We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Duque de Alba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Duque de Alba
Ranked #118 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this apartment for a few nights. Everything went perfect. Right when I arrived to the apartment I had a nice girl Cristina meet me.

The apartment does not have any signs but this place is simple to reach. As soon as you get out of the Tirsa de Molina metro you will have Calle Espada right in front of you. You go down only one block and at Calle Juanelo is the apartment. If you see the photos you can see the wooden door of the place. It is very easy to find when you know what you are looking for.

The apartment had everything you can need including a coffee maker, toaster, oven , microwave, cable tv, pots and pans. The bed was comfortable. At least when I was there it was relatively quiet. I was never awoken at night. The A/C worked fine.

I had no problem with the shower but it is small. Someone else may complain about this but I didn't have any issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GringoEnMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    21
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Appartment was good, with more equipment than advertised. (Iron, coffee pot, hairdryer etc.) Expected it to be nosier than it was. Two minutes to the metro, Ten minutes to Plaza Mayor or Sol.
Service needs a little improvement, as arrangements for pick up of keys was not great, nor was the expected towel change. But i would stay there again. Would advise calling to agree key pick up time. Felt safe walking around area as there were people around until late.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian-g-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toulouse
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I totally disagree with the harsh French review...and find it a bit sad that this person found it really difficult to wait for someone to arrive with a key. The lady was bang on time, took.the balance payment quickly and told us we could leave keys in the apartment on check out day...no difficulties at all.

We had a one bed appartment on first floor, two big windows, plenty of light. Not much more expensive to have a larger appartment and we appreciated the separate living room. Clean, bright, modern, comfy bed, fantastic shower. Free wifi. The closest streets have few cars, ...if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs...but no major issues with traffic or people..the nearest bars are up on the square and no loud music heard. The area is not as chic as up around Gran Via and Sol..but its fine...

There is a nice coffee shop for breakfast...left out of door then first right. Good price. There is a Lidl for food shopping next to metro. We ate at Tapas del Mundo at other end of square. To be honest, tapas and a beer or glass of wine not expensive generally.

A good choice!

Good location for walking to main sights,Plaza Mayor 15 mns,Prado 20 mns.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nothingtoulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

After seeing that this hotel has considrable less reviews than in other websites I decided to give it a boost. These apartments are really nice and clean, the bathroom shower is very cool with water massage, lights, a mirror and even radio! The apartment also has a full kitchenetter, a microwave, a medium-sized fridge, and a good internet connection.

The location of the hotel is excellent, being only 2 minutes away from Tirso di Molen metro station and a 10 minute walk to Puerta del Sol, not to mention the proximity to many excellent restaurants which I'll be reviewting (and praising) as well.

Cons: 1) Not easy to find at first because the hotel has no sign! but the staff are friendly and expect someone to be waiting for you to hand you the keys so not a big problem.

2) The apartment is not really soundproof, as you get the street noise and the music from nearby stores as well as the neigbors. This could be an issue to some people.

3) The towels were changed only once during our 1 week stay, but i guess if we had told them before that we want them changed more frequently they would have done it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmogeoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Apartamentos Palacio Real
Apartamentos Palacio Real
#272 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Lavapies
Apartamentos Tirso de Molina
Apartamentos APR Numancia
#255 of 407 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
THC Tirso de Molina
THC Tirso de Molina
#41 of 280 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
La Latina
THC Latina Hostel
THC Latina Hostel
#48 of 280 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Lavapies
Analina Rooms
Analina Rooms
#193 of 280 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Duque de Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Duque de Alba

Property: Apartamentos Duque de Alba
Address: Calle Juanelo 1, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Duque de Alba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos Duque de Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing