We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot to see Madrid, Toledo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Ranked #41 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at NH Paseo for a few days with a friend, to sightsee and return to museums I couldn't get enough of. The NH boasted a central location and we went to the three best museums in town, took a fast train from Atocha to Toledo, and had our choice of restaurants, including a fine Korean restaurant, a Thai restaurant and the hotel's own tappas bar. Great view of Neptune, lovely room and stunning modern bath. Excellent service from every person on staff, above and beyond the call of duty all the time. But my favorite spot was in the penthouse gym----a stunning turret equipped for the best views and most fun workout you could imagine. They gave me a late checkout without a problem. And the breakfast---room, food and service---was a daily treat that made an early rise a happy one.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Neptune on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel was in a great location. I caught the bus from the airport and got off in the city and it was about a - 10 minute walk to the hotel. It was easy to find as it was opposite the Museo del Prado. There is a great tapas bar downstairs and the buffet breakfast was open till 11.00.
My only thing I wasn't happy about was my shower wasn't hot...but apparently you needed to turn a knob somewhere (I should have asked).friendly staff and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleblackgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a great citytrip in Madrid during wintertime. Though it was wintertime, we had nice weather and a lot of Sunshine! We enjoyed Paseo del Prado. It's a good hotel, small but nice rooms and amazing breakfast! It's only situated on a 10 min walking trip to the historic city center!
We loved Madrid, we will certainly go back, and we will recomment Paseo del Prado!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsshanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Location, service, comfort, space - everything you could want in a hotel in one of Europe's busiest cities. We stayed here 3 nights, July 1-4
Beginning with location - we were able to walk to NH Paseo Prado from the Atocha train station, were close to a metro (though we didn't use it) and were a 30 minute ride from Barajas Airport. We were within walking distance to the Reina Sofia, Thyssen, and Prado (literally right across the street), and were within a 15 minute walk of the Sol area. Staff was friendly upon our check-in and made taxi reservations for us smoothly (asking every time if we needed a wakeup call). The rooms were large and clean with a very elegant bathroom, and we were provided with fresh, high quality towels, robes, and toiletries. Even though we were on the 1st floor and the hotel is at one of the busiest traffic circles in Madrid, the room was quiet and we slept comfortably. Breakfast, though expensive, was phenomenal, and the hotel is also attached to a great tapas bar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in July on the bookend of a trip arriving and leaving Madrid. Great location to museums, gardens and train station. Our first room was a bit smokey and they went out of their way letting us choose a new one. Try rooms 401, 402, 301, 301 that overlook the plaza fountains. Nice tapas bar below and a great breakfast (but it is 25 euro per person). A Starbucks next door which in Madrid is pretty empty in the morning.
The staff recomended El Rincon De Esteban Restaurante which was great (a walk to-the head waiter met us halh way there)
This hotel is situated among other "premier" hotels but it gave you a real feeling of Madrid-
well worth the value. I can't say enough about the excellent staff-so helpful with directions, reservations, boarding passes-everything.

Room Tip: Rooms 301,302, 401, 402 overlooking plaza fountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruckbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of June. We booked through Lastminute.com and felt we got a very good deal which included our flights from Liverpool. We got the airport shuttle (5 euros) which only took 20 minutes and stopped quite near the hotel.

When we checked in we were told by the delightful receptionist that we had only booked a standard room which had no view and for 10 euros per night we could ugrade. We were very pleased we did as our room then had a fantastic view of the beautiful Neptune Fountain and was well worth paying the extra. We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel and ate instead at a Starbucks a few feet from the front entrance. We did eat one night on the terrace downstairs and had great tapas. The service was good too.

The red tourist bus stops right outside the hotel and this is a great way to see the city if you don't have much time. You can pay on the bus or get tickets at the hotel reception. If you are over 65 it is even better value at just 12 euros each (half price) for 2 days, hopping on and off as much as you like over the two routes on offer. This hotel is very well situated close to the museums and botanical gardens (free to over 65's!) and the Retiro park. I cannot reccommend it highly enough if you want good accommodation, conveniently situated for the main attractions, at a decent price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Neptune Fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The NH hotel Paseo del Prado was an excellent hotel and the best NH i've ever been to. It's close proximity to the beautiful botanical gardens of madrid and the world famous Prado art museum was great because those were the two biggest things we did in madrid. Its a 5 minute walk to La Plaza mayor and El Mercado San Juan. If you are looking at this location, you don't mind spending a lot more and luxury is for you than I would stay at the Ritz or the Westin. My biggest problem with all the NH hotels is the wi-fi. This was free wi-fi with your stay and it was the slowest i've ever experienced although I wouldn't come to Europe to stay in a hotel and go on the internet.
In these hotels they give quite a few things in your bathroom I didn't even have to open my toiletry kit because provided was hand soap, lotion, shampoo, shower gel (the standards) and a shaver with shaving cream, 2 toothbrushes and tooth paste tubes, a sponge for showering, and tons of other stuff that would make this review to long for you to want to read. But my favorite thing about the rooms was the adjustable massaging beds remote control and super comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#36 of 438 in Madrid
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 438 in Madrid
1,584 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Paseo del Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Paseo del Prado

Address: Plaza Canovas del Castillo 4 | Barrio de Las Letras, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Gran Hotel Canarias)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Madrid
#31 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#73 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £121 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Paseo del Prado 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five-star hotel ideally located in the historical section of Madrid, NH Collection Paseo del Prado is strategically situated in the Golden Triangle of Art comprised of the Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza and Reina Sofia museums, with easy access to many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Paseo del Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Paseo Del Prado Hotel Madrid
Nh Hotels Madrid
Nh Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing