We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic trip in Spain!!”
Review of Artrip Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artrip Hotel
Ranked #9 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Sooo.. This review is a year late but better late than never!! Madrid was one of the stops on our two week journey and we selected this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews. For that I say..thank you trip advisor!! Just a one nigh stop here to check out the Capitol and all I can say is wow!! From the wonderful hotel to its staff, I was left speechless. Even made some very special memories that will remain prices less!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Henry M,
Thank you so much for writing this review later anyway. We appreciate your good and positive comments about our Artrip Hotel. Happy too that you decided the hotel stay trough Tripadvisor.

Thanks for highlighting our staff and customer service finally of this small and familiar boutique hotel.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a great hotel! The staff was so nice and helpful! The rooms are modern and well appointed with comfortable beds. We were able to easily walk from the Atocha train station to the hotel and also to several areas of interest. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kaylo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Kaylor80,
Thanks a lot you for your nice review. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience . We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the location, comfortable beds and helpful Staff.

Thanks so much for telling that you´d comeback, and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,


Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

WOW, and this is a 2 star hotel? the friendliest employees are working here.
If we go back to Madrid, we know where we want to stay!
Really everything was perfect. We had the best time.

Thank you Artrip!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nickvdweck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Nickvdweck,
We appreciate a lot your time to your wonderful review of the Artrip Hotel.

Thanks so much for your comments about our good value for a two stars hotel, and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team and we love knowing that visit the Hotel again when you return to Madrid.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My mother, sister, and I revisited Madrid this summer and stayed at Hotel Artrip again. The service is incomparable to that of other hotels. The hotel still has the same warm atmosphere we remember and the staff as always were very friendly and approachable; they actually remembered us from our first stay! You could not find a more down-to-Earth hotel in Spain. The rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated and the breakfast is simple but delicious (the coffee is fantastic, by the way.)

The area around the hotel has a very urban/artsy feel and hosts a diverse group of locals. They had a concert just around the corner from the hotel which was very lovely (not to worry, the noise didn't bleed through the hotel.) There are several restaurants and pubs within walking distance of the hotel and a self-service laundry right across the street.So don't hesitate to book a room here if you plan on traveling to Madrid!


* Just a tip, there are two grocery markets within walking distance from the hotel, one right by the hotel and the other about a 5 minute walk to the left of the hotel. I'd strongly advise you walk the 5 minutes to the other because the one nearer to the hotel is owned by the rudest couple we've ever had the displeasure of meeting in our travels; the older woman follows you around the shop as you browse as though she expects you to steal and would just stare at us stone faced when we asked her where to find specific products (we're native Spanish speakers so it wasn't like she didn't understand). I didn't get the name of the shop, but the owners are an older Asian couple with a permanent scowl, store seemed empty most of the time. The other is much bigger an has a wider selection as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Sylvia C,
First of all thanks so much for come back to our hotel again, and for this fantastic review.
Thank you also for your kind words and consideration. We are very happy that you enjoyed your second time here and liked the hotel and location.
I will share your comments with the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.

We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the hotel´s atmosphere, spacious rooms and good coffee.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again and again.

With kind regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I wish I could give this hotel 5 stars - it has so many positive features - most notably the stylish design. Yet we felt the Artrip missed a few creature comforts in a sole pursuit of design excellence.

While the general area is slightly 'unkempt' - the hotel itself is modern and bright and within walking distance of lots of bars, cafes and shops. It's also only 2 minutes from Lavapies metro station. Our front balcony room was spotlessly clean, well maintained, a reasonable size and featured a fantastic 'rainwater' shower. Breakfast while minimal in choice provided a welcome and ample start to the day. The staff were always polite and genuinely helpful - they even let me store my baggage for 5 days while I went to Portugal. It also feels very secure - you need your key to open the front door and operate the lift. The free Wi Fi worked very well.

So why not 5 stars...?
There are no clothes drawers - not one, nor is there anywhere to store suitcases. The shower door opens directly into the living room - which means no privacy! The frosted glass toilet door is in direct line with the window - you need to close the window at night so the neighbours can't see you. The safe is at floor level - I had to lie on the floor to use it. We had to buy a cake of soap - the hotel don't supply any. The doors can't be shut without slamming. The cord on the jug is too short to allow for pouring and etc.

So there it is: mostly good but a few not so goods. I should add that we are a 'mature' couple. Maybe this hotel is more suited to younger people - travelling light.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear panther029,
We welcome your comments to the Artrip Hotel.
Our Staff will always help you to find what you need in your stay in Madrid. As you said we are a modern and stylish small hotel, and we try o do it better and improve every day. Thanks a lot for your feedback, is an important information for us.

Best regards and thanks so much for choosing us,


Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose Artrip Hotel because of the close proximity to the train station and the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were in no way disappointed! The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, in a very natural and caring way. We found the hotel well positioned to walk to the top attractions (Reina Sofia just around the corner), in an interesting area with a not-too-tourist feel, which we really liked. We very much enjoyed our stay at Artrip and Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_Sydney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Jenny_Sydney5,
We appreciate a lot your time to review the Artrip Hotel.
Thanks so much for your comments about our privileged Location and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer their positive comments to all our Team, and we love knowing that you enjoyed your stay in Madrid.

Hope to see you again some day.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

So the good - easy to get to from the train station, lovely, lovely staff - helpful, friendly attentive, eager to please and really there are just times when someone having a good grasp on your native tongue (in this case English) makes this easier and helpful. Most of our trip we had been in an apartment or two separate rooms (two adults and two young teens) but for this one night in Madrid we opted for a family room. A good value at 121€ (15% discount for booking early) - one big bed and two twins. The location is good in that it isn't far to walk to many locations. The owner and other woman working were more than helpful about helping us plan for our one afternoon in Madrid.

The less good - the room is rather gloomy - really the only light comes from windows that look out onto a light/air shaft in the building. I wouldn't want to spend more than a night here - too claustrophobic and gray. The room was big enough but the bathroom area, cleverly arranged is really part of the main room so not really good for other than sleeping and storing your stuff but wouldn't want to be inside for too long. The neighborhood itself for a few blocks around is a tiny bit sketchy.

All in all, good for what we wanted with a top-notch staff but I wouldn't personally spend multiple nights with a whole family in one room - I need sunshine and fresh air.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tgnorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Ángel P, Propietario at Artrip Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear tgnorcal,
We appreciate your good and positive comments about your accommodation at Artrip Hotel. Thanks so much for highlighting our good customer service and very good value of this small and familiar boutique hotel.

Next time you can choose instead of junior suite-family room (first floor), our standard rooms with french balcony and incredible views of the Plaza de Lavapies.

So glad you had a good stay and would like to see you again soon. And thanks a lot for choosing this hotel for your short stay in Madrid.

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Porras García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 442 in Madrid
578 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 442 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Chamberí
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 442 in Madrid
1,205 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#13 of 442 in Madrid
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artrip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artrip Hotel

Address: Valencia, 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £74 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artrip Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artrip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing