We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location only. Nothing else to offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Ranked #78 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location only. Nothing else to offer”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is great for location only. The rest, not so much...

We booked the most expensive room category- an Executive room. Not sure what classifies this as an executive room, maybe because it's on the Top floor?

Top floor you say? Wow, must have an amazing view you say ? Think again... Room has a small window, positioned almost 2m from the floor- you have to stand on a chair if you want to see outside. It feels like you were in a white dungeon.

White? Everything is white, except a couple of chairs with green padding.

At least you are on the top floor, so it must be quiet... not a chance... the stairwell is an open atrium, with doors and walls as thin as a cheese slice... then there's a supply closet right next to you, which closes with a loud bang. repeatedly.

you manage to block out the noise , somehow and then you realize the plumbing is making a loud clanking noise for an hour each time you open a tap in the bathroom.

The bathroom- very nice waterfall shower, pity that the drain can't cope with the water... so after a shower the entire bathroom floor is flooded.

Let's calm down with a cup of tea- nothing in the room, there's a coffee maker in the hallway- which gives coffee-stained water to put a teabag in. yummy? no, not really.

this place is way too expensive for what it offers. I would not recommend this at all.

one other thing... it won't hurt to vacuum the carpet in the hall once in a while, a violent sneeze attack each time I got out of the elevator.

Room Tip: Avoid room 501.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear AmsterdamMax,

I regret read that your stay has not been satisfactory. As you can see on our website, the executive room is not a exterior room, but rather larger than the rest, which also features a bathtub in addition to a shower in the bathroom. If you needed an exterior room, the best option would have been the terrace room, which also has a large outdoor terrace for summer nights.

Also I regret that our decoration was not to your liking.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    334
    66
    17
    9
See reviews for
125
451
74
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at One Shot for 3 nights end June. Welcomed by two very friendly girls who spoke proper English. Location is perfect! Very close to all the places you want to see, including Plaza Santa Ana and El Retiro park. Also, loads of nice restaurants and bars around.
Hotel is modern, yet basic. Room was very clean and the shower one of their USPs. Minor issue was the air conditioning which didn't work properly (not enough fresh/ cold air). Arranged our transport back to the airport via the hotel, reasonably priced (35 euros) and on time.
Also, not expensive! Would definitely go back again, if I'm on the same budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyslifeinAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear SuzyslifeinAmsterdam,

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate that you liked the hotel and I transmit your comment to the staff. Actually, we are in an excellent location in the Barrio de las Letras.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel One Shot 23 from 22/06/14-26/06/14 in a standard twin room with balcony.

PROS

The hotel is in a fantastic location on the Calle del Prado. It's just a 3 minute walk to the Prado museum, 10 minutes to the Plaza Mayor and 15 minutes to the Royal Palace. There is also a lovely Plaza, Santa Ana, just two minutes away with many tapas restaurants and bars.

The hotel is very modern, with artwork prominently displayed in the lobby and on each floor. The staff are very professional and welcoming.

CONS

The air conditioning unit was extremely weak, to the point where we could hardly feel any cool air whilst stood under the unit! This made it extremely hard and uncomfortable to sleep at night.

The complimentary WiFi was extremely intermittent and wouldn't work at all at some points of our stay.

OTHER POINTS

The bathroom in our room (104) was separated from the main room by a frosted glass door with no locking device. This wasn't a problem per say, but could be if privacy is an issue for you.

Overall a good stay in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Adam,

Thank you in advance for your review and recommendations. We did not know about the problem with the air conditioning and we had not any claim about it but we will check.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights with friends- fantastically central location near the Prado museum and huge number of restaurants- most of the Madrid attractions were within 15 minutes walk. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The artworks and decor int he common areas are very interesting and in some cases awesome (see photo) .
The rooms are stark but attractive - though I wouldn't want to stay in that indefinitely - its does lack warmth . Wifi is free and the sexy mirror tv was great for world cup matches but little else as no english channels :(
Spotlessly clean (drench) walk in shower and bathroom - plenty of clothes hangin space on the grungy , stylish scaffolding in room
The Nespresso machine was a welcome addition
Recommended for short stays

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebrenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Steve,

We are glad with your words. Effectively, our situation and decoration are two points of our strengths. We try to help artists showing their expositions in the hall of the hotel and thanks to them we have an amazing hall.

We are working to get international channels so if you come back the next year you will see English channels.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor and they are pretty accurate. Its central to pubs, restaurants and sights. The staff are really helpful and speak good English. The hotel is clean with one of the greatest showers I have ever seen in it...for the money it costs and for somewhere just to lay your head at night a after a days activities you'd be mad to book anywhere else. John and Fiona

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear John,

Thank you in advance for your review. One Shot has a privilege situation as you said and you can see museums, buildings, landmarks and restaurants without transport. The staff are happy helping guest like you to have the best stay possible.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location, near many restaurants, bars, and lounges, but quiet enough at night. The room was clean and comfortable, perfect for our three day stay in Madrid. They have a parking garage, which can come in handy in Madrid, but make sure it's a compact car or you will not fit down the ramp. My fiancé loved the rain shower, but I find them messy if you don't have doors. The bed was big and comfy, can't ask for more for the price. Reasonably priced, modern, and very spacious, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaB511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know your experience in One Shot. One of our goals is to get that guest like you can enjoy Madrid while we manage your rest.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for five nights in a standard double interior room. Hotel is in a good location, close to all sights but the area is quiet at night. Needed a new Wifi code everyday for each device, which was a hassle. Staff was helpful and assisted with receiving a replacement for our lost credit card, although their English was limited.

Room Tip: Standard interior One Shot Room on the 4th floor was very quiet with good light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UofMCivil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJoseAM, Gerente at Hotel One Shot Prado 23, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear UofMCivil,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you liked our Hotel and you had a pleasant stay in Madrid. The hotel is very well situated right in the middle of Barrio de las Letras, plenty of bars and good restaurants.

I especially happy to know that my staff help you with your problem with the credit card.

We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#42 of 436 in Madrid
1,258 reviews
Huertas
Ibis Styles Madrid Prado
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#6 of 436 in Madrid
1,500 reviews
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#103 of 436 in Madrid
1,563 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 436 in Madrid
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel One Shot Prado 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel One Shot Prado 23

Property: Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Address: Calle Prado 23, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel One Shot Prado 23 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art, culture, beauty and creation, are part of the day to day of the hotel, not with added elements, but firmly established in its identity and expressed along the distribution of its spaces, in the design of its environments or for its selected furniture. We are referring to a very unconventional hotel, full of positive atmosphere and always on the move, that will surprise you. The Hotel One Shot Prado 23 has 42 rooms. The interior design is a fascinating and personal interpretation of modernity, born from the interior design study of Las2Mercerdes. Every room is equipped with a 42" Ad Notam Mirror TV , Touch Panel ( Laptop to TV connection ), very special illumination, individual Heating system, Mini - Bar, Safe box and an astonishing rain-shower of 40 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel One Shot Prado 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing