We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Ranked #258 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming to their hotel. The rooms are quite spacy and comfortable and the bathroom facilities are good.

Whilst the room doesn't have a fridge, in the foyer at reception there is a restaurant which serves the buffet breakfast with everything you could want, plus a coffee machine to make your own coffee. This restaurant also opens at 8pm at night and serves dinner. If you just want a snack the foyer at reception has some vending machines full of nibbles and soft drinks.

Also really close to the train station as well as near supermarkets just around the corner and smaller convenience stores. It doesn't take very long from the station to get into the city and the train system is really simple. There are these machines at the train station for tickets that have a tourist option which gives you 10 trips for about €12.

Have a wonderful stay and if we're ever in Madrid again, we'll definitely stay at Travelodge again!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leighleeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    180
    84
    24
    20
See reviews for
98
156
19
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Very close to the airport in a nice part of Madrid. Quiet, comfortable, very affortable, very good breakfast. Not far away from the metro and with few good plqces for food aroung. Simple ut spacious rooms, free wifi in the lobby.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kostam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here with my family(including 2 kids) for 4 days:
To start with, the draw back of the hotel. This is basic accommodation. No wardrobe or cupboards to store your suitcase/clothes. No provision for proper glasses, mugs or spoon/fork in room. Wi-fi only in reception/restaurant.

The positives are many:
The first thing that will strike you is the designer of the hotel. Everything is beautiful here.
Big and well ventilated rooms.
The hotel is modern with latest equipments,etc.
Good elevators hence easy to drag heavy suitcases.
Neat & Clean room with good housekeeping.
Friendly staff and will go the extra mile to help you.
Smile & efficiency with every staff member.
Good restaurant with basic menu. Good breakfast.
Close to metro station, bakeries, restaurants, supermarkets and all other basic need. All available at reasonable price.
Value for money
Ample parking space(at a price)
Good Airconditioner.

Room Tip: The lack of wardrobes, wifi & cutlery in room shocked us a bit when we checked in. But in a shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelsconsulting, Public Relations Manager at Travelodge Madrid Alcala, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review, and we hope you come back soon to Travelodge hotels in Valencia, Barcelona or Madrid! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked the hotel via booking.com, with a very cheap rate and that was only paid on arrival at the hotel. The check-in was quick and easy, and we have been well attended and assisted by the receptionist. We had a very clean and silent room, although a little small, so it's not that confortable, but pretty fine for what we needed - a short stay after a 12-hour flight. The location is relatively close to the airport, a facilitator if it's a business trip, because it is not near downtown. There is a metro station nearby. Did not have breakfast because we prefer to know local cafes, there are several in the region.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very basic but clean hotel. Reception staff friendly and helpful. If you want a cheap place to stay before flying out, this is OK. However, do not eat here!

Restaurant was HORRIBLE! After we had ordered and sat down, we were told to move because all the tables were reserved but were not offered another place to sit. Nuggets, fries and onion rings appeared to be thawed out, but not heated. When we asked to have them heated, they were brought back 20 minutes later on a superheated plate with no warning. When I immediately burned myself on the plate, she yelled "cuidado" at me--no apology or offer of ice. Breakfast buffet not as pictured on the ads in public areas, food not set up until 7:30 although advertised as 7am. Rude and incompetent staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here for almost two weeks and would go back. Got a very good bargain with a pre-paid reservation from Expedia. At the rate I booked, would have been hard pressed to find anything at the same price in the center that wasn’t a tiny single with a shared bath in a hostal. Overall, very positive experience, with a few small quibbles.

As others have noted, they have a rigid check-in policy. Even if your room is available earlier than 2/3 PM, you can’t check in early unless you pay a 10 euro early check-in fee. Checking out, they try to discourage you from thinking about leaving your luggage. Wifi was free in the reception area/lounge, but was basic and slow with daily data limits, and some of my iPad apps never worked at all.

I had a room on the 4th floor with a window looking out towards the traffic circle, which was better than some of the interior-facing rooms with no view. Never had any trouble with noise from neighboring rooms, only occasionally from the hallways with loud talkers since the hallways are fairly narrow. Bed was fine, and flat screen TV had a good range of Spanish and international channels. Bathroom was fine as well, cleaned daily and bath and shower gel packets replaced daily as well. No fridge or mini-bar or coffee/tea maker. No enclosed closet but a shelf with a few built in hangers. In May, it wasn’t hot enough to need A/C, so can’t speak about that.

Hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Ciudad Lineal metro station. From Ciudad Lineal, it’s a direct metro ride downtown in about 15-20 minutes. I can see how people would have dramatically different perceptions of the neighborhood depending on whether they are there during weekends or weekdays. I arrived during the long four-day weekend, and the industrial neighborhood was deserted, and could be intimidating to some I suppose. There are a few office towers at the traffic circle where the hotel is located, so there are a lot of office workers about during the work week. Calle Alcala, a few blocks up the hill, is one of Madrid’s main drags, with lots of local bars and restaurants and shops, including the Spanish high-end convenience chain VIPs, Dia Supermarket, etc. There’s also a Lidl hypermarket nearby as well that has Sunday hours.

If you are on a budget, and don’t need to be in the heart of downtown, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

One of our group had the Caesar salad last night and spent hours vomiting. Our room stinks of cigarette smoke, even the bed linen. Paper thin walls- I can hear the next room closing their curtains and....worse..! Miniscule amounts toiletries. Air conditioning not working. Breakfast very sparse- no bread, lame cereals. Party of 9 year old children running amok with no adult supervision. £25 taxi from airport. Need I go on?

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Muddykn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Madrid Torrelaguna
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Madrid Valentin Beato
3.0 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#175 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Madrid C/ Valentin Beato
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Madrid Centro Las Ventas
3.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Madrid Calle 30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Madrid Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Madrid Alcala

Property: Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Address: Calle Santa Leonor 34, 28037 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Madrid Alcala 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Madrid Alcala is a modern and functional new hotel located in a residential, commercial and business area of Madrid. The proximity to the Alcala Street, the Congress and Convention Centre (IFEMA) and the Barajas airport, plus nearby access to different public transport connecting the capital, making it the ideal choice for both the client traveling for business or for leisure travelers. The hotel has 98 spacious and modern rooms, fully equipped a Bar-Cafe, free unlimited Wi-Fi in public areas, vending machines and parking (surcharge). It is just 600 meters from the Ciudad Lineal metro station and 800 meters from Suanzes, with a direct line to the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Madrid Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing