We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay, functional, comfortable and in a good location for a very reasonable price.”
Review of Hotel Acta Madfor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acta Madfor
Ranked #131 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had booked a triple room and one superior double room, however on arrival we were told that they did not have this combination available on the same floor, and so would we mind having the triple and a normal double. They said the only difference was that the superior had a terrace, however the double was actually a larger room, we accepted this as didn't expect to make much use of a terrace anyway and were pleased to find that both rooms still had small balconies, the double facing the street and the triple looking out towards the Casa de Campo. From the front balcony the palace and cathedral were visible.

We found the rooms hot at night, as the radiators could not be turned off directly, however with the windows open this was not too bad. At no point did we find noise to be a problem. Although not a problem for us, there were no English language channels available in the rooms. The rooms were very clean and adequately equipped.

The location is great, there are several restaurants and cafe/bars next door to the hotel (San Antonio cafe on the left of the hotel as you go in is recommended for a simple but tasty cheap breakfast) there is also a small supermarket and directly opposite is the Príncipe Pío shopping centre, with a fairly standard selection of chain shops. Despite not being right in the centre Príncipe Pío metro station is directly opposite and it is a short direct journey to the Ópera station (in plaza Isabel II) which is in short walking distance of many major sights (such as the Plaza Mayor, Palace and more) and has good connections to all others.

There is a lounge which fills the first floor as well as a snack area and small terrace at the top, both have vending machines and in the lounge there is a coffee machine. Teabags and capsules for the coffee machine can be bought for €1 but hot water and milk is provided, so you could buy your own coffee/tea or food to eat there. There are also two computers and a printer which are free to use.

Overall the hotel was great for a short stay, functional, comfortable and in a good location for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

I really want to say nothing but good things about the Hotel Acta Madfor.

This was a last minute trip to Madrid for spring break and we need an average cost hotel for three adults with easy access into the city. According to the website the Acta Madfor fit the requirement. The hotel reservation system worked perfectly. The main lobby is very spartan, leaving you to wonder did you pick the right place. We checked in early on a Sunday morning from our U.S. flight and the front desk gentleman was extremely accommodating. We did not expect to be able to check in but was greeted warmly and surprised to find that our room was available. The room was very clean, the right size with a modern clean bath. We were very pleased with the accommodations. The Wi-Fi worked find once we given the code for multiple devices. The in room safe needed to be re-set and was promptly taken care of by the front desk staff. Housekeeping was wonderful and did a great job. The hotel is close to the Metro and great shops and cafés in the general area.

The negatives, I know the hotel can’t control what happens in their rooms, but they are responsible for the design and construction, especially since this was a renovated hotel. The walls are paper thin. Two of our five night stay, we could have been in the next room with the other hotel guests. Every bit of noise, conversation and sex act came through loud and clear. An English language television station would have been nice to have (CNN, BCC, RT). The ability to control the heat would have been wonderful.

Thanks for being our home base for our trip to Madrid!

Tips
Modern clean hotel
The price was right
Great location to use the Metro or bus lines
Shopping center across the street
Two lifts to use

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msp2phl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed here for two nights early in March 2013. Bit of a mess with their computer finding me the room I`d reserved (took about 20 minutes !) then when I got to the room there was water leaking through the bathroom ceiling, so I had to change to another room ....
But, to be honest, I wasn`t in a hurry, so even though it was about an hour before I got finally settled in a room - it was no big deal to me !
I found the room great for the price - all very modern and new. The hotel for me was brilliant for a couple of nights, but a bit sparse for a longer stay. For me it was great - a comfortable bed, free wi-fi, TV, wardrobe space, a safe and great shower - and little else, but I was there on business, so what else do I need ?! Cafe/bar next door, good location and always taxis availiable outside. I`d stay there again for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: I eventually had a room facing the road - but the double glazing / thick curtains kept the noise dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Madfor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear client,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers.

In reference to the room, we regret any inconvenience that we may caused you, but fortunatly we had more rooms available to change you to another room.

Thank you for all your comments about our location and services, we are glad to know that you enjoy the hotel and we would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,
Hotel Acta Madfor, Madrid
madfor@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few nights and really enjoyed it. It Was really close to public transport. there is a fast train to Atocha on the regional train line and you have the Metro handy too. The hotel was clean and really well priced. Across the road is a large shopping center with all your high st shops and a supermarket. There is a large common area, really nice setting with free internet and printing. Our room could have been a little bigger but it was fine. Just stay here, its great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a palace view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Madfor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear client,

Thank to you for choose our establishment for your last stay in Madrid, and for your positive comments about the hotel and the location. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience with us and the city.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,
Hotel Acta Madfor, Madrid
madfor@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Hotel Acta Madfor at the end of December 2012. This was part of the "Grand Opening" period for the Madfor. Our price was 55 euros for each night.

The property is in an excellent location. As you leave the hotel, to the right is a restuarant & then a grocery store. Going to the left of the hotel there are more restuarants. Across Paseo de la Florida is a large shopping mall that also has fast food restuarants and other places to eat. At the end of the mall is the metro station Principe Pio, which is no more than a five minute walk from the hotel. If you don't mind hiking uphill, the Royal Palace is about a 15 minute walk. From the Royal Palace you can catch a "Hop-on, Hop-off Bus" to tour the city.

About our 7th floor room.....
Pros: It was clean, quite, it had a comfortable bed, good shower with plenty of hot water and there was a safe to store valuables. The room also had a balcony with a nice view.
Cons: The room was small and it had a tiny closet. There was plenty of wall space by the door and it would have been nice to have had hooks there to hang up coats etc.

That said, my wife and I were out exploring all day, so we spent little time in the room. Also, on the first floor of the hotel is "The Living Room". This is a very large, stylish space to relax. In this room there are two computers that were quick to access information. In a section of "The Living Room" are dining tables and a wall of vending machines. If your on a budget, you can bring food up from the grocery store near by.

The staff was friendly and had a good understanding of the English language.

See photographs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TD-MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Madfor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear client,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers.

As you commented, the Hotel is located in front of the Príncipe Pío travel interchange station, where you will find metro, bus and commuter trains that connect to around the city. Also, there is a shopping centre where you can find a variety of restaurants, shops and other leisure activities.

In reference to the room, we are greatly apologize if the room size don't pleased you. However, the rooms are in keeping with the rules for 3 stars hotels in town. We thake note about your comments for future installations of our Hotel.

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Best regards,
Hotel Acta Madfor, Madrid
madfor@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the new year, our room was on the 6th floor, there are two lifts side by side which fit only two people at a time, our room was smaller than it showed on the website, double bed and two lockers on each side a place to hang your clothes which was all open plan, a Hugh big light hung over the bed. A balcony that looked out over the city which also catered for our fridge to put water and fruit as there was no fridge in the room. There was no desk if you needed to do any business; the floor was wooden with under floor heating. The bathroom had a lovely big shower shampoo left every day. On the first floor there was a relaxing room where you could have free tea, coffee. On the eight floors there is a roof terrace. Across the road is the metro and train station,If you get on the metro at Principe pio you need only go one stop to opera and your in the Centra of Madrid. There is also a big shopping centre across the road from the hotel. All sounds ok. Now for the bad the floors on the landing are cheap carpet you can hear every sound from people walking to their rooms and the room doors don’t have anti door slam device. so the doors just keep slamming. The lady that comes to clean the room is an early riser, she is there before 9am which is very early when on holidays you can hear her rolling her trolley along the corridor and guests on early flights leaving you can hear every sound. If it’s a quite relaxing hotel you’re looking for this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamodDublin_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Madfor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear client,

First of all, we would like to thank you to have stayed at the Hotel Acta Madfor, being newly opened encourages us that you chose our hotel for your stay in Madrid.

We are surprised with your comments about cleaning service and we regret any inconvenience that may have caused you.

As you comment, to avoid the maximum noise as possible in the hotel, the corridor is covered with a carpet. We regret if this may caused you any inconvenience during your stay.

Also, as you comment and we inform in our web site, in rooms there isn’t fridge but in the first floor you can find vending machines where we offer water, snacks, coffees and other things.

In reference to the shower, we weren’t informed about your problem. If we had been informed about it, we could have explained to you how to use the temperature control of the water.

We would like to thank to you for sharing your experience with other users and we expect see you again in the next visit to the city.

Bets regards,
Hotel Acta Madfor, Madrid
madfor@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Arrived to the Acta Madfor in January, the hotel is easy to find when you get off the Metro at Principe Pio as it is directly opposite. Upon arrival we were allocated a room on the 7th floor, the lift is small, big enough for 2 people and 2 suitcases. The room was smaller than expected by the pictures seen on the website but clean, tidy and modern with a nice bathroom. The room had a nice sized balcony overlooking the train station, shopping mall, the palace and the cathedral. The bathroom was nice however the shower was rather tempremental with trying to get the temperature perfect, either really hot or really cold. There are no coffee and tea facilities in the room however downstairs in the living area there is free coffee, tea, hot water and vending machines. There is a flat screen tv in the room, no english channels unfortunately. The bed was very comfortable with alot of decent pillows which was a big plus.
Overall this hotel is a perfectly good hotel, a minutes walk from the metro, next door to a supermarket, opposite a shopping mall with plenty of shops and fast food places and 15 minute walk into the city. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay again!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Madfor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear client,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers.

We are greatly apologize for the room size don't pleased you. However, the rooms are in keeping with the rules for 3 stars hotels in Madrid.

Thank you for your recommendation.

Once again, we will thank you your comments and we would love to welcome you in the future. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for the next time you visit the city.

Bets regards,
Hotel Acta Madfor, Madrid
madfor@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Principe Pio Hotel
#107 of 443 in Madrid
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#222 of 443 in Madrid
755 reviews
Arguelles
Aparto Suites Muralto
Aparto Suites Muralto
#116 of 443 in Madrid
674 reviews
La Latina
Ganivet Hotel
Ganivet Hotel
#125 of 443 in Madrid
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta Madfor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Madfor

Address: Paseo Florida 13, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £49 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acta Madfor 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acta Madfor is a 3star hotel with 102 rooms, located in the center of Madrid, within walking distance of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo and minutes from one of the main arteries of the city. The hotel, with a modern design, offers customers the best features of comfort and relaxation, and has, from its sun terrace, one of the most spectacular views of the entire city of Madrid: the Royal Palace with its Gardens of Sabatini and Cathedral de la Almudena. Shuttle bus: Pick up and airport transfer with additional cost. For more information you can contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Acta Madfor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing