We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To much concrete!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Airport Suites
Ranked #370 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed her for 3 days, waiting for a connecting flight.

The staff is very proffesional and helpful, and spoke good english.

The appartments are very nice, clean and cosy with nice furniture. The hotel is also very nice on the inside with lots of lounge areas in cool designs.

I like the restaurant, cool decor, fair prices, nice staff and good food.

However my 3 days stay seemed really long. I really miss an outdoor area where I could relax in the sun in the daytime. The outdoor surroundings are to much concrete! There is no place to sit oursite during the day. And that was very frustrating for me :-(

There is a very nice pool and pool area, but it is closed all day and do first open up at 17.00. I found that very strange?! Even in the pool area, I missed some garden furniture, the 2 existing sun beds are not enough.

Overall an ok place to stay if its for one day.

Advice to tho hotel is - come on! Invest in some garden furnitures and put it out on the terraces, and more green to cover up the concrete. Could make a big difference!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Tulipanvej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana A, Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Airport Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Tulipanvej,

Le agradecemos haber dedicado su tiempo a transmitirnos su experiencia,siempre es un placer conocer de primera mano la satisfacción de todos nuestros clientes.
Gracias por su colaboración al informarnos de aquello que considera debemos mejorar, no dude que las tendremos en consideración.

Esperamos volver a recibirle en un futuro.

Un saludo,

Susana Abellán.
(Guest Experience)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have stayed in other facilities of this type, category and price range before, but never encountered such poor understanding of the business they're in, nor the clientele they cater to. I have chosen this facility because of the proximity to the airport, meaning international and transiting guests. I am here on business until the June 27 in the area. First, they advertise multilingual personel, not true! The clerck, not very friendly, speaks Spanish only and had to request the assistance of the maintenance person to translate. Check-in took about one hour, and fortunately I was the only one there! The apartments come bare, except for bed and bath linens, no closet hangers in the closets, no iron/ironing board and no coffee machine, in spite of what is advertised, not even a toilet bowl brush... and no waste baskets anywhere! The 20€ "kitchen utensils" package will give you some kitchen utensils, an espresso coffee maker, iron/ironing board, clothes hangers, mop, broom and pail. Then you find out that housekeeping is done only once every 2 weeks! Thre is no information in the suite on the services and location of available within the facility, no indication of where to dispose of waste. I only found out by accident. Nearby there was some kind of indication in spanish, and fortunately the bins are coloured, otherwise, if you don't speak spanish or understand half of it like I do, thanks to my speaking Italian, I would not have known what to put where, since waste must be separated between recyclable, non recyclable and organic waste, something nobody tells you about, and the bins wew full of all sorts of waste, their problem, since the info is not clear! None of my concerns have been taken into account, I have emailed customer service of the windham chain, no response. The only response was from booking.com, who forwarded my complaint to the facility. Booking.com has no responsability in this matter, and the have been very helpful. The ratings from gueets, on the other hand, raise some questions... where the heck have they stayed before? If there was a possibility to give negative rating, this would definitely be minus 10 on a scale from 1 to 5! Stay away is all I can say, there are plenty of locations in center Madrid that seem to know what this business is all about, and if you are just a tourist, that is all you need, dowtown Madrid, discover it within walking distance and take a cab to the airport to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana A, Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Airport Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Francesca P,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to post a comment. We are sorry if your experience with us was not as pleasant as we wish and if our service didn’t reached all of your expectations.

I realize that you still staying in our Complex of Touristic Apartments, so please, if you have any doubt just mark the 9 and you will call to Reception. We love to speak to you and listen your comments directly!

However, I inform you by this webpage, as we are Touristic Apartments, we don’t have cleaning service, but to provide better costumer care, we do it every fifteen days. Also, we are not required to offer utensils, but for only 20 euros you can have very useful things to the everyday life. That condition is announced in Booking too.

We will appreciate if you may reconsider to give us another opportunity to welcome you again, in order to provide you with our best service and recover your trust in our Turistic Apartments.

Kind regards,

Susana Abellan
(Guest Experience).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I spent a week here.

Pluses include excellent value for money, professional staff, a 25 metres indoor swimming pool, good wifi and an excellent value for money restaurant. Prices in the restaurant are akin to a Wetherspoons in the UK. This is especially good bearing in mind the location of the hotel. Other less scrupulous chains may charge double or triple knowing you have few other options locally food wise other than the Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza and AC Colsada hotels just down the road.

Tourists need to beware of the location. This is the sole reason I have given the hotel a 4. As well as being remote and sandwiched between a motorway and an industrial site, I did not realise San Fernando Henares is not in Zone A. I bought a Zone A tourist card as I stayed at Melia Barajas for 2 days before coming to this hotel (really apartments). As such you have to pay 2 euros each way on the bus or 1.55 euros by Cercanias to get into central Madrid. The bus is a 5-10 minute walk away over the motorway bridge. Also the buses are more frequent than the trains. Bus takes 20 minutes to Avda de Amercia. Train 20 minutes to Atocha. If coming back by bus at night, remember you need the stop after Hotel Auditorium. My personal experience of the bus drivers on the N202 route was that they are unfriendly. As well as the correct stop, you need to remember the buttons to get the driver to stop are in the handrail under the roof. This is not altogether apparent if you do not know! If you miss the correct stop (which is opposite the SHS Hotel Aeropuerto), the next stop on the N202 is around 2 miles on! If you are aware of this, there is an hourly service from street level by Avenida America bus station throughout the night (not the bus station itself where the buses arrive / leave during the day). This is very useful if, like me, you have tickets for a Real Madrid game that kicks off at 21:00 and get food afterwards.

Whilst it is excellent value for money (I had a nice apartment for under 30 euros a night and could have had a guest stay with me at the same price), I would be unlikely to return. If you are looking for value for money and not be in the hustle and noise of central Madrid, I will return to the (and suggest you consider) Melia Barajas or Tryp Alameda Aeropuerto. This is not necessarily a criticism of this hotel, but a reflection of my experiences in these three hotels. I would say the apartments are very tranquil and visited by well heeled Spaniards.

Regarding the previous English review that:

"20 euros away from the airport. The restaurant does not let you charge meals to the room nor do they take credit cards and NOR DO THEY WANT TO GIVE A RECEIPT for what you pay in cash",

the hotel offers a shuttle service to the airport for 6 euros. This runs hourly and needs to be booked in advance. Whilst you have to pay for your meals when you leave the restaurant, they do accept credit cards now and there was no issue in me getting a receipt. The restaurant staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: If one first floor, get 1058 or lower. Otherwise it is a bit of a maze and roundabout way to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanielL2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana A, Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Airport Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Nathaniel:

Many thanks for the time you took in writing your impressions about us on TripAdvisor after your recent visit. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff.
The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon!

Best regards,

Susana Abellán.
(Guest Experience).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

...and 1 for the rest gives an average of 3.
The room rate is 39euros for a suite or room with kitchen and sofa and there is a real 25 meter indoor pool! All brand new so go there now before the price triples if you are as stingy as I am and like swimming.

The rest is awful: they charge your credit card after (not while) you have checked in and without asking. The neighbourhood is a depressing site near the motorway and 20 euros away from the airport. The restaurant does not let you charge meals to the room nor do they take credit cards and NOR DO THEY WANT TO GIVE A RECEIPT for what you pay in cash.

What a weird weird place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LondonTelegramSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana A, Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Airport Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014
Google Translation

Estimado LondonTelegramSam,

Muchas gracias por haber empleado su valioso tiempo en contarnos su experiencia ya que todas las críticas que recibimos son de un valor incalculable para nosotros, nos ayudan a mejorar el servicio que ofrecemos.

Un saludo,

Susana Abellán
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IratxeLiz, Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Airport Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Guido Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IratxeLiz, Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Airport Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank ricardoluisc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IratxeLiz, Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Airport Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Compostela Suites Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Madrid Marriott Auditorium Hotel & Conference Center
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#146 of 442 in Madrid
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Airport Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Airport Suites

Address: Calle Lola Flores 4-17, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £54 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp Madrid Airport Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 549
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tryp Madrid Airport Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing