We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place & value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
U Hostels
Ranked #9 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place & value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here twice on my trip once in a private room with a private bath and the other in a shared room shared bath and found both experiences to be fantastic. Compared to many other hostels the shared bathroom here are very conveniently individually designed and abundant there were no shortages at any time. The private room with private bathroom was no different to a normal hotel room and I found it to be very clean and comfortable. the location is convenient to the city center maybe a 15 minute walk to get to the heart of it. Would stay here again for sure. Oh only odd thing is their city map has the royal palace marked on the wrong place, lead to a bit of a wild goose chase but we found it in the end.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    294
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
21
90
462
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! It's clean, the showers are amazing and the wifi always works really well. There are computers (and swings!) on every level, a cinema room to chill out in and the rooms are huge - each bed even has its own light and power socket.
The staff were friendly and offered lots of activities. The one thing I would say is don't pay 10 Euro for the tapas experience (sorry Pablo!). You can go to El Tigre yourself and pay 6 Euro to get the exact same thing. Having said that, the guide who took us was absolutely lovely and we had an awesome group, so it may be worth it for some (just not a poor backpacker) :)
Definitely book this hostel, it's the best!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdineuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hostel is (in a good way) a big-time operation. It almost felt like a small-scale hotel, with multiple floors, electronic key cards, and a check-in desk on a floor separate from any of the bedrooms. That being said, the quality of everything was really good. The beds were comfortable, wifi was great, and the bathrooms were clean. Outlets were well-located in the rooms. Despite the fact that the hostel holds A LOT of people, it did not feel overwhelming. I only stayed one night, but I would have gladly stayed longer if I needed to. It is located close to the metro and is, as far as Madrid goes, conveniently located to the airport. At the same time, everything in the city is very accessible from this location as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I really like this hostel. I had a good time there, love the decoration and the cine room. They organised a lot of activities in order for you to enjoy your stay. Beds are comfy. Only thing is that the showers are not so clean but it is not the fault of the hostel is the fault of the people who left their hair in the showers, those are who we have to blame. It is a pretty big hostel so the cleaners cannot be everywhere.
Only thing that can be improved is the breakfast, the choice is limited you only have a toast with a cofee or orange juice. If they change their breakfast it would be a 5 on 5!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zappc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U Hostels M, Director General at U Hostels, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest

First of all, thanks a lot for your commentary for us is really important

Its true that one of our first priority is the cleaning, thats why we have two cleaning teams one in the morning and another one in the afternoon for keeping our hostel as clean as posible for our guests

We try to improve for giving our guests the best service posible

As you ask for we are improving our free breakfast including churros and free coffee.

We hope to see you again

And again thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was in an 8 bed dorm in this hostel. Nice clean rooms, nothing fancy but it did the job. All the beds had lights and charger points and there were lockers. Wifi was a bit temperamental. Breakfast wasn't great....you got 2 slices of toast and a drink of juice included. Anything else you had to pay extra. Staff were very friendly and they organised various activities at night and during the day such as a walking tour.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank slesserfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro H, Gerente at U Hostels, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking your time to give us a comment!

We are glad that you like our spacious 8 bed dorm, our cleaning and great common areas

On the breakfast side, we have improved our free breakfast in order to include Madrid famous Churros!

Now, you can choose from a continental free breakfast or our Madrid tasty churros!
You also got a free coffee. In case you want a full breakfast including ham, cheese, toasts, churros, espresso coffee, fruit, etc, we have to charge a bit… This way the people who want a better breakfast can pay for it and people who doesn't, don't. We could have improved by raising our room cost, but we do think that this way people who doesn't want a full breakfast doesn't have to pay

Many thanks for your understanding

we hope to see u soon at U Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I only stayed one night but had a great experience anyway. The bed was so comfy and even though I stayed in a 12 bed dorm, it felt private. If you pay extra you get a nice breakfast, the one included is not that good.
The staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro H, Gerente at U Hostels, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest!

so many thanks for your great comment and review!

We wish you have stayed more ;), though we are glad that in that short time you really appreciate our cleanliness and super comfy beds ;)

We have now improve our Free breakfast to include our famous Madrid churros! we hope that this addition can even improve a great experience such as traveling to Madrid and sleep in U Hostels ;)

We hope you had a safe journey

best

U hostels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Centro
SunGate Hostel
SunGate Hostel
#1 of 407 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#4 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#10 of 407 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#8 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Centro
TOC Hostel Madrid
TOC Hostel Madrid
#13 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Hostels

Property: U Hostels
Address: Calle Sagasta 22, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — U Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
U Hostels is Madrid's first luxury youth hostel at backpackers' prices! Located in a 19th century palace, is the most modern and stylish hostel of Madrid. Our privileged location, by Alonso Martinez square, makes us the ideal base to explore and enjoy our city Come & enjoy the U Hostels experience! In addition to our free daily tours, our guests can enjoy the Spanish sun on the roof top terrace (expected for sept. 2013), Be connected thanks to our Free WiFi, relax watching a movie in our In-house cinema or party in our cool bar! Whether you just wish to relax, meet new people or party away in Madrid, U hostels is the ideal choice. Having travelled around the world, we know how a hostel should be! - Spacious rooms! Some of our rooms have 35 sqm - Free Wifi, also in the rooms - Custom made bunk beds & first quality mattress! Big enough for U - All our rooms are air conditioned & have lockers - Maximum security with RFID key cards for rooms - 24h Reception - Girls only rooms, including a make up table with all U need - Cool designed double rooms with ensuite bathroom - U dorms for 4, 6, 8 & 12 people with shared bathrooms - Premium U dorms for 4&6 people with ensuite bathroom A FREE breakfast is offered to our guests (2 toast and orange juice or milk), you can upgraded with espresso coffee for 1€. In addition, you have the option to get a full breakfast for 3 Euros, It includes 4 toasts, coffee, orange juice, ham, cheese, cupcake and fruit No doubts, this is Ur hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your U Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing