We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, contemporary hotel at walking distance from most tourist sites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Ranked #89 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, contemporary hotel at walking distance from most tourist sites”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed one night at Eurostars Plaza Mayor during a stopover in Madrid. The hotel is very centrally located in a one-way street close to Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. The latter is only around a 5 minute walk away. Walking to Callao takes around 20 minutes. The hotel is brand new and housed in a traditional building although only the façade is left to testify of this. Inside the old building has been totally gutted and everything has been renovated. The result is pleasingly contemporary and very agreeable to the eye. After passing through the reception area you walk through the lobby and bar area all of which are tastefully decorated. The lifts are at the back of the bar. We got a room overlooking an inner court. If you want sweeping views then you will most likely be disappointed in this hotel but then this probably goes for most of the hotels in central Madrid. The room was very quiet and pleasant albeit on the smallish side. This was however offset by a very nice ample bathroom with excellent rain shower. All expected amenities were available. A partially stocked mini-bar was available as well (no alcohol). The beds were extremely comfortable and so was the bed linen. The same went for the bath linen. The windows were large affording plenty of natural light. They can however only be set ajar. Wifi was available at no cost and functioned well. Only minor incident on check out: no warm water which made it impossible to take a full normal shower. I found this rather annoying as a bed and a (functioning) bathroom are after all the minimum expectations in a hotel. The hotel compensated in giving us the consumptions from the mini-bar for free. I found this rather avariciously stingy as a compensation. A ten percent discount on the bill would have been a nicer gesture. Would I stay in this hotel again ? Yes probably on the assumption that the warm water incident is not a recurring issue in this hotel. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, contemporary hotel at walking distance from most tourist sites and you don’t expect big rooms and impressive views then this might be a good option.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    290
    56
    12
    5
See reviews for
81
301
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for 5 nights January 2 to January 7th, 2014. We traveled with our kids (10 and 16 years old), booked two rooms. They don't have any connecting rooms but made sure our rooms were next to each other. One with a king size bed, the other one with 2 twin beds. Hotel is new, modern, very comfortable. Plenty of space in closets. Bathrooms were big. Staff was friendly and very polite. The location is excellent. It is at a walking distance to the Metro Station. Also plenty of restaurants around. We didn't have breakfast at hotel and chose to walk to nearby bakeries. Hotel was quiet, no noises from street. Will book same place again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiseloverpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed 10 days...Dec 25-Jan 4....Wonderfully quiet and centered to everything. Hotel is new and really one of the best I have ever stayed in. Staff is very friendly and will try to help with anything needed. Would recommend to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLtravelerskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The mission given from my wife: find a 4-star hotel in the centre of Madrid for a 6-day cityscape. After hours of searching and comparisons I finally booked at Eurostars Plaza Mayor, 5 nights for 430 euros (sounds great ). Finding the hotel was very easy, Tirso de Molina metro station, after a 40 min trip from Barajas, is about a minute walk from the hotel entrance. And then came the surprise. Brand new, modern, and a very polite receptionist welcomed us. The room was well decorated, clean, with a very large window from wall to wall, and all the amenities for a pleasant stay. The location of the hotel is the biggest advantage, it is near to everything. Mission accomplished. Happy wife means happy holydays !
Con : If you are not having breakfast at the hotel your options are not as many as in hotels in Gran Via
Tip: have dinner in Santa Anna plaza, very nice restaurants but in my opinion Lateral is the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikos t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and found the staff very friendly and helpful, the room was a good size, as was the bathroom, the bed was extremely comfortable and the pillow menu was a bonus. We had absolutely no problem with the wifi connection and used it extensively. Our room was quiet, beautifully appointed and very clean. The hotel is in easy walking distance to all there is to see in Madrid.
There are two buildings that make up this hotel, we were in the building at the back and had no problems with noise from nearby clubs etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneBR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Good hotel, nice room and flat screen TV. Bathroom nice and big. Wi fi was dodgy but luckily I managed to connect to a non hotel wi fi which had full coverage and did not fail at all. Hotels wi fi only worked if I sat in the bathroom. I stayed on the 6th floor. Cleaners were quite noisy when cleaning neighbouring rooms. Bed was comfortable and I had a great nights sleep just be midful for light sleepers. There is a nightclub seconds from the hotel which opens until 6am, people coming in and out the club do shout a lot so do expect noise, I enjoyed the hotel though. Very clean and great friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiseboy901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We got to spend one night at Eurostar and was a pleasant stay. The hotel is perfectly located in Madrid and is modern spacious and very clean. Front desk were really nice gentle and of course helpful. The room is very clean along with bathroom and has this futuristic look. Everything was really smooth and good. I have booked a taxi and they mistakenly called me at 5am (my booking was for 5pm). Small mistakes happen but they offered me a small discount as an apology of what happened. I didn't really cared of what happened! But it really left a positive mark on me :) eurostar are very professional even in small incidents. I highly recommend this hotel (fyi in case you are wondering the taxi to the airport costs 40 euro)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#42 of 436 in Madrid
692 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Exe Moncloa
Hotel Exe Moncloa
#195 of 436 in Madrid
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#95 of 436 in Madrid
2,102 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 436 in Madrid
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor

Property: Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Doctor Cortezo 10, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Eurostars, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing