We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable apartment right in the heart of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Madrid

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
NovaScoti...
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gran Atocha Apartment”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

4 of us, average age early 70s, recently stayed at Gran Atocha. Unfortunately, there are mixed reviews about this apartment and the manager, Miguel. The first impression of the apartment was very pleasing. Miguel also seemed very helpful and friendly. Problems arose almost as soon as we arrived. The information about setting the wifi were incorrect and we had to contact Miguel to sort that out. Then, 2 of us went down to the grocery store but we were unable to unlock the outside door to get back into the building. Miguel had told us that the key could be tricky, however, we were unable to open the door at all. Eventually someone from the café next door tried our key and when he couldn’t get it to work, he used his own. After the 4 of us tried the keys, we called Miguel to tell him about the problem and his answer was that our best option was to leave! Having just travelled for 24 hours, we were not in the mood to start looking for somewhere else to stay, particularly on a Sunday afternoon, nor should we have to move when we had paid for this apartment. This was totally unacceptable. Occasionally we could get the key to work but more often than not we had to trust that someone would let us in with their key. I should also mention that several people tried our keys, including some of the residents, and they could not open the door either.
As for the apartment, the rooms are clean and bright and the kitchen is large and has everything you need for a few days stay. The living/dining room is very pleasant. The main bedroom with ensuite and air conditioning, is very comfortable. The bed in the second bedroom is very uncomfortable. This apartment is not suitable if you have difficulty climbing stairs, but there is a very small – 2 person- elevator. The location is good. A bus stops outside the apartment building and takes you to the train station in a few minutes. There is also a subway stop very close by. There are 2 supermarkets nearby, one right next to the apartment and one around the corner. There are a few restaurants in the neighbourhood.
Until the problem with the locks is sorted, I would not recommend this apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvanweche...
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“My family loved being here - like home, but with fun activity nearby.”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Comfortable, quiet, convenient location is a good option for these older adults - two married couples who wished for a genuine Madrid experience. We were happy to utilize two (of the 3) very private bedrooms, and two full baths - no need to share.
Be ready to climb up four floors (or take the small lift) to access the apartment. It is a good 'work-out', well worth the effort to enjoy the quiet balcony overlooking Ancora Street - busy street. but quiet from the Floor 4 balcony (table & 2 chairs outdoors).
Certainly spacious enough for 5-6 people, I am sure. My family was very happy here - We were happy to be comfortably together, with a good grocery store directly below the apartment - a bakery close by, restaurants and pubs everywhere.
But..... my family is NOT aware that, upon my early arrival, I worked for 4 hours cleaning. Sticky kitchen floors and cabinets and a dirty trash pail gave me cause to wash all the pans & dishes (in a dishwasher provided) and scrub the cupboards and the floor and the refrigerator clean before I could stock foods & prepare meals. Once cleaned and organized, I found all needed pans and utensils to prepare nice meals.
The balcony also needed a good scrub - and I moved the discarded oven (which should go to the dump site) off to the side of the balcony so we could use the space safely. While bathrooms were reasonably clean - entire unit needs a professional cleaning between renters - even if that means an occasional day "off market". Yes, I am a good housekeeper - but all renters need a 'very clean' place upon arrival.
As noted above, my family members were happy... of course, I paid the bills. ;-) But I must add, (and I own and lease out 'corporate rentals' in Alaska) ... every bed should be firm and comfy (We negotiated for 'best bed'). Bed linens should feel crispy, towels coordinated and towels fluffy and plentiful. It is a good investment to use 10% of profits to buy (1) new mattress & nice linen & and clean professionally. Give away the old stuff - utilize furniture and linen that is 'guest quality' - do not use the every day things we might get by with at 'camp house'. Furnish as a vacation home.
Again - we were happy - once I cleaned, organized, and re-made beds ro meet our needs. If we were to be in Madrid again next year, we would likely rent this apartment again,( and that may happen) - but I would first ask if the suggested improvements had been made. There are easy and affordable solutions to the concerns I have noted. It is, I think, important to make the rental as appealing as possible.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandsBolt...
bolton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment right in the heart of Madrid city”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week with our two sons age 18 and 23. The apartment is very clean and has all the home comforts you need plus a balcony overlooking the busy street where the real lives of Madrid go by. Although its slightly out of the main tourist hub, it's perfectly placed literally round the corner from the Prado and Atocha station. In addition to soaking up the sights of Madrid we also easily got the train to Toledo which is a breathtaking old city.
The rental process was faultless,vendor was prompt and easy to deal with, we were met at the apartment as promised and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like we lived in Madrid rather than being tourists
Liked least: Single bed not as comfortable as doubles
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karthik M
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very functional apartment , good location”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Nicely laid out comfortable apartment, close to all Madrid museums. Miguel was very professional and helpful. For our group of 4 adults and 2 kids, this apartment was perfect. It was close to the metro station as well.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEDRO ROD...
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu12man
Morlanwelz, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S
El Arroyo de la Miel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing