We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms..good value for the money paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Main Street Madrid
Ranked #30 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms..good value for the money paid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

First, the location could't be any better for the money we have paid. Maybe at first we were sceptical because it is located on the 5th floor of the building with tiny elevator, but were very surprised about the room - very large corner room, bright and clean. The breakfast place is 3-minute walk away and it opens at 9 am, but on the other hand, none of the tapas bars opens earlier :) The staff is extremely helpful and nice and the hostel is the perfect choice when coming to Madrid for couple of days. The noise from the Gran Via can easily be killed by shutting down the windows..all in all, we would recommend the hostel.

Room Tip: Room no. 2 was perfect, spacious, light and wi-fi worked perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrankaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    137
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
44
312
43
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This has a great location, within easy walk to all the main sight-seeing places. Rooms are beautiful and clean, though the bathroom is a bit small. The supermarket is about a 3-minutes walk away. The breakfast place is also about a 3-minutes walk away, but they open quite late at 9am, not ideal if you want an early start. But there is a McDonalds across the road.

We had a room by the side street (not Gran Via), and it can get very noisy at night especially during the weekends. One night we heard some people shouting very loudly at each other on the street, which made it very difficult to sleep.

The staffs were very friendly and helpful.

There is a small elevator (maximum 3 persons) that takes you up to the Hostal on the 5th Floor, but can be quite slow.

All-in-all, I would recommend it, though ask for a room not facing the streets if possible if you are light sleepers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

PRO: Great location steps away from Callao Metro. Very friendly and helpful hosts available throughout the day. Beautifully decorated rooms. Really great value for money. Rooms are small, but it's a very acceptable trade-off for the location and price.

CON: The bed was comfortable but VERY noisy (not the springs, but thump-like noises from the mattress against the frame, or the frame legs are uneven against the floor? not sure). Woke us up quite a few times during the night whenever one of us shifted.

Like other reviewers say, it's fine for a few days, but maybe not so comfortable for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cww5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We usually stay in hotels so when we arrived I couldn't think why I had booked this place. The elevator is tiny. We had to go up one at a time with our luggage. Once we were inside Main Street Madrid we relaxed because the staff was so nice. We had the corner room with enormous windows on two sides. This was the largest room we had in three weeks of travel. It was immaculately clean. The bed was comfy. LOCATION!!! We walked to the museums, shopping and food. The bus and metro are close. If you need anything, ask the staff they were very helpful with suggestions and arranging an early morning taxi to the airport.

Room Tip: We had the corner room. I think it is the one pictured. It is probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseZbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

For the price and location, this is a great deal. It fit our needs and spent only one night here. I think anything more than that would have been too much. The bathroom was adequate but very small. It was hard to even dry off in bathroom itself. The pictures made the rooms look alot bigger than I had expected. The location is fantastic though and the metro stop is right outside the building. However with this location comes the street noise and it is definitely noticeable in the room. If you are looking a place to stay to purely sleep and spend the night, this place is perfect. If you are looking for something a bit more relaxing, I would suggest somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrysonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The rooms are very clean and quite spacious. Wifi works well. The service is also great. The main advantage is that the hotel is very well located in the city center, on the main street. Ideal for a small holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked a room for 2 nights although we were just arrived in the early morning at the following day. Unfortunately, due to double booking number from booking site where we booked the hostel, the room was given to another guests. And no more available room for those days. But the staff received us that morning was very responsible and helpful by finding us a room from the other hostel downstairs. And we're so happy to know that he would responsible for the payment. He also gave us breakfast voucher for 2 days. The location was excellent, close to shopping centre and main attractions. You can find anything in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#22 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#90 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#53 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Main Street Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Main Street Madrid

Property: Hostal Main Street Madrid
Address: Gran Via 50, 5o Derecha, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Main Street Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Main Street Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing