We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and in a wonderful location for partying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barbieri Sol Hostel
Ranked #91 of 411 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed 23 May 2014

As the name suggest Barbieri Sol Hostel is located just off Sol Plaza, in an area known for its nightlife. The hostel offers competative prices and a really good breakfast which is included in the price, however it seems to have a certain dull and lifeless feeling about it.

If you are prepared to overlook this the hostel is conveniently located near numerous bars, resurants and clubs which offer a range of food and themes to suit everyone, from authentic Spanish food to cheap(ish) beers.

Although located in a party area this is not a party hostel, better suitied towards those who are after an alternative to constanst socialising and drinking. Sleep quality can suffer as Spaniards will party right through the night, complete with music, singing and dancing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank As2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Barbieri Sol Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

the hostel was very good and the best value for money! its location is ideal because you have access to everything easily and quickly (shops, restaurants, clubs and sights) very close to sol square where there is the metro stop !!! the staff was very helpful and willing to give us information! we had a good breakfast too every morning !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katerinaal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed for some days in Barbieri Sol in Madrid and i really have the best memories i could ever have. Friendly staff, nice atmosfere , nice breakfast, nice terraza and the most important thing for me was that it was situated in an area where you have very close everything you need. The best PARTY places are next to the hostel so at night you have many options to have fun without walking a lot .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarySam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Each year I travel to a new location with a group of Morris Dancers, it would be true to say that we are all on the mature side but choose Hostels because they generally offer somewhere cheap and convenient to stay with basic facilities. This Hostel chosen over the internet was in a good location near to bars and restaurants and convenient to the metro etc.
However it only provides the barest of facilities , the bathrooms in some of the rooms were so small and badly planned that using them or getting a shower proved quite difficult. The breakfast has to be the poorest we have ever experienced. In fact it was so basic we ended up going to the local restaurant for breakfast most days.
Access is also quite a trek as it is situated up 4 flights of stairs above shops and offices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as they are away from the bars
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I loved staying here! It is in the center of Madrid! The staff is incredible and the hostel so cozy !!! I think if you want a great hostel close to the center and want to get some actual sleep at night, then this is the place for you!! I enjoyed my time here and will keep coming back every time I am in Madrid!

Room Tip: I loved the 3 person dorm, I thought it was the best! It was nice and quiet and the best thing about...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The location of this hostile is great, and the desk attendant was super helpful when it came to pointing us to great things to do while we were there. We got a free room upgrade while we were there because the place wasn't very crowded due to it being off season. The terrace was a great place to chill out in the mornings. The breakfast was simple, but the kitchen and dining area was a fun place to hang out in the morning. All the guests were from other countries, which made for fun conversations.

I had two complaints: 1) We visited in December and the dorm was really cold at night. 2) There was a lot of noise coming in off the street.

Overall: This was a great experience and a really good start to my trip here. I have written more about my trip on my blog: http://leahsdailydose.blogspot.com/2013/12/madrid-spain.html

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

The hostel is located on a street which is lined with bars and clubs so if you are hoping to get a good nights sleep do not stay at this hostel. Awkward having the shower in the room, would be better in a shared location in the hallway. Room very simple few power points. Good value for money due to its convenient location. Great free breakfast and very friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Soccergirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Lavapies
Mad Hostel
Mad Hostel
#50 of 411 in Madrid
362 reviews
Centro
Hostal Puerta del Sol
Hostal Puerta del Sol
#53 of 411 in Madrid
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
#45 of 411 in Madrid
437 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 411 in Madrid
239 reviews
Malasana
Mad4You Hostel
Mad4You Hostel
#26 of 411 in Madrid
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbieri Sol Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbieri Sol Hostel

Address: Calle Victoria 6 | 2nd Floor, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 411 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £22 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbieri Sol Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barbieri Sol Hostel located at 1 minutes from main center of Madrid, Puerta del Sol. Very close to Plaza Mayor, Royal Palace, Museums area.Comfortable, secure and clean! with a experienced staff who will give you the best tips to discover Madrid and have a unforgettable stay.Breakfast included24hs receptionBed linen includedFull equiped kitchenFree WIFIWe are a guarantee of quality, good prices and best location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barbieri Sol Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing