We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Era

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Era
Ranked #180 of 411 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Solid place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice and the price is a good value. WiFi is included and it's located in a good area. The kitchen could use some work (like, more than a microwave), but over all a solid hostel experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    36
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
1
5
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The staff were great very helpful and friendly and the location was perfect. A few negative things; the kitchen was very limited (no hot plates, small amount of cutlery), the room I was in let every single voice in from out in the common room. I found myself being woken up at 5am by people talking outside My room loudly. This hostel is rated above 90% on hostelbookers, I would say it should be more like 70%.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kthomp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

A wonderfully friendly place right in the centre of Madrid. Convenient to all the attraction, subway etc.. A wonderful atmosphere and a place to relax. I would definitely stay another time.
Rudi is a great host and runs a tight ship.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluewrenrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

As soon as I entered the hostel to check in, I noticed how friendly the staff were. Was greeted by a man who worked there (not sure of his name) and he was very helpful! we were slightly early to check in due to train times yet this wasn't a problem and he still let us have breakfast!
The communal area is great with a clean kitchen, sofas, tables and TV. Made many friends here! The free breakfast was great! With a choice of muffins, croissants, toast, juices and cereal.
I stayed in the 10 bed dorm and only one complaint, we weren't able to open the windows or even the blind so the room was very warm, especially at night, and really dark during the days. Would have been nice to let some light in.
The location was perfect, pretty much in the city centre, only a 5 minute walk from the bars, main shops and many restaurants. The metro is also only round the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

The staff is unbelievably friendly, helpful, accommodating and the hostel is well cleaned. The individual changing area for each shower is really nice and the kitchen is just what you need (but no oven). Excellent location ad great hostel to meet other people!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flrose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Hostel Era, both Rudy & Manuel were very kind and helpful, friendly and offered up good advice on where to visit in Madrid and how to get to those great places! The only thing I would say is if staying there, the rooms off of the kitchen/lounge area can be a bit loud. But it's nothing a pair of earplugs can't take care of! The location is great, especially if you enjoy late night restaurant and bar visits. The showers were great and the hostel was very clean. Thanks for the stay in Madrid!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottakeepgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

All the staff were wonderful, Manuel at reception was fantastic and the owner Rudi was so kind and helpful in giving me advice on where to live in Madrid. The hostel is small but has a nice atmosphere - and very clean :-)

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Raphi_Rossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
Hostel Era Alonso Martinez
#229 of 411 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Centro
Madrid Motion Hostel
Madrid Motion Hostel
#314 of 411 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Huertas
D'Hostel Madrid
D'Hostel Madrid
#107 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scout Madrid Hostel
#111 of 411 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Lavapies
Las Musas Hostel
Las Musas Hostel
#17 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Centro
Los Amigos Hostel
Los Amigos Hostel
#85 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Era? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Era

Property: Hostel Era
Address: Calle San Mateo 2 Planta 1 Puerta A, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 411 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Era 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Era reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing