We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petit bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Main Street Madrid
Ranked #59 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very clean - spotless, friendly helpful staff, great location. We stayed 3 nights I think any longer would have been demanding in the small space - it's wasn't cramped - but felt petit. But this can be overlooked by the other considerations, (cost, location and cleanliness). Also had good wifi - my only gripe was you could hear people going up and down the corridor and this could be disturbing.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrPaul50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the hostal main street for 2 nights and we were pleasantly surprised. The location can't be better! Located right on Gran Via, at a walking distance from Puerto del sol, royal palace, plaza mayor and only few steps away from the shopping hub of Madrid. The room was so much more spacious than we expected from pictures and very clean, comfortable and well appointed. The front desk staff were very friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights in Main Street Madrid, and we recommend it. It is clean, has a private bathroom, and is very centric (close to Plaza Callao, and Metro stations). Clean sheets and towels every day, and the room where we were staying was not noisy, as we were not facing the street. We did not have Queen or King beds, as I don't think they have them, but we joined the two twin beds we had, and it worked perfect. Marina, the hostess, made our stay more enjoyable.

She was very friendly upon our arrival, helpful when we needed any information, and very charming. The day before we left, she came by to say goodbye and left a tiny beautiful chocolate box for us to enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in early April, and everything was excellent. Marina made us feel at home, and was great at recommending transportation, and what to see. She was excellent. Fairly centrally located, and in the heart of Madrid. Easy access to Metro, and no problems getting taxis at the front entrance. We did not want a large hotel environment, and this was perfect.
Would advise anyone wanting to have fun, and enjoy the activity of the city, to stay here. Our thanks again to Marina.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend had been at the Main Street for 3 nights. We choosed this Hostal after reading the excellent reviews on booking.com, and I must say that expectations have not been disappointed at all.
The location is great, in the city center and really close to the Callao Place. It's located in Gran Vía, which is lined with shops, theaters, cinemas and cafes. All the staff have proved knowledgeable, and Marina, in particular, is very kind, friendly and willing to accommodate every request.
Rooms are very clean, decorated in a modern way, as well as the bathroom, although a little bit small. Our room, in particular, was very quiet because it overlooked a side street.
The WiFi is free, and breakfast included in the room rate is served in the bar "Tanka" located in front of the Hostal. Our assessment is "Excelent", and we will certainly reccommend it to all our friends who will go to Madrid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMalve_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in early March and would happily return on another occasion.
Marina spoiled us and everyone who stays there, she welcomed us with a small bottle of Cava & chocolates. On our return back to hotel on 2nd day, we found 1/2 bottle of red wine had been left for us. Only had that kind of service once before!
We had a Superior room which faced the street so was rather noisy but only with windows open. On the plus side, lots of places to eat literally any kind of food very close by.
Madrid does not sleep on a Friday & Saturday evening and the Hostel is perfectly located to join in.
Metro station Caleo is closest to hotel and an easy walk even with suitcases etc.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, may be better to ask for a room away from the Gran Via
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First, the location could't be any better for the money we have paid. Maybe at first we were sceptical because it is located on the 5th floor of the building with tiny elevator, but were very surprised about the room - very large corner room, bright and clean. The breakfast place is 3-minute walk away and it opens at 9 am, but on the other hand, none of the tapas bars opens earlier :) The staff is extremely helpful and nice and the hostel is the perfect choice when coming to Madrid for couple of days. The noise from the Gran Via can easily be killed by shutting down the windows..all in all, we would recommend the hostel.

Room Tip: Room no. 2 was perfect, spacious, light and wi-fi worked perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrankaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Arguelles
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
Centro
Hostal Gala
Hostal Gala
#184 of 441 in Madrid
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#12 of 441 in Madrid
177 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,963 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#45 of 441 in Madrid
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Main Street Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Main Street Madrid

Address: Gran Via 50, 5o Derecha, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £41 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Main Street Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Main Street Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing