylish hotel and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team and we love knowing that you´d visit the hotel again when you return to Madrid.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, Kent, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Artrip Hotel is an excellent example of the growing trend for quality "boutique" hotels. The rooms are minimally but attractively decorated, and extraordinarily comfortable, with careful attention to small details. (Note the perfectly polished, fresh, and crispy apples, and eye-catching blue water bottles.) The walk-in showers were particularly nice, with their slatted wooden floors, and the faux-reed matting of the flooring felt refreshing underfoot after a day of sightseeing.

Located in a "real" neighbourhood, Artrip's location catches the buzz of Madrid without being the least bit "touristy", yet is near to the major attractions, either on foot or via the Lavapies metro stop nearby. (We bought the 3-day metro pass and transfer from/to the airport, a great value.) There is also a good grocery store and a wonderful tapas bar (Portomarin) at the Lavapies plaza. The street outside could be a bit noisy at night, but the double-glazed French doors were an effective barrier and there is air-conditioning so it's not necessary to have the windows open.

The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful, even researching and providing details of what to do in Madrid on Easter Sunday (a thrilling drum procession through the streets). The excellent breakfast (pastries, meat, cheese, fresh fruit, cereals) and anytime espresso machine topped off a delightful visit.

Room Tip: We liked the quieter loft room on the top floor, with tiny windows overlooking the tiled rooftops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrisUSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear harrisUSUC,
We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments but also for your useful remarks about the modern rooms of our hotel.
We are very happy that you liked our breakfast, location near the Atocha Railway Station and our staff, that it is the best compliments for a Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had room 101b at the front of the hotel and had great street views …it is in a bohemian area of Madrid ..working class but it definitely warrants the Number one position on Trip advisor…the room was crisp white, with welcoming apple and a huge bonus kettle and tea……everything that the weary traveller could want. The room was a good size although as a solo traveller I always pay for a double . The huge asset is the staff , particularly Sarah at the front desk …she is a gem …welcoming, assists in every respect ….the owner was wonderful as well and we had terrific chats …..the free high quality coffee machine available at all times topped off a great stay …..have small euro currency for local shops as it is a working class neighbourhood..10 - 20 minute walk to the centre but very close to the Reina sofia

Room Tip: Room 101b was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear 77smiley,
We remember you perfectly. Thank you so much for such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
You´ve answered with a great perfection of details on the Artrip´s hotel description services.

Thank you again for choosing us for your stay in Madrid. I am very happy to hear you liked the locations, but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff It is glad to read they provided to you an efficiente service to help you. I always feel this is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

Your compliments of our kettles and good coffee are very much appreciated too.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice little boutique near the Plaza Mayor, so the location can't be beat. The room was small but adequate, and bed was comfortable. Great coffee machine available 24/7, and breakfast was good. A little bit of noise from a room nearby, but the quaint and cool vibe of the hotel made up for any shortfalls there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2tripalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear luv2tripalot,
Thank you very much for write good comments about the location, value for money, good beds and service of the Hotel.

We are very happy to know that our work has gained a good stay with us.

We do hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
440 reviews
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#11 of 436 in Madrid
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Property: Artrip Hotel
Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing