We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”
Review of Taberna del Chato

Taberna del Chato
Ranked #62 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$25
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Huertas
Description: Nice tavern located on the most central and commercial zone of Madrid (walking distance to la Puerta del Sol and Plaza de Santa Ana). Ideal to make a stop along the way to taste its tapas or to have dinner sitting at one of its small rooms. Very varied menu of Spanish portions and bite-sized appetizers. Kind employees. Kitchen open to the public for directly dealing with the chef. Sangría. Cocktails.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We ate here on our final night of our holiday, and it was easily the best meal we'd had.
We ordered lots of small dishes, including the pheasant pate, prawns, and teriyaki beef, and then a large dish of steak. Everything was cooked to perfection and delicious. When the bill came, we couldn't believe it. Due to the quality and quantity of food, we had expected it to be at least 15-20 euros more than it came too. Drinks were really affordable too, and the wine was delicious.

The decor of the restaurant was really lovely, and our waiter was brilliant. Really friendly, and absolutely made our night.

Our only regret is not finding this amazing restaurant earlier in our holiday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGilb93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    400
    108
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Delicious food, friendly service”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The octopus was delicious - potato puree sauce! I have food allergies so sometimes it's difficult to order, but they spoke good english & recommended fabulous dishes and altered a couple dishes so I could get the full dinning experience with my boyfriend. Best dining experience in Madrid - better than the fancier places we visited.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead new hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Awesome place with great food, service was awesome and the waiter was super fruendky abd spoke some english, he asked us whatvwe wanted abd we didnt know so he said he would surprise us. We got this chicken in a sweet sauce that we asked for another, we also got this shrimp tempura one, these cheese and jam balls, teo beef abd rice ones, a mini hanburger, a plate of meat with bread and 5 beers fir 56 euros , great deal!

Helpful?
Thank rmt6
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
“Great Sangria! ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I was there the other day with my friends.
The sangria was really great! I couldn't stop drinking it!
The food was also tasty and the prices quite reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Chris-Ron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We visited having seen the reviews on here and having looked at the menu in the window. We had the rapid for 2 which includes sangria or wine. This is a fixed selection of dishes plus four you choose yourself. Without exception they were all fabulous, if we are back in Madrid we will be back here. I must also mention the friendly and efficient service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lazytoad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna del Chato also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Taberna del Chato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing