We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madrid Motion Hostel
Ranked #310 of 399 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value and great location”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the hostel. It's very walkable to the metro stations, and the main plaza. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. The hostel staff is very friendly and helpful and they would gladly give us suggestions on places to eat and shop. The free breakfasts were served cafeteria style. In the evenings, the breakfast area is turned into a bar with reasonably priced drinks. The only negative is that there is noise from passing pedestrians, and delivery trucks even in the middle of the night so be sure to bring your ear plugs or white noise apps!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    110
    92
    62
    90
See reviews for
16
51
136
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

the hostel is located in the centre of town, a few minutes from one of the main plaza and the Main Street (gran via). the room was small as expected of a typical hostel but it was clean. the doors to your room were terrible, it took forever to lock and unlock them. breakfast is included but it's the same everyday and after 6 days we got quite bored of it. the front desk is open 24hours, some of the staff are very nice and helpful but one of them was rude and not particularly friendly. however, we did not get the room we booked for, though they gave us one night free for the trouble, we had to check out and in again two times during our 6 day stay. one time the receptionist even gave us a key to a room where someone was still staying at, which is extremely unsafe and rude for the people of that room, we return the keys immediately and he did apologise but it was a bad impression in terms of safety at the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidilai3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I spent 3 nights there. Hostel is perfectly located! Less then 5min walking from Puerta del Sol and Gran Via & Callao subway stations. Rooms and ensuited bath are clean. Beds are comfortable. In room lockers are enough to store mid-size backpack. I didn't see any common bath, so consider taking a smaller room to avoid waiting in line for a ensuited bath ;)
Breakfast is simple: cereals, toasts, jam, fruits, tea/coffee, ... but nothing is limited ;)
Watch out - you won't prepare breakfast on your own, as far there is no kitchen :(
The reception stuff speaks English and is nice and helpful :)
Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

It is well located. You can get off at “Callao”. It is a Metro Station - line 3 or 5. I stayed in a shared room ensuite. The hostel doesn’t have bathrooms outside the bedroom. It is not good because when the bathroom is busy you don’t have the other. The reception staff was very helpful. They helped me with my bus reservation. I was there in April, 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Loved this place.
Location is awesome just about a minutes walk from the main street. Reception staff is very helpful and i always felt comfortable to ask a ton of questions. Bar below the reception is small but really awesome! Its fairly cheap too, i paid about 2 euros for a big glass of beer!

Rooms are a little small but clean. Washroom is clean and big.

Definitely worth the 16 euros i paid a night! Would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taruneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Good location. Rooms very basic and clean. Miserable staff and not massively helpful. Broken locker and front door took ages to unlock and lock. Breakfast was adequate but limited choice. Toast and two types of cereal.
Okay value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

the Madrid Motion Hostel is absolutly worth the price, people are friendly and helpful, the place is right in the middle of everything. The breakfast is a littel too sweet for my taste, but anyway, at least there is a breakfast with coffee and cereals and fruits.
We even get used to the elevator which was a little scary at thhe beginning. I would definetly recommand it to anybody who does not need a five star experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hausammeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#11 of 399 in Madrid
557 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#12 of 399 in Madrid
746 reviews
Lavapies
Las Musas Hostel
Las Musas Hostel
#22 of 399 in Madrid
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Room007 Ventura Hostel
Room007 Ventura Hostel
#18 of 399 in Madrid
618 reviews
Centro
TOC Hostel Madrid
TOC Hostel Madrid
#13 of 399 in Madrid
440 reviews
Huertas
Cat's Hostel
Cat's Hostel
#26 of 399 in Madrid
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrid Motion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrid Motion Hostel

Property: Madrid Motion Hostel
Address: Calle Mesonero Romanos 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 399 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Madrid Motion Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madrid Motion Hostel is a brand new youth hostel located at Madrid's very city centre. Our hostel offers you bedrooms for 2 to 6 people with private bathrooms, buffet breakfast included in the price and a wide set of common areas and services. Our hostel is located right besides the Gran Via Avenue, 2 minutes walking distance from Sol square, very close to Plaza Mayor, Chueca and Malasana, some of the most trendy neighborhoods in the city, and inside the Preciados district, the city centre's shopping area.All 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 bedrooms feature private bathrooms, big windows with views to the city centre, air conditioning and heating, top quality wooden beds, mattresses and bed linen and individual lockers.Enjoy our common areas with free WiFi and free computers 24h, try our typical sangria and beer in the bar, meet new people at our lounge area. Also you can wash your clothes in our laundry room. If you are looking for culture and entertainment, we also organise free city tours, flamenco shows, activities inside our bar, like our tapas workshops & tastings, and visits to Toledo, Avila and Segovia among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madrid Motion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing